We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Chula Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Chula Vista the weekend of 2/22/13-3/24/13. Since I was driving in from Vegas, I arrived very early. The front desk staff was very friendly, and while the room was not available yet, they did put a rush on a room so it would be available ASAP. I arrived at 11am and the room was ready by 11:20am. This hotel is great! It has a minifridge and microwave in the room, along with a coffee maker. I'd definitely recommend this hotel. It has easy access to the freeway and it's about 20 minutes from the beach (as long as you don't get lost like I did! lol) They also have a breakfast every morning from 6-10. Not just pastries and fruit- eggs, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, and a variety of juices.

Room Tip: although it seems like it'll be a nice view, I'd recommend to get a room that does NOT face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelhopper702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    77
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
105
38
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable, and as expected. Medium size room and very adequate and clean bathroom. Complimentary breakfast, with scrambled eggs, sausage, a few fruits, breads, yogurt, cereals, and a few other items to pick from, all pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since 2007. This hotel use to the Comfort Inn. The olnly change was the name to Holiday Inn and a few welcomed changes such as the bedding, painting and some other stuff. I am happy to see hotels getting away from the big bulky comforters. The rooms are always clean and tidy. The nice and helpful staff stayed the same. The breakfast is great and if you don't want to eat in the kitchen area they have trays for you to take to your room. There are plenty of resturants to choose from in the area. There is a market next door if you need to pick up some last minute items. This hotel is located with easy on and off access to the freeway.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna_samchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
956 reviews
319 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 750 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed one night at Holiday Inn Express because we had an appointment in Chula Vista. A room was not available when we arrived at 10 am, but I was told to check regularly with reception. We left suitcases with reception and went shopping (they gave us a 10% discount coupon for Macy's) until 11 when we were told our room was ready. We had room 305 with a view of the swimming pool and parking area. Each of the queen sized beds was big enough for two people.

Pro
• Good wi-fi signal, but a bit of a nuisance to log in every time we went on Internet
• Plasma TV with good channels including HBO
• Large and clean room with many wall plugs
• Refrigerator.
• Good location across the street from La Quinta restaurant and next door to supermarket
• Free buffet breakfast from 6-9:30 am included scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit.
• Small parking area in front and large parking lot in back.

Con
• The elevator was a bit slow

We had a comfortable stay at Holiday Inn Express, and recommend it for stopovers in Chula Vista.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My family and I came to the now holiday inn express with reservations at noon with what their staff had said our rooms were ready to find out that in fact our rooms were not ready. So they offer to hold our luggage. We come back later to get our said rooms to find out that our reservations our GONE... With minimal help or sympathy from the front desk for their ERROR we had to go to another hotel that was over a half hour away.. I'm honestly so irritated and disappointed

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingchica08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I liked the hotel, but hate the location. I don't think I will come back just because of its surroundings. Rooms, lobby, and hotel public areas are very clean, and service at this hotel is decent. If you dont mind driving about 10 miles to get to Downtown San Diego, then perhaps this may be a good choice. Parking is free at this hotel.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank E_Sharaf_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Nice quiet area just South of San Diego. Front desk (especially Tiffany) was excellent and very helpful. Room (accessible) very well kept, equipped and clean. Comfortable beds. Swimming pool great. Like the location: Mission Beach less than 20 minutes, the Zoo even closer. Not many restaurants near by, but there are some within short drive. Hope to be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamburuChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.8 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 21 in Chula Vista
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 21 in Chula Vista
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Bay Inn
South Bay Inn
#6 of 21 in Chula Vista
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 21 in Chula Vista
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Address: 632 E St, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2113 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chula Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Comfort Inn And Suites Chula Vista
Comfort Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing