We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Reviewed 27 March 2014

There are some hotels that could take lessons from this hotel. When you pull in it looks clean&nice. Check In good,room clean, beds are good. You might want close the bathroom window at night,so the trolley bell want keep you up. If there is something you need, the people there try to help you. there are places to eat close by. This is a hotel tha you want to go back to. Breakfast is good and the room is big and clean. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

I honestly have no idea why this place has only less than 50% rating. My family and I have been to dozens of hotel/motels in USA and this place was wonderful.

Location: this is probably the only part of the hotel that I would rate lower than others. Not because its in a bad location or anything but it is really close to the Trolley which is fine but when your window is open in the bathroom you can hear the trolley bell every 10 minutes. Not a big deal, you can close the window or close the bathroom door. The location is near everything (Mcdonalds, Taco Bell, beaches, shopping, Walmart, breakfast shops, etc).

Hotel: very clean, VERY VERY clean, I was never so impressed with how clean a MOTEL was in United States (we are from Canada). You can tell the interior of the rooms were recently upgraded. Nice CLEAN carpets, upgraded curtains, repainted, upgraded granite countertops and drawers. Stainless steel mini fridge and microwave. There is iron and ironing board. The room is VERYYYYY clean, new AC, clean floors, clean countertops and sink, separate toilet and tub area which is perfect because I hate when the only sink in hotels are the ones in the bathroom and you feel so gross washing fruits and veggies but here the sink was so clean and the countertops all granite and the sink seperate from the bathroom. Perfect room lay out. The only suggestion would be to add more drawers and storage in the room. Also lighting was low as is with most hotels. We had two double beds which we usually just move together to make into one big bed for us and the kids. It was perfect, everything clean, nice decor, granite tops, working ac, fridge, microwave. Tv had TONS of channels. Phone, coffee machine, iron, etc. Beds comfortable, lots of pillows.

Outside of the hotel is well kept, beautiful flowers and trees, very clean.

Breakfast: AMAZING AMAZING, seriously I sometimes wonder if the negative reviews were actually meant to be for this hotel or not because this place had AMAZING breakfast. There is a room on the first floor for the lunch room, not too big but enough to seat 10 or so families. There is coffee machine with tea bags as well. There is 4 choices of cereal (frosted flakes, cheeroes, raisen brans and another one that i forget), juice (cranberry, orange, apple), water, different types of bagels, white and brown, muffins, crossiant, they have a mini mini fridge that holds all the hard boiled eggs, yogurt and cream cheese, there are personal jam packages (grape, strawberry, apple, etc) also personal peanut butter packages. Fresh fruit includes apple and oranges.... all utensils and plastic cups and plates provided in the lunchroom. There is a tv inside as well. On the other side of the lunchroom is a waffle maker with maple syrup, DELICIOUS!!! it was amazing, my family never went hungry, we ate so much good breakfast that we wouldnt have to eat our lunch until 3/4pm.... also near the end of our days there they started adding chicken noodle soup packages. The place was great, yes it got crowded, and yes the food was finished but the ladies that work there were always cleaning up and restocking the food. There wasnt one time in the 10 days that i was there that we wanted to eat something but couldnt because it was done, it was regularly stocked like every 5 minutes. Excellent food and quality.

Cleaning service was great as well, they didnt disturb you when you had the sign up and they came and cleaned if you didnt. Lots of towels and amenities were sufficient. Staff was very friendly and helpful (our card always had a problem getting into the room so we had to ask for help on several occasions). Hotel check in and check out very easy and convenient.

Parking - it gets full but you will always have a spot as they have enough parking spots in the place for all the rooms, unless every room miraculously had 2 cars or something but we always found one close enough to the entrance of the stairs leading up to our room.

Wifi - excellent connection, we would skype with my mom back in iran and send photos and never had any issues.

They have a swimming pool as well but we never used it as it wasnt that warm in california when we went.

Overall best thing about this place is: clean hotel with all the amenities you are looking for, EXCELLENT breakfast. The negatives would be: lighting could be improved inside the hotel and more drawers as the amount of drawers they had wasnt sufficient for a family of 4. Which is not a big deal so overall i would definitely recommend this hotel and definitely be returning.

Room Tip: top floor is quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emaya1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

great beds nice pool wonderful staff great location of the traffic and in nice little area restaraunts some entertainment steak house easy access to highway good price and easy access the staff was very helpful directions all pertinent info foe area etc

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Fan of most Best Westerns normally, this one in Chula Vista off Hwy 5 is pretty good. Conveniently located was it's major selling point. Right next to the trolley station that can take you to downtown San Anotnio, San Antonio's convention center, or The U.S.Naval base. My husband and I have taken the trolley downtown (One way ticket: $2.50) many of times and grabbed a taxi back to the hotel and cab fare was about $26. Also the hotel is near the Chula Vista mall with some pretty decent restaurants in a fairly nice area. This hotel is literally right off Hwy 5 for easy hwy access. Some might say the location is not prime because it looks a tad "scary" but have stayed here twice within the last year for 6 days at a time and saw no problems! Rooms pretty updated for the most part. The bath tubs are my only complaint...still seem pretty out-dated but we managed. It has always been a more affordable option to leave us with more money to do things and enjoy amazing Southern California.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank TexasTravler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_BWSBI, General Manager at Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for the nice comments and we are working on the tubs as I write... LOL we will take of this minor issue by star of the summer. I hope to see you soon again.


Sincerely,

Jorge Mendoza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I paid for a deluxe room assuming it was larger as this is what deluxe usually means referring to a hotel room. All the rooms were the same size and very small. Apparently i paid extra for newer carpeting and counter tops. Replacing worn out items is just a cost of doing business i would think. The bathroom was dingy. The door didn't lock properly and the window on the ground floor had no lock at all. It was accessible to anyone and a security concern. The lighting in the room was poor. There was no hotel directory or channel guide. When i inquired i was told they were out. The t.v. was fuzzy and i was told it was weather related. It was raining lightly and the following 3 days we were there it was sunny and warm. The noise from the ac was very loud. Breakfast was by chance. One day all that was available at 8 a.m. was waffles. Parking was a problem as the lot accommodates the pancake restaurant overflow from next door. The desk staff seemed unknowledgable and indifferent to guests. 3 worn out towels were provided for 4 people and it was a constant battle to get extra every day. This was also true for pool towels. We had someone blaring rap music from his car for 4 solid hours right outside our door and no one seemed to notice or care. I have stayed in 2 other BW's in Chula Vista and both were far superior. On the plus side, the beds were comfy and the cleaning staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Cathy162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The location is decent since it's right off the freeway. You can definitely tell it's an older hotel and the crowd it attracts because of the price isn't the greatest. Don't leave anything in your room after you check out because it will be gone. We called a day or two later and they couldn't "find" what we had left. The sheets and pillow cases were stained, but again you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank tikichip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel for over 20 nights in last 2 months I got more than what I paid for friendly staffs clean room comfortable bed also breakfast was much better than other hotels in same class.
As contractor working at coronado for next year I will come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quadtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
614 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.7 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 22 in Chula Vista
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South

Address: 710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910 (Formerly South Bay Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chula Vista
Price Range: £47 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Chula Vista San Diego South hotel in Chula Vista lets you relax and focus on the people and experiences you came for. We're conveniently in San Diego's South Bay off Interstate 5 and E Street Trolley near Living Coast Discovery Center. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our smoke-free hotel in Chula Vista, including: Silver Strand State Beach Las Americas Premium Outlets Tijuana, MX San Diego Zoo/Balboa Park SeaWorld San Diego You can also easily get to the Mattress Firm Amphitheatre, Aquatica San Diego, Chula Vista Elite Athletic Center, Coronado Island, Seaport Village, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, Old Town San Diego and Chula Vista Center for shopping. Several restaurants throughout the area, including Black Angus Steakhouse, La Quinta Grill Mexican Restaurant and Bar, Zorba's Greek Cuisine, Red Lobster, Dragon Express in addition to Wendy’s, Subway and Taco Bell. Our Value Qs deliver professional, responsive and friendly service, as well as amenities that give you more for your hard-earned money like bus parking and copy, print and fax machines, plus: Free hot, fresh and healthy breakfast Free WiFi Outdoor pool/sundeck Fitness center Free weekday newspaper Each guest room offers a refreshing shower along with standard amenities and more. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket—because we know how much you value a good night’s sleep. Get your money’s worth at the Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. Hotels like ours offer the best hotel rates and the best amenities, so you can focus on the people and travel memories that really matter. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing