We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to visit san diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2012

just off I-5, close to good restaurents, clean and quite place to stay. We stayed there for 2 nights on our visit to san diego. Very affordable and comfortable place. Free and secured parking, near by public transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rutansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you very much for your positive review. Within a 2 1/2 block distance there's a Denny's, Aunt Emma's (Breakfast), Black Angus, Mc Donalds, Taco Bell, a couple authentice Mexican restaurants, Chinese and a lttle further down a Greek Buffet Restaurant. We're happy to print up any Google map with directiions and boarding passes. Just ask! We are always looking to improve on our services, and your safety is very important to us. We look forward to providing our services to your next visit to San Diego. Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very quiet place, staff great, location perfect, price fantastic it even has its own exit off highway 5, E st. you can and we did walk to breakfast and more, a big helpful visitor center a five minute walk, lots of coupons some free meals, really. 10 minute drive at night from Old Town., Sea World 10 minutes 14 dollar parking, take no. 9 bus from old town for 1 dollar to the front entrance, very long walk to car, National Park across the st. ocean in background. we will be back and stay there only.

Room Tip: We heard nothing for seven day stay, but pool one night a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

For all the nice and positive things that you have said, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs. Most of all it was OUR PLEASURE!

Thank you,

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

helpful, friendly staff, clean bright rooms. Lost my airline and shuttle e-tickets somehow and they printed them again for me. Right on the blue trolley line if you want to go down to Mexico and get dental work done. Also right beside the tourist information centre and bus loop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyO103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Your comments are very much appreciated. It's very rewarding when we can assist in helping a guest. We recognize that it can be very expensive staying at any hotel while vacationing or taking care of business, and if we can assist in helping your stay go a little smoother and less stressful than we are being successful in what we do. Utilizing the trolley system and going to the Visitor Center (both are just 1 1/2 blocks away) is another smart way to get around and find out what there's to do in Chula Vista and San Diego. Thank you, I'm happy everything went well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

For the value, this Inn is a nice gem to stay at. It is across the road from a Marine Salt Marsh refuge open to the public. It is within easy walking distance of several restuarants, for example Angus Steak, Denny's. Toco Bells, etc. It is relatively close to Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo. They offer coffee, juice and muffins for breakfast.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or restuarant but the price, cleanliness and access to amenities was suff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLloydGamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for staying with the Good Nite Inn, The Nature Center just across the street from us makes for a nice afternoon getting outside for a couple hours enjoying the wildlife. Children love the indoor acquariums and seeing live Seahorses up close! And currently as you mentioned The Black Angus, Denny's, Aunt Emma's, Mc Donalds, Taco Bell and an IGA Food Mart all within 2 blocks, But there are Food establishments planned to open within the next couple months located on either side of the hotel. And as you suggested, the Trolley System is a great way to see most all of the San Diego attractions. Thank you for spending some time writing about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed there overnight in April and woke up with BED BUG BITES all over the right side of me .. even on my face (ewww) and my poor daughter, well don't even get me started on that! Yes, the staff is friendly and yes the room was cheap ... but bed bugs are terrible and I do not recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: check the mattress before you decide to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ArizonaMomOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

We are sorry when any person is affected by something beyond their control that may spoil the enjoyment of their stay. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms, We have a system in place and we work to control any future outbreaks.We take action when any accusations are made, we inspect and follow up either way with a trained professional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I live in Ensenada and come up to the SD Bay area once or twice a month. I now always stay here. The rooms are in great shape with newer beds and furniture of good quality, the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, even the cleaning staff are pleasant. Whoever manages/owns this location has worked hard to make it a great place to stay. In probably a dozen stays I have never had a problem.
While it may look like it is in a fringe area of SD, it is actually a very good location for pretty much all of South county. It is perfect for trips into downtown SD, Old Town, shopping in Fashion/Mission Valley or seeing the Padres or Chargers play because it is only a five minute walk to the E Street Trolley Station. That will plug you into all of the bus and trolley lines in the south county, with easy connections to destinations north, including things in north county like Legoland, Carlsbad, etc. I've even gone to Disneyland while staying here by using the trolly/train!
It does sit right on I-5, and while I can hear the traffic from rooms that directly face that direction, the volume is not close to being high enough to be disruptive to sleep, TV, or conversation. Almost like white noise.
This motel is everything most people need and more, including being a 5 minute walk to Aunt Emma's, one of the oldest and best breakfast/lunch eateries in SD county.
The owner/manager has obviously worked hard to put this location into the very top tier of discount motels and I hope they continue to do so for some time to come.
To make your stay in SD any fancier, easier, or more posh is going to cost you at least 3-4 times as much, and probably more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and chose it based on price and other reviews. our room was clean and good sized, wi fi worked great, convenient to everything we did and nice,friendly staff

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliza111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.3 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#13 of 22 in Chula Vista
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista

Address: 225 Bay Blvd, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2047
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chula Vista
#2 Green Hotel in Chula Vista
Price Range: £41 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you'll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. San Diego South Bay Attractions include: World Famous San Diego Zoo, Petco Park, Balboa Park and Museums, and the Seaport Village. Other nearby attractions include Coronado Island, California, SD Convention Center, Chula Vista Nature Center, Coors Amphitheater, San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, Qualcomm Stadium, Sea World San Diego, and of course, the fantastic shopping found just across the Mexican Border. Close to the Trolley station to San Diego Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn San Diego South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Good Nite Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing