We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After spending an hour and a half researching and reading horrific reviews of the majority of the hotels in this area, I basically picked this one because of the reviews and I'm glad I did.This is a very basic hotel. The only con for me were the towels. Their pretty rough. But otherwise...that's it. If you want big fluffy towels, either bring your own or stay somewhere else. 2 star is right on the money. The value is great. Everything worked just fine, shower head, toilet, a/c, fridge. Very close to the freeway which was convinient. I asked for extra towels and I got them. Coco at front desk was very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: I asked for a "quite room" and they put us on the 2nd floor, room 214, didn't hear a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squishy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I'm very appreciative that you enjoyed your stay and the property met your expectations. We are always striving to be better with meeting our guests expectations and making improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    192
    130
    49
    68
See reviews for
254
121
66
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Arrived early 8/29 for a funeral. Stayed for four nights. Previous tripadvisor.com reviews were kind of all over the place. Let me make this simple for you: If you need good, clean, cheap accommodations, STAY AT THE GOOD NITE INN SAN DIEGO SOUTH BAY! If you're expecting anything more than that, DON'T STAY AT THE GOOD NITE INN SAN DIEGO SOUTH BAY! Our total for four nights was less than $300. The rooms were decent and clean. The beds were very comfortable. Very few amenities to speak of, but we knew that going in. In prior reviews some prudes mention the strip club Eyecandy next door!! PLEASE!! You cannot see or hear a thing that happens over there! It could very well be a church and it wouldn't matter. Bottom line is for the price we paid and location (right next to both North & South I-5 freeways) you cannot beat this hotel if you're on a budget. It's safe. It's clean. It's affordable. Enough said.

Room Tip: This hotel has no restaurant or fitness center. Not a bad thing; just stating fact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenoTraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your review. For providing positive feedback and for recognizing the value and for commenting on what we advertise (or don't) and that we met your expectations. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. and really appreciate EVERYTHING you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed there over the Comic Con weekend for work, and it was better than expected. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the AC worked really well. The bathrooms were nothing special but were clean and worked without any problems. The location was great (even though there is a strip club next door); it's about a 3 minute walk to the E-street trolley station (you do have to walk across the freeway though) with some food options around. Or you can take the trolley southbound one station and get GREAT tacos at Tacos El Gordo!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuna629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to include your comments and for being informative to other readers for nearby restaurants and Events that happen in San Diego/Chula Vista. Comic Con is the biggest event for San Diego happening every July. There's lots of Excitement, lots of people and a great time to experience San Diego. Thank you for commenting that the hotel met your expectations and I hope to see you again next year. Book Early!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

OK. So here is my story. For several years my wife and I would always stay at the Good Nite Inn near Hotel Circle and LOVED it! Low price with a cool tropical atmosphere. Well for whatever reason the property was sold and done away with leaving us to find other options. Just recently we stayed at another budget motel right down the street in Chula Vista. Horrible experience. Loud barking dogs and scary people walking around the parking lot. We decided to check out the nature center down the road and just happened to look over and noticed a Good Nite Inn right there! At first look AWESOME CLEAN property kinda set in a private wooded area. A most helpful front desk lady gave me the room rates and was again blown away that your rates were LOWER than where we were staying. Did I mention how AWESOME the property is maintained? We also took a peak in one of the empty rooms with the curtains wide open. Nice! Simple and Nice! Oh by the way... two minutes down the road (or a bit longer on a bike/with paths) is the Chula Vista Marina & park. Unbelievably FUN!!! We had lunch at the Galley at the Marina. Very much looking forward to our future stay! P.S. What ever happened with your other property near Hotel Circle? (Waring Road I believe)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comment, and coming back to the Good Nite Inn Family. We do offer a quiet location just across from the Nature Center with a view of Coronado Island and the Bay. The Bike path and walking path that you mentioned are such a convenience being so close and you're right the Galley at the Marina does offer really good food and with a casual flair. the Property you spoke of which was our Waring road Good Nite Inn was bought for the land I believe they put up many condos to accommodate the SDSU Students. But just to mention if any guest needs to go to SDSU the Trolley is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Thank you and Welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Went to San Diego for a couple of days and stayed at this hotel for a night. It's off the 5 fwy on a side street. It's basic in its decor and amenities. No iron or board in the room, you have to ask at the desk for both. No in room coffee maker also. Comfy bed, clean room, it's ok for a one night stay if better hotels are booked up. Young lady at check in was very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and recognition. We do our best to provide the best value by offering the best price, with Great Service and a nice clean room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was pleased with the room. no bed bugs. room was very clean thank you housekeeping (by the way I used to be a housekeeping inspector for a 5 star resort) I think the value was an excellent deal. Me and my family were able to take a vacation on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to include your comments. I appreciate your feedback and knowing that your own personal knowledge of housekeeping and coming from a 5 star hotel has it's own high expectations. We thank you for your positive comments and for recognizing the staff.
I'm pleased that you were able to enjoy your vacation. We hope to see you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HONOLULU
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here 5 nights for a relaxing stay. Upon check-in we were met by Adriana's fantastic smile. The employees seemed happy and friendly here. We found the room clean and satisfactory though the room toiletries are sparse we did have a nice refridgerator. Free parking was no problem and the location of Good Nite Inn is conveniently located near I-5 on-ramps making N/S travel quick while effectively being quiet and isolated. Many food places and shopping are nearby. Prior to checking out with appreciated assistance from Sergio Luna with my boarding passes. You can get daily morning coffee and access to a microwave in the lobby.
Mahalo Good Nite Inn!
~HT~

Room Tip: We had a room facing the lobby behind some trees which kept it cooler in the afternoon sun. The onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkuByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. Your positive outlook on every aspect of your stay feels very rewarding and motivating for the entire staff. Thank you for recognizing the housekeeping staff for providing the clean room and for the Front Desk Staff providing you with places to go, see and eat. We enjoy what we do and for having you with us
Mahalo and I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.7 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 22 in Chula Vista
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista

Property: Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Address: 225 Bay Blvd, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2047
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chula Vista
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you'll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. San Diego South Bay Attractions include: World Famous San Diego Zoo, Petco Park, Balboa Park and Museums, and the Seaport Village. Other nearby attractions include Coronado Island, California, SD Convention Center, Chula Vista Nature Center, Coors Amphitheater, San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, Qualcomm Stadium, Sea World San Diego, and of course, the fantastic shopping found just across the Mexican Border. Close to the Trolley station to San Diego Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn San Diego South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Good Nite Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing