We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, affordable hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
GreenLeadersBronze level
Downey, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient, affordable hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I must say that I've must've spent most of my 2013 at this hotel, whenever I come visit San Diego for a day or two. What I really like about the location is that it's almost right by the trolley station at a walking distance, just right across the 5 freeway. I park my car, so that my engine takes a break (I live in Los Angeles) and the trolley station takes me to where I need to go (Tijuana, Downtown, Old Town, etc.). The front desk and hotel staff are always friendly and courteous...I remember one time when I contacted the hotel to let them know of my late arrival, the receptionist, Coco (if I recall correctly), offered me the choice of my room preference via telephone, and it was a done deal when I got there. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, and surprisingly, I hear no noise ordinance outside the hotel at night. The room prices are always affordable and reasonable :-)
Unfortunately, on my most recent stay (12/29/2013), I spotted a cockroach on the table stand next to my bed...ahhhhhhh!!! No worries, though, as it's the first time out of God knows how many times I've been coming to this hotel. Overall, I've never had an issue with this hotel, and I do recommend it to other travelers. I'll keep coming back here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armysgt1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you very much for so many of the positive comments you made. We appreciate you, and for continuing to be a valued guest of ours, and I hope we never let you down. We will always try to meet your requests and provide you with the service expected. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    177
    117
    46
    59
See reviews for
217
114
63
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The room was nice and big. The fridge and tv worked well. There was a nori bike smell coming from the carpet, not a bad smell but like someone had recently shampooed. They have us complimentary toothpaste and had a hair dryer. The A/C unit probably needs some work done. It rattled and shut off multiple times. Parking can be an issue. All in all we would stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aliciamariemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I do hope you enjoyed your stay. We continue to make improvements to the property by listening to our customers, and we just received several Air Conditioners this week and are still in the process of installing them. We look forward to having you again. Happy New Year! Please be safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moreno valley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have stayed here twice with my husband and toddler and have enjoyed our stay both times. The rooms are a good size and are comfortable. The room was clean and I had no complaints. Just so you know it is located right next to a strip club....doesn't bother me lol. Each time I have stayed I payed less then $50 wich is great for a family on a budget... the staff was also very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jelos28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for being a loyal customer and choosing to stay with us again. We will always work to provide you with the Best Customer Service and nice clean rooms. We have a couple of more months to take advantage of our low low prices and just remember we always try to offer the Best rates with any hotel in the surrounding area. We look forward to seeing you again. I wish you have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Walked into the room and was greeted by a roach running across the table. RED FLAG! I started inspecting the rest of the room and sure enough a couple of more roaches were crawling around inside the dresser. I requested a room change. Got it. Continued my inspection of the 2nd room and of course, there they were. More roaches; on the wall and beneath the bed. Went back down to the office, canceled my reservation, got my refund and got out of there like a bat outta hell!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for commenting. while we never enjoy the negative reviews, they are just as important as the positive ones. I am really sorry if the room you were checked into had a disgusting critter inside, the unusually cold weather lately is having a effect on the outdoor animals that should remain outdoor. We have only seen them in a couple rooms which we are professionally treating and doing everything we can to terminate them so that our future guests don't have to have the same reaction you have. I wish you a very Happy New Year! and I do hope you give us the opportunity to show you we care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed while visiting San Diego. Thought it was well situated right at the motorway exit so only 15-20 mins from downtown, not too hard to get anywhere else. Room was in need of a refit, non smoking but smoke smell still lingering on, one of the beds overdue for a change. Front desk was good. Probably would stay again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to include your comment. We are always making improvements, so I hope the next time you choose to stay with us, you will have more comfort during your stay to enjoy it more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have visited the Goodnite Inn several time because of their discreet location as well as their good pricing. I was amazed when I booked a stay directly at the hotel and it was under 50 bucks! Awesome price! The staff was very friendly and informative. Plus the room smelled like flowers and was very clean =) Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementChulaVista, Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much! We enjoy hearing such positive comments, and appreciate that the service you have been receiving has been meeting your expectations. Your review is very pleasing, and continues to make me smile! Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

room service did not do my bed atall.
i was willing to pay for wifi, but they did not have good speed, well it did not work atall.
tv remote wasnt working.
front desk was rude when requested for the promised refrigerator.

Helpful?
Thank thashan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementChulaVista, General Manager at Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
I apologize this guest did not receive room service, this is not a comment we hear to often, and very seldom at that. Throw in the internet not working can really build in a dissatisfied stay. I'm truly sorry. We have received a new Gateway, router, and the internet is up and running. Remote controls are an easy fix, when batteries go bad we have plenty on hand as well as remote controls, I know it's not easy when it all is happening to you.. I apologize for any rudeness on our part, we do our best to accommodate all requests. Thank you for taking the time to include your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.3 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#10 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista

Property: Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Address: 225 Bay Blvd, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2047
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chula Vista
#2 Green Hotel in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you'll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. San Diego South Bay Attractions include: World Famous San Diego Zoo, Petco Park, Balboa Park and Museums, and the Seaport Village. Other nearby attractions include Coronado Island, California, SD Convention Center, Chula Vista Nature Center, Coors Amphitheater, San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, Qualcomm Stadium, Sea World San Diego, and of course, the fantastic shopping found just across the Mexican Border. Close to the Trolley station to San Diego Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn San Diego South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Good Nite Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing