We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible accommodations! Infested with bed bugs and cockroaches!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible accommodations! Infested with bed bugs and cockroaches!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Horrible accommodations! Infested with bed bugs and cockroaches! Owner and management staff were less than accommodating! Will NEVER return or recommend to anyone!!! Worst stay ever! This place is dirty and we would have been better and cleaner staying in our car, or even in an alley! brings a ahole new meanig to a run down roach motel! The traveler inn & suites in san diego makes Motel 6 look like the Ritz! The owner and management were very rude and less than accommodating. The would not even let us have 2 additional pillows!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellylynn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    44
    32
    27
    65
See reviews for
79
35
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

There isn't any spa and the pool isn't heated. The place is so nasty nothing like the website indicates. I went into rm 219 where the sheets were dirty and all wrinkled like they didn't even change them. 1st thing I noticed was the moldy musty odor and nickel size cigarette burn in the ugly bedspread. Then it was the mismatch paint on the walls with sloppy caulking/patches from fights or something. The tv sat on a night stand much lower than the tall bed. The place just was real lowlife trash. Office comment about sheets "we don't do plancha", she is Oriental and I am as white as my Irish ancesters, so why is she talking to me in Spanglish? Plancha = Iron very poor attitude/customer service. I told my BF who was out working at the time & had not seen what he paid for to do something about it, because I'm out of here. No trash for me I deserve far better than the slums.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthBeTold2uNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sann diego
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

we stay in this hotel and really want to stay more days but cheryl the manager wants us to leave.there's no reason for her to get us out for we pay first hand before we stay. me and my boyfriend both work so we don't stay in the hotel until were off from work.we are quite hotel guest so we can't understand why she did this.i wish the owner of this hotel make some investigation for if not they will lost guest and income as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I made a reservation online saw pictures and though not the best but thought ok would try it out. 1st location did not make me feel safe, room was dirty and had a bad dirty smell. The room did not look nothing like the pictures online. Luckily it was just one night but definetly will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We were just there for 5 nights. When we arrived we had to have housekeeping come and change the sheets on one of the beds because there were hairs on the sheets. The carpet was so dirty your feet got dirty from it, sofa was dirty, and it needed alot of upkeep. I am a travel agent and will NEVER recommend this hotel to a client!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

For starters i reserved a room online. Got a confirmation drove there to check in.then was told by Cheryl i had to cancel my online transaction and pay again. Ok no problem... after a while all this is taken care of and finally i am given keys. As i park in the smallest parking space ever and walk up the dirtiest stairs i see a woman carrying a baby with another woman yelling behind her and chasing her. At this point im starting to regret this.... i stay positive and continue to walk to my room 224. As i do i walk by a room with an open door and shirtless nasty men everywhere.... ugh!!!! Then i go to swipe my room key and the door is stuck. I had to seriously break the door down. After a struggle i finally am inside to realize i made a mistake. The couch is gross the kitchen is disgusting missing appliances, no locks on the doors. Phone is old and dirty ur afraid to use it. Ughhh!!!! The people next door super noisy.... this hotel has potential, but needs serious work and cleanliness. I would not recommend nor will i ever stay here again....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drodrigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This place was a great find. I was travelling on a budget and this hotel was a great fit. The hotel was all renovated, and the room was still clean and well kept. The hotel has a lot of amenities, a kitchen, new carpet, and new countertops as well! The location was great. Easy check in, and great customer service. I was very happy with my stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinnyD717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista

Property: Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista
Address: 235 Woodlawn Ave, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2114 (Formerly Travelers Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access Off I-5 and Minutes to San Diego Convention Center, Downtown San Diego, San Diego SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo,Knott's Soak City Water Park,Sleep Train Amphitheater U S Olympic Training Center and San Diego Beaches. 100% Non Smoking Hotel The Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area Chula Vista Offer Free Continental Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi, Free Parking Car or Bus ,Pool & Spa And on Side Guest Laundry. Offer include a LCD 39" TV With Primer Channel, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee & Tea Maker ,Iron, Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, Soap, Shampoo ,And Lotion, Sofa Bed And Kitchenettes Room Also Available. The Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area Chula Vista Within Walking Distance To Restaurant And Public Transportation, Such As San Diego Trolley And Bus Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Inn And Suites
Travelers Hotel Chula Vista
Travelodge Chula Vista
Travel Lodge Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing