We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favor, stay elsewhere!!!!!”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If it were not for the location and service, I would have rated this property a 1 in all categories. Dirty, dark and musty, not worth your money. Spend a little more and look into Rodeway Inn just next door!!! Newly renovated, parking is a little tight late at night but was able to park across the street. If you're looking for affordable Mexican, check out Roberto's just up the street!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Whats worst?
Clogged toilet
Dirty walls
Filthy carpet
Lights that don't work
Dirty bath tub
Or mites in the bed.
Prostitues
Gang thugs in parking lot
Behind a trailer trash park.
Old Zenith TV that had no color.

By far the worst hotel. I'm reporting this hotel to the health department. I knew there would be a problem when I saw a HUGE Buda sitting on the counter. Its run by an Asian group that don't reinvest into their hotel. They havr ONE plunger for the whole facility and its old and cracked. Don't ask them to bring it to you. They have no maintenance staff except a poor old asian man that can barely walk.

I had 2 nights booked. Got a refund forbthe second day... we left. You truly pay for what you get.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RandSAdvisoryTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I can't believe we actually stayed in this hellhole .... it smelled terrible, the carpets were grimy and gross and stinky and the place just reeked of old body smells, mold, and mildew and the cockroaches ... watch out when you turn out the lights ... they're too cocky, if you ask me! the place is a dump ... I will NEVER even go near its vicinity ... I have nightmares now.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

A friend and I booked this hotel as a last resort. It was the only hotel available during the weekend for a remotely cheap price. I wish we had paid the $100+ for a better room. The location is pretty shady, but not the worse. The room was dirty. It appeared as though they did zero maintenance. The bathroom was filthy, especially the bathtub. The towels were old and stained. We're talking holes in the towels. Stained walls. No fitted sheets.
We spent $224 for two days, and because my friend had such a bad sunburn we decided to see how much staying for one more night until we headed up to LA would cost. The woman promised to give us a lower price if I went back down before she left in the morning. I went down and she charged me the $70 she promised. Our day went on as usual and when we came back to the hotel at 12 am our keys wouldn't open the doors! We went downstairs to see what was going on and was told by the employee that we still owed almost $30 on the room! When we asked to talk to the manager she argued with us for well over an hour about who we could never find somewhere in Sam Diegp for a price like that (we had stayed in Coronado for $80 and two 4 star hotels in the Gaslamp District, The Westin amd The Omni, for $100 each). She said that the woman who rang us up had made a mistake and we were responsible to pay the difference.
After an ungodly amount of arguing and her attempts to "compromise" and us explaining we were on a budget (being 19 and 21 years old taking this trip on our own dime) she told is we were "horrible people" and how could we "live with ourselves" because the woman would be held responsible for paying the difference. We were harassed like never before and all while this woman was standing in front of a sign that said "We <3 Our Cusomers!" It was completely unacceptable. I would never give this hotel my business again nor recommend it to anyone. It was an awful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ma0mix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Last minute for 4th of July getaway. Cheap price is right. You get for what u pay!!! Towels are so old, they were very rough. There was 4 of us & only 3 towels in our room our 1st night. 2nd night, they didn't leave us any towels. I had to go to the lobby to ask for towels. The room smelled like urine. Might have been the beds. Yuk is right!! Even w/ the deodorizer we bought, didn't help. We were out all day & just slept there but still, it would be nice to come & sleep in a nice deodorized place. You can even feel the springs on the bed. no dryer, no clock. TV channels suck. Wiifii kept on disconnecting or buffering. Oh yeah & paper thin walls is correct. The ceiling in the bathroom felt like it might have caved in if it got more wet up there. It was yellow & pealing off. Scary!!! You can hear other peoples tv's or conversations & upstairs we had running kids so late @ night. Ugh! As long we were out of the hotel we had fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel uses a photo of Howard Johnsons, which it is NOT. The hotel is in a less than desirable area. Rooms are rented as housing for locals to live in. The room was a "suit". It had a small kitchenette, separate sitting area and bedroom bath combo. The room was dirty and smelled like mold/mildew. Parking is bad, as the spaces are extremely close togethere. There is a lot of foot trafic and prostitutes roaming about. Our stay lasted 3 minutes. They would not give a refund and were very rude. Spend the exta $50 and stay in a safe, clean area. This place is a dump and should be avoided.

Room Tip: AVOID Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseNPat982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelinns, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

This review is not for Travel Inn. We do not have suite or kitchen at all.

The motel described is Travelers Inn & suites, changed to Howard Johnson?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We did't find last minute available rooms elsewhere, so we got a room here.
The price is OK, compared to other nicer hotels, and the room was big, with a fridge and coffee maker (a plus). However, the walls are paper thin, it's very outdated, rugs are dirty, and they don't seem to change sheets and towels after a guest leaves (got a very very dirty towel, with make up on, and hairs...gross!!)
The staff if very friendly, and they offer hot coffee and pastries for breakfast.
We had a non smoking room but after coming back from dinner, the halls and the room itself had a strong smoke smell.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccjj619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.3 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 22 in Chula Vista
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Chula Vista
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 394 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910-3502
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range: £47 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing