We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best TJ style tacos in chula vista” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tacos El Gordo De Tijuana

Tacos El Gordo De Tijuana
Ranked #1 of 428 Restaurants in Chula Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best TJ style tacos in chula vista”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

okay first thing you need to know your going to have to get off your car so just accept that now. After that it's all good all of their tacos are delicious pretty darn close to their TJ locations just a few miles away but no crossing the border necessary.Order your choice of tacos they will ask what you would like on top (onion,salsa,Guac) ask for green onions so yummy. and be nice leave a tip you will be coming back here .. one of my other favorites is a Mula a must try as well. you can choose your choice of meat as well. salsa is delicious and yes when you see the menu it seems expensive but you will enjoy for sure a little party in your mouth.and like I said before you will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denac364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    68
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Tacos this side of the border”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Not much on atmosphere but great TJ street tacos. Try something different than the normal chicken, beef, or pork, you'll be happy you did.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Street tacos without the street!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Enjoy Tijuana "street tacos" while you sit comfortably inside. Not as cheap as Tijuana but the tacos are delicious especially the "Al Pastor".

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oceanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not welcome here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was before April 2013. I have eaten at Tacos El Gordo one time and will never darken their door again. My husband and I wanted to try it and we stood in line like everyone else. We were treated rudely. We felt totally out of place there. We took our food with us and to tell you the truth, I can't say if it was good or not. I'm sure it was fine. We were just so disappointed by the way we were treated. If they did not want locals in there, then why did they come to our City in the first place?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chai-tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Really unique and tasty tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

ok, so the place looks like a fast food joint, but you arent there for the atmosphere. You want unique great tacos. I read reviews on TA and Yelp, was in the area for business and I had to try it. I'm glad I did. I never had tijuana street tacos, didnt even know what that was. I do know I love tacos and I wanted to see if it ws as good as I read. I had the adobada tacos and they were fantastic. They carve the meat off this spit, kind of like what you see in greek places that carve the meat for Gyros off a stand up spit. This place had an amazing sauce that was also on the tacos. My coworker took one look at the spit and the color of the meat, which is red from what i assume is the saunce or marinade they use and decided to go with the asada tacos. I gave him one of my tacos because I knew he was making a mistake. Needless to say, he went back and got another one of the adobada tacos. It was that good. If you are around this area, you have to try it, and decide for yourself.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tacos El Gordo De Tijuana also viewed

 

Been to Tacos El Gordo De Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing