We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location!! Close to concert venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Chula Vista
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and location!! Close to concert venue”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Great front desk staff very attentive. My wife and I stayed there for the Depeche Mode concert being the closest to the venue. Our room was very comfortable and clean with all the amenities expected for a hotel of a much higher price. I also want to mention the awesome service provide by the taxi company the hotel called for us. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to a concert at the Sleep Train!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrFirully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. Everyone at the hotel is excited to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to exceed our guest expectations and we are very glad to find out we did. We hope you visit us again soon or when here for another concert. Again, Thank you.

Sincerely,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    85
    41
    26
    19
See reviews for
83
45
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Best Western Plus Otay Valley Hotel because it was advertised as being the closest hotel to the Amphitheater. Prior to booking the hotel I called and inquired on the ability to walk to and from the concert venue. I was assured that it would be no problem. I did appreciate when we checked in that the front desk had a schedule of the nights performances including what times each performer was to take the stage. The gentleman that checked us in offered us a taxi ride to the concert at a rate of $12 one way. When we got in the taxi we were told we had 2 options, standard route with traffic for $20 or a "shortcut" for $25. Upon leaving the concert and attempting to walk back to the hotel we found that there is absolutely no sidewalk or grass area to walk in. We would have had to walk against oncoming traffic on a very busy road. We had no choice but to get a taxi back. Having tried for over an hour to get a taxi to take us to the hotel, I called the front desk very upset and explained our dilemma and asked that they either send a shuttle to get us or call us a taxi. The man at the front desk refused and stated that "I should just keep trying". Upon finally returning to the hotel that evening we found that there was a leak coming from the air conditioner in our room and my suitcase along with the floor were soaked. The front desk did not seem to care about that either. I have stayed at many Best Western locations and this was by far the worst experience I have had at one between the taxi cost issue, the inability to get a ride back and the lack of care from the front desk staff for the ride and also the leak. We will not ever stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aclaybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear about your bad experience. I am disapointed a the fact that the taxi driver would give you to options, I have called the cab companies we work with and filed a complaint. This should not happen again. As for my staff, I will speak to them again about the walking distance from the venue because even if it is only 1.5 miles it is not advised to walk. When we contact a cab to go pick someone up to the venue the cab company will decline service because they tell us that there are always cabs out there. Even thought that is the case we should have tried to help you by going the extra mile for you.

My sincere apologies for the air conditioner leak. We do care and hope you can give us another chance by visiting us one more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My friends and I came down for a concert at the sleep train amphitheater and this was the closest hotel I could find. It was a nice place, parking was a little tricky because the hotel was pretty full because of the concert but everything else was great. The location was great for what we were there for there was a lot of restaurants pretty close by and the room was well kept.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereyoufromfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We love to hear that guests have a great time when they stay with us. Hope you got to enjoy our pool and hot tub. Everyone hangs around the pool before the concert. We hope you visit us again when in Chula Vista. Again, Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I chose this hotel because I thinked was in good location for visit San Diego.
I was wrong. It's far (about 20/30 km from the center) and I must drive for a long time in the hwy traffic to go in the place I want visit (Sea World, USS Midway, Coronado).
The motel is very close to hwy and it's a little noisy in the night, but it's clean and the rooms are large.
The breakfast included was good.
The staff was courteous but they created me a problem with a caution of credit card that it's been resolved a few days after.
The near petrol pump was expensive.

Room Tip: My room was facing to hwy and was noisy. I saw other rooms in the opposite side of Motel and I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank temtem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that our location was too far from your destination. Although we are close to some beaches, Tijuana, Aquatica park and the Sleeptrain concert venue, we are a bit of a drive to the city center. Thank you for letting us know that we are doing a good job, we really appreciate hearing that. We hope you visit us again so that you can get to know the southern part of San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coarsegold, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A nice clean place to stay that has been updated and is modernized inside. Decent complimentary breakfast. Maid cleaned well, but didn't restock supplies much. Wouldn't stop me from staying there again. One of the better Best Western's I have stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure housekeeping hears your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The bed was comfortable and everything was in working order. Price was reasonable for the season and even though it is located next to a freeway, you couldn't hear the traffic. Good experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us. Your words are encuraging to our staff. We are glad to learn that you had a great stay. We hope to see you again at the hotel in your next visit to Chula Vista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is the closest location to the Sleep Train Ampitheatre, but not worth the hassle. I had called and asked to check in early, and was told a specific time to be there. Once I arrived, I was told that no rooms were available until check in time, but I named the employee that had told me I could check in early. I had driven 2 1/2 hours, but had to wait an additional hour plus to get a room.
The room was ok, but we did have to wait for towels, and then call because they were not delivered. We were on the freeway side and it was very loud. I had booked this hotel because I had two teenagers going to a concert at the Ampitheatre. I checked them in early and found that I could not get back to the hotel, because the police had blocked access from the main road. I was directed onto the freeway, going away from the hotel and had to get off at the next exit and figure out how to get back via streets. It took an additional 20 minutes. I could have done better by using my points at a hotel a little farther away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments.
We apologize for not being able to check you in earlier than the check in time. We normally don't have a problem doing so but this was the most important concert of the season and with so many people trying to check in it was hard to achieve everyone's requests.
We normally have all rooms ready by check in time and we make sure the rooms are to your expectations. As you say, even getting back to the hotel was a struggle. We hope you can give us another opportunity and you will not be disappointed. For us customer service is a priority.

Sincerely,
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
3.1 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 21 in Chula Vista
231 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 21 in Chula Vista
321 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
2.8 mi away
Best Western Americana Inn
Best Western Americana Inn
#120 of 278 in San Diego
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel
Address: 4450 Main Street, Chula Vista, CA 91911 (Formerly Best Western Plus Otay Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an ideal location for business and leisure travel right off the 805 freeway, Best Western Plus Otay Valley is conveniently located close to Otay Mesa business park and is only 5 min from Tijuana Mexico.Best Western is also the closest hotel to the new Aquatica park by seaworld and the Sleeptrain amphitheater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing