We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best highlight, seeing a hummingbird, otherwise, just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best highlight, seeing a hummingbird, otherwise, just OK”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this hotel through Priceline and then when we arrived we found out the govt. rate we qualified for would have been cheaper. We were put into a smoking room initially, when I called and asked if we could be moved because we are not smokers and although they tried to mask the smell, to a non smoker it was still very strong, they told us because we booked with Priceline we got what they gave us. After explaining we aren't smokers, and then being put on hold twice, the receptionist, who was not very happy with us (I believe Maria was her name) finally changed our room to the complete opposite side, top floor. We did request a king bed but received a double :/ the bed was comfortable, but a bit tight when we are used to a king bed. We know we could have asked to change again but it just wasn't worth the hassles!

Also, this is actually a motel, not a hotel. Access to rooms from the outside walkway.

The pool was quiet, and we witnessed a beautiful rufus hummingbird visiting the flowers. The lounge chairs need to be replaced, as all three (that's all they had) were broken. Pool was warm though and there were tables with chairs.

The breakfast was quite funny, it was like people had never received a complimentary breakfast at a hotel before. Every table was full and there was even a line. By the time new food came out, it was taken up within 5 minutes. One lady sat and used the waffle maker for the entire time we were there as she was trying to feed her family of 6. Although there was hot food, we didn't get any. :/ The muffins and danishes were replenished and also disappeared in about 2 minutes, no joke! One banana left when we arrived, which we took and no other fruit was set out.

Room Tip: Third floor is best as these rooms are not very sound proof. Ask for a King bed and confirm it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravels555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

After reading your review I have to thank you for your patients. I am happy to learn that we were able to change you to a room that was non-smoking. We must have had a very busy day it seems just by reading your comments about the breakfast. Sometimes it gets so busy it takes a little longer to get food out. Our new pool furniture is on order and the old one will be changed soon. We hope you give us another try so that we can exceed your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    81
    40
    21
    16
See reviews for
78
41
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Spent last night after going to a concert at the sleeptrain amphitheater, I have no complaints. My room was on the 3rd floor facing the parking lot, beds were nice and room was very clean. No traffic noise....

Room Tip: Request rooms facing parking lot, no freeway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We like our beds and keep them crisp and clean. Thank you for your comments we hope you visit us again for another concert at the Sleep Train or to just come and enjoy the weather in beautiful San Diego.

Regards,
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for three nights during the 4th of July weekend. We were unfortunate enough to get a smoking room, and was told that no room change was possible due to a full hotel. Nice and tasty breakfast with efficient breakfast staff. Enjoyed the pool, and the room was comfortable and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriTrond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to learn your stay was pleasant. Our staff will be delighted to learn that they have made another guest happy and hopefully a return customer. I have to say our breakfast crew has been doing an excellent job. I hope you got to taste the new item in our breakfast menu. Chilaquiles with refried beans. Thank you for your visit.

Regards,

Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

From moment I entered there was a horrible smell. I think it was a deodorizer that was overly strong. Three days later my clean clothes that I didn't use still had this horrible smell. 2 hairs in shower that were clearly visible, 1 hair in the fridge. 1 spider in bathroom. 1 bulb not working in the bathroom, and cover for lights was missing. Never again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank EJC187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

We apologize for the experience that you had during your stay. We thank you for letting us know where we need to improve as we are always thriving to do better. We have many rooms to clean and we do our best to keep them spotless. We are working hard to make sure that we provide a room that is beyond our guest expectations. Therefore we apologize. we hope that you give us another opportunity to demonstrate that we are a very clean hotel. We hope you visit us again.

Sincerely,
Victor M. Carrera
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Unhelpful staff (Front Desk), Had to fix TV myself after waiting an hour for staff to help they never came to the room, poor breakfast, Slow (High speed) internet connection (was at Dial-up speed). Phone not working. AC not working properly. Just a bad experience, Took them 30 minutes to find company FAX so I could check in (They found it right in front of them on the front desk) finally Good Luck. .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I would like to apologize on behalf of all of our staff for the unpleasant experience that you had during your stay. This is the first time we have so many issues with one guest and we are terribly sorry. We are always working diligently to prevent any issues that might affect guests at our hotel. Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We hope you give us another chance when you visit the area. I am certain that we can meet and exceed your expectations.

Thanks,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Pleasantly surprised at the service and value. Owner/manager greeted guests as they arrived. Desk staff were helpful and professional. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. Close to 805 and not far from I-5.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Maintaining our rooms clean and making your stay pleasant is our primary goal. We hope you visit us again.

Thank you.

Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

On June 6,2014 I requested a group discount for a minimum of 10 rooms for June -12-17. I was offered what I considered a reasonable rate and agreed. We needed the rooms due to a death in our family and were all there to attend a funeral. Everyone arrived on different dates staying a minimum of two nights and a maximum of five nights. The hotel front desk staff was very nice and accommodating getting everyone taken care of and even allowed the group to use the breakfast room as a gathering place when not in use. The breakfast provided was very nice with something for everyone.

Now what could possibly have made this a disappointing experience. Well for starters some of the rooms were not well cleaned and the carpets were very dirty. Everything in the area was sold out so we just had to deal with it and probabaly would never be back in the area anytime in the future. Then on Sunday afternoon my daughter who was sharing a room with me was getting dressed when she pulled one of the top pillows down and there was a bug crawling on it she freaked and kill the bug which splattered blood on the pillow sham. I immediately went to the front desk to tell them what had happened when my daughter call down to tell me she had killed another one.They told me they would move us immediately and they went to our room to take pictures of the dead bugs and the blood stained pillow sham.We moved to another room two door down which was actually dirtier than the first one. We were running late for the family hour and didn 't object. When we returned we put towels on the floor to make a pathway to the bathroom.

My daughter arrived home and had bites on various parts of her body, and had to go to the doctor who described her condition as multiple parasite bites. We contacted Best Western CS and reported the circumstances we were later told by them that management had said the room had been inspected and no bugs/bedbugs had been found case closed. Since they are denying the problem even with pictures of the dead bugs nothing will probably change So buyer beware! They did on checkout give us a $9.20 discount off Sunday night so if you want to pay to be bitten my parasites this is the place to stay. Quite frankly I expected more from a Best Western brand hotel.

Room Tip: View your room first if you have to stay here before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really sorry about your experience at our hotel. We hope that you and your daughter are doing well by now. I do recall your incident and speaking to you over the phone about your experience. Maybe this review was posted before our conversation. We are always working hard to maintain our property at and beyond customer expectations and we feel terrible about your experience. I can assure you THIS IS NOT what the BEST WESTESRN PLUS Otay Valley hotel represents.
It is not common that a bug appears in our rooms as we have pest control professionals fumigate our property and inspect our rooms on a monthly basis.
Thank you for your good comments about our breakfast and staff at reception. We also thank you for giving us the opportunity to help you alleviate the pain and suffering caused by this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
4.7 mi away
South Bay Inn
South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
4.8 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel
Address: 4450 Main Street, Chula Vista, CA 91911 (Formerly Best Western Plus Otay Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an ideal location for business and leisure travel right off the 805 freeway, Best Western Plus Otay Valley is conveniently located close to Otay Mesa business park and is only 5 min from Tijuana Mexico.Best Western is also the closest hotel to the new Aquatica park by seaworld and the Sleeptrain amphitheater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing