We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Days Inn!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience at Days Inn!!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

The room was very clean, comfortable and COMPLTELY REMODLED, it exceeded our expectations as soon as we walked in. The staff are all wonderful (ask for Robert, who went above and beyond to help us out with my mother in law on her wheelchair), down to the housekeeping ladies who maintain such nice rooms! My husband and I are both retired and avid travelers, we have not encountered another hotel like this in San Diego county, the close proximity to trolley stations and stores is what made us stay here in the first place.....but after the excellent service and exceptional rooms....WE FOUND OUR NEW 2nd HOME!!!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnyhealer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    117
    134
    103
    101
See reviews for
222
127
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We just spent a long weekend in San Diego and had a great stay at the Days Inn .This was our first stay and we loved the hotel. The staff was always nice and friendly. The location is great and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank may l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed April 2012. Rooms exactly as pictures on website, clean & spacious. We had two double beds. Bathroom a bit small, shower over bath with shower curtains, toilet in same room. Outside is a small basin with mirror, iron & iron board with a sort of mini walk in robe. Soap, shampoo body lotion provided. Free WIFI, bar fridge & microwave, no coffee, no in room safe (even though it says on the website, I rang front desk & they said it was removed during renovation). Front desk friendly & helpful enough. Rooms have exterior entrances & no elevator, free local calls. Cheaper than Days Inn in San Diego.
We had a room on the top floor near the pool. Only real noise was a garbage truck emptying the bins at the Black Angus next door one morning.
Free breakfast is the same each day: sugared cornflakes, small chocolate ball sized cereal, a few different danishes, plain crossiant, few different muffins, make your own waffles, white bread for toasting, water, milk, tea, regular & decaf coffee, apple & orange juice, butter, syrup, apple & grape jelly (jam). No fruit.
Convenient location, next to trolley station (which we did use to get back to the hotel from Gaslamp District). McDonalds, Gas station & Black Angus right next door. Also plenty of other restaurants & grocery stores which we did not visit.
We would stay here again.
If going to Legoland, make sure you allow more than one day as one day was not enough for us. We didn’t see all of Legoland & we didn’t even get a chance to see the Aquarium which was included in the price of our ticket. Our ticket also included a 2nd day free which we were unable to use due to the park being closed Wednesdays & Thursdays. Waterpark was also closed during this time of the year.
San diego Zoo is a must see. USS Midway is good. Outlet shopping at Las Americas also good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scar3crow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Hotel is easy to find, just east of San Diego fwy. Since our original room smelled of stale cigarette smoke (yes, it was a non-smoking room) the desk attendant (young lady) was very accommodating and allowed us to see two other rooms and choose. The rooms are newly remodeled and look as pictured. The bed was comfortable, plenty of hot water, micro-fridge, wifi worked well...everything was fine. Note: there is no elevator, rooms have exterior entrances, and there is so little space between the bed and the desk/credenza/cabinet unit that we had to squeeze past each other. If one was working at the desk, there was no getting past unless he scooted the chair in - way in - and it was a really tight squeeze then! Now that was nothing more than an inconvenience during our 5 night stay, but larger guests might find it more than inconvenient. Breakfast was fine, but nothing to rave over. Emma's (across the street) has some great breakfasts on the menu. Black Angus Steak House is next door (smelled so good!) and McDonald's is next to it. This Days Inn is a great value, compared to staying in San Diego and paying higher rates. One or two issues (room key not working, no DND card) were resolved easily by front desk. I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RJ56Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had a great motel room as far as it goes but it needed a little repair not much it was clean ended up with alot of bumps on my arm not sure if due to bed bugs or not but now gone away but we stayed 2 nights and on the second night they had a groupe of kids in the back between the 2 bldgs of the motel smoking some kind of drugs and we contacted in fact went to the office and instead of calling the police they had the maintenece go and check it out which they never did i also contacted the corporate offcie about this situation so they were aware that i would never stay there agian and might be awhile before i stayed at another days inn. they had some nice ammenitties for what it was but they need to clean up the drug issues in that area if people are going to stay i had my grandkids and who knows what might have happened

Room Tip: just make sure that its all good before you check in ask some questions before you go to the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great price, helpful staff. Great breakfast! For the price you can't beat it, we got there early and was let check in early!! Very helpful after driving all night. Definitely would come back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a nice little motel a few miles south of San Diego. It's 1 block from a trolley station in a well lit commercial area. My room was clean and nicely decorated; the bed was comfortable. They have free wifi and breakfast. In the breakfast room is a waffle iron and a waffle batter dispenser, and they're tasty.

I was in San Diego for a Conference/trade show, and the downtown hotels are very expensive. The Chula Vista Days Inn is a 10 - 15 minute trolley ride from the Convention Center and considerably less expensive.

Room Tip: Buy a multi-day trolley pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GeekGhoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
0.3 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
602 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.5 mi away
Ramada San Diego National City
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay

Property: Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Address: 699 E St, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Location off I-5 and Minutes to San Diego Convention Center,San Diego Airport,San diego Zoo,Sea World,Beaches and Downtown San Diego Room with free continental breakfast, -free Wi-Fi, --refrigerator and microwave In Room Bathroom -Bath Tub -Bathroom - Private -Oversized Bath Tub -Local Telephone Calls (Free) -Adjoining Rooms -Air Conditioning -Alarm Clock -Connecting Room -Desk -Ergonomic Chair -Heating/Cooling - Self-Controlled -Newspaper - Complimentary -Non-Smoking Room -Pillows - Foam-Coffee/Tea Maker -Cups-Free High Speed Internet Access -TV - Cable/Satellite -TV - HDTV -Pool-Hot Spa-Meeting Room-Fitnesh Center-Business Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Diego/South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Chula Vista Days Inn
Days Inn Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing