We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ! - wonderful resort - could not fault it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matatufu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing ! - wonderful resort - could not fault it !”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from 6 nights at the most amazing resort. Gavin and Lou have truly made this a wonderful resort in the most picturesque location. The rooms are immaculate and the gardens are beautiful making the whole setting outstanding - a pleasure to wander around soaking up the island feeling. The staff all make you feel welcome and special and cannot do enough for you on your stay. The food is excellent and spa is right up there with the best. Fia Fia night wa a wonderful experience. Can't thank you enough Gavin and Lou for making our pacific island holiday one to remember. We have stayed on many islands around the world and this is totally way up there......! Kelvin and Karen are a amazing asset to the resort and can guide you on some fantastic excursions around the island to top off the whole experience. We wish you all the best with your venture Gavin and Lou and if you keep up the high standards you have already set in just the two months you have been open people are going to be back for more. The most amazing setting with beautiful rooms and fantastic service. The kids had a blast and were made so welcome. THANKS !!!!

Room Tip: Any of them - it is all set in a beautiful place although a beach front fale is a special treat - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChrisNevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi - thanks for your comments - we sure look forward to you all returning & showing you more fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    77
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
127
153
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This resort is carefully planned and layed out to make the most of a stunning beach and location. Gavin and Lou are awesome hosts and they have assembled a great team who go out of their way to ensure each guest feels right at home. Your every wish (yes, even Marmite..thanks Karen) is taken care of. Thank you for helping us organise a fabulous pool party for our friend...it was the perfect way to celebrate her special birthday! We cant thank you enough for a fabulous holiday in your little piece of paradise...

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have a beach front fale.. You wont regret it...waking up to that view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi - thanks - the place sparkled a little less when 'the ladies' and all your merriment left the resort. we hope to see you all again soon (marmite & vegemite on the ready)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned to NZ from a 9 night stay at the Saletoga Sands Resort and Spa, it was a 1 hour 10 min drive from airport to arrive at this beautiful resort on a lovely sandy beach just like the brochure. It was a very relaxing holiday, just what we wanted to chill out in 30 deg heat, with high humidity, but being right by the water and with the pool not far away it was very easy to keep cool.
The pool with swim up bar was very inviting, clean and lots of room for swimming. The sea was so warm, we snorkelled each day, though due to Tsunami 6 yrs ago the Coral was damaged but is starting the rejuvenate again, and lots of coloured fish coming back. We hired a rental car from the resort, and were able to explore the rest of the Island.
The food was amazing, compliments to the Chef and his staff. Our unit was beach front, and still very private, spacious, clean, comfy bed, outdoor and indoor showers, with views over the beach, reef and ocean. We had a small hickup with Air Con, but was soon rectified, as this is a very new resort, we understood perhaps a few teething problems still. The Spa massage was best I have had at any resort spa overseas,
The staff were extremely obliging, friendly and helpful, even had Flat Whites delivered to our unit.
Lou and Gav thank you so much, we loved your resort, it can only go from strength to strength as word gets out, and when those last units are finished. All the best N & G.

Room Tip: Beach front is great but the sea is quite noisy, units are placed so each is very private from the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludlowfarmstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi - thanks for your comments - chef, spa and staff are smiling as they love to do a good job! We're glad you mad it home well and hope to see you back in our little piece of paradise soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Saletoga for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding. The first wedding held there. Our 4 days at the resort was great. Our room was spacious and the outside bathroom amazing, no need to use the inside shower!
The staff, although new to the job, were so helpful and remembered all our names.
We will be back next year for Rayna and Brad's first wedding anniversary.
Lou, Gav and all the staff, thank you for making it such a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa Annie, thanks for your comments. Being our first wedding, it really does hold a place in our hearts and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent three nights at the Saletoga Sands Resort and Spa after spending the first four nights of our trip on the north side of the Island. The beach front location is fantastic and the resort has a supply of snorkel gear and kayaks which are free for guests to use which was great, however the coral has been badly damaged by the tsunami so the snorkelling isn't amazing. The pool is fantastic with a swim up bar and plenty of loungers for relaxing and reading a book poolside with a view over the ocean.

The resort is only three months old so the rooms are modern, spacious and tidy and each room is fitted with an amazing outdoor shower.

The food was some of the best we had in while in Samoa. We organised a fishing trip through the resort and chef prepared a delicious meal out of the fresh fish we caught that day which was amazing.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess-mckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi - thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us ... and well done on the fishing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my family stayed at saletoga sands for a family wedding. From the minute we arrived till the minute we left you couldn't wipe the smile off all of our faces. The resort is brand new and some parts were still under construction but you would never know.
Out bure was fabulous. It had all the amenities required and suited a family of four perfectly. The out door bath and shower were great.
The pool also is perfect size and depth and this overlooks a stunning beach and lagoon. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem. They were constantly smiling an knew every ones names including the children. The food was incredible and fresh and there was a great variety.

Sure sometimes the service was a bit slow but that's why you go to Samoa to slow down.

I have read all the comments and I think the only one poor comment probably comes from a person who is not accustomed to island life an is more used to the city life that someone of such high maintenance would be almost happy with.

I would highly recommend this resort and will definitely be returning.

Fafa tai saletoga sands as staff

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SurfKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi - thanks very much for your kind words, they are much appreciated :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are in agreement with many of the comments which have been made about Saletoga Sands, particularly with it being a new resort. The rooms are (or will be!) pretty damn good (we had a beachfront) and any suggested changes or improvements could be construed as niggles but here they are anyway:
Shelf in bathroom for toilet bags etc
Full length mirror in bedroom
Information folder needed as a priority
Choice of teas would have been a nice touch

Rooms were not made up until mid/late afternoon on most days. (This would have been understandable if the resort was full - which it wasn't)

The food was OK (especially the fish) but rather lacking in inventiveness and variety. 'Specials' were not all that special!The Fia Fia buffet dishes tended to be international rather than locally influenced cuisine

On the plus side, the pool is excellent and the staff (whilst still on a learning curve) are pretty good (Arthur is very helpful and Ailini on Reception is a delight).

We would stay here again - but in a year or so's time when the teething troubles are far behind them

As Trip Adviser has no rating between 'Average' (which it wasn't) and 'Very good' (which it wasn't either!) we would rate it as 'Good' - so there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WoodiesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Thanks for your review. We accept much of the advice you offer as points taken and have already implemented some changes. We very much look forward to seeing you again in a year and making your stay even more enjoyable :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matatufu
8.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
10.1 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
18.3 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Seabreeze Resort
Seabreeze Resort
#1 of 38 in Upolu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
13.5 mi away
Coconuts Beach Club
Coconuts Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Maninoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saletoga Sands Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saletoga Sands Resorts

Property: Saletoga Sands Resorts
Address: Main South Coast Road, Apia | Apia Upolu, Matatufu, Upolu, Samoa (Formerly Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Matatufu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matatufu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saletoga Sands Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa combines luxury and comfort with the natural splendour of the beautiful island of Upolu, Samoa. A white, sandy beach and breathtaking, tranquil blue waters provide the perfect setting for this stunning boutique retreat surrounded by exotic tropical flowers and lush greenery. Nestled within a secluded sheltered bay just one hour’s drive from Faleolo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Saletoga Sands Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing