We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic Holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matatufu
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magic Holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just recently returned from a 'girls' holiday at Saletoga Sands Resort in Samoa. Wouldn't have changed a thing. The resort is very well thought out and compared to some of the other well known resorts we peeked in on is a class above. The layout of the fales was spacious enough that you weren't on top of your neighbours, the pool (and pool bar) fantastic and sheltered from the prevailing winds and the staff very friendly and helpful. The fales themselves were nice and clean, the outdoor showers a treat. I loved this holiday, especially getting to know the local people. Would highly recommend this resort and would love to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Malo lava, thank you for your recent guest comment. It is wonderful that you had so many nice things to say about our resort and particularly the staff and our idyllic location. We look forward to welcoming you and the girls back to Saletoga Sands again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    73
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
121
143
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in Apia and hired a car to drive around the island. We stumbled across this new resort and stopped in for lunch. What a lovely atmosphere, the staff were friendly and the meal was lovely. We will look at staying here for a few days next time we are in Samoa

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JocelynMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa, thanks for your comments about our resort and particularly the food. We look forward to your stumbling our way again and hope you may stay awhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Saletoga Sands Resort is truly amazing!! Huge congratulations to Gavin and Lou for creating the quintessential perfect tropical paradise resort!

We are Australian residents and incredibly lucky to have been living in Samoa for nearly two years. We recently spent two fabulous nights at Saletoga Sands with our teenage daughter and adult son and his girlfriend. As we have travelled extensively within Samoa we are well informed on all the resorts. We rate the brand new Saletoga Sands as the absolute best!

Credit goes to the friendly hands on owners Gavin and Lou who go above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect and everyone at the resort is treated as 'special'. The locally trained staff are friendly, attentive and genuinely happy to be helping you. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone greets you with warm smiles. Our children commented on how truly amazing and happy all the staff were. We were made to feel welcome by each and every staff member at all times.

The resort had lots of options for activities, tours, transfers, kids clubs, car rentals, etc. Kelvin, who runs the tours, is extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the local highlights.

The resort itself although brand new is immaculate and perfectly finished. The villas all have ocean or pool views and are completely separate from each other creating a private feeling. We had a family villa and a pool view villa. Both were very spacious, quiet and beautifully furnished. The family villa had a separate twin bedroom. Every villa has it's own large private balcony and a sensational private outdoor hot water shower/courtyard. Although the beachfront villas had direct ocean views every villa was well positioned and will not disappoint with the views.

The food was fresh, delicious and well presented. An excellent continental breakfast was included and tasty, cooked to order, hot options can be ordered also if preferred.

The beach is postcard picture perfect with its own private jetty and Fale. The water was clear and calm and perfect for snorkelling. We enjoyed the large lagoon style pool with swim up bar. Lots of pool toys are provided. Beach volleyball was being enjoyed by some guests also with pool staff happily joining in. Small touches make all the difference and Saletoga Sands provide plenty of these.

Everything at the resort has been planned to perfection. The gardens are stunning and the little touches like signage and wood carvings make for wonderful photos! We have already recommended this resort to several friends planning on coming to Samoa and one couple who are looking for the perfect wedding location.

Congratulations Gavin and Lou! You have certainly created a truly fabulous resort which is both modern and traditionally Samoan.

Paradise - why stay anywhere else!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa lava and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We very much appreciate the time you took. You have captured some of the essence of Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa. I have passed on your wonderful comments to our staff and we look forward to seeing you (and your friends) back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a fantastic time for six days,the management and staff are very caring,food was supplied on our arrival at the midnight hour which we really appreciated after a long flight.Each day we were greeted and cared for like we were old visitors,nothing was a problem no matter how busy they were.Our son and new daughter n law had the most fantastic wedding on the beach,memories they will hold like us for ever.The rooms were well serviced and if you wanted anything extra they would go out of there way to accomadate.We truly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back to the same resort as we were so well cared for,top marks to management and staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 318carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Carol, thanks for your comments. We were pleased to be part of making the wedding day and holiday as wonderful as possible. The wedding was picture perfect and you all looked fantastic at the beach party with champagne, canapes & colorful leis. The wedding ceremony on the fale o'o (sunset fale over the water) was special and intimate, and the bride looked picture perfect during her walk down the jetty aisle that was decorated in woven leaves, flowers and flaming torches. It really was a beautiful wedding filled with beautiful people and still makes me smile when I think of it :-) We hope to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I would give anything to be back at Saletoga Sands right now! We stayed for a week and everything was absolutely perfect - the rooms were spacious and light, the swimming pool was amazing and the beautiful beach is postcard perfect but the thing that really made our holiday was the people! The people of Samoa are so lovely and the staff at Saletoga Sands were just amazing!! It was so nice to see the same smiling faces every day and the local staff were a great laugh. We took our 3 year old and 9 month old on holiday and the staff were brilliant with them - in fact we didn't see our 3 year old for most of the holiday as she was off "helping" the staff around the resort! Tina in particular is very much missed by Miss Three. Traveling with kids is hard so it is nice to be made to feel welcome, rather than a nuisance!

It was also lovely to get to know some of the other groups around the resort, the other families, the "girls on tour" celebrating their birthday with a pool party, watching the All Blacks beat England with the other New Zealanders - Saletoga Sands does not feel large and impersonal like some other resorts I have stayed at where nobody attempts to get to know anybody else. It has a more laid back vibe and that certainly made a difference to how much we enjoyed our holiday!

Congratulations again to the owners on creating such a beautiful resort. Gavin and Lou went out of there way to make sure everything was perfect during our stay - it is the little details that make the difference between a good holiday and a great one and from the airport pick up (the shuttle picked us up from the airport with fresh coconut and cool face towels and we were met by the owners at the hotel at 10pm with sandwiches) until the day we left (farewelled with a song by the staff and personal goodbyes from the owners) the holiday was just perfect! We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Room 114 is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flightlessbird2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa,
Thank you for taking the time to give such a nice detailed comment about your stay with us.We read out your comments during our staff meeting and everyone felt proud and pleased to have provided you with such a great experience. We hope to see you back at Saletoga Sands in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We took a bit of a risk booking at Saletoga before it had even opened, but I am so glad we did! We only stayed two nights, but wish we had stayed longer. The rooms are gorgeous and the pool is fantastic (loved the swim up bar).

Our ten month old son seemed to have a great time too - when we arrived late at night the cot was set up ready in our room, and the staff doted on him - nice to find a good resort where they were happy to take young kids. He really loved the outdoor shower, as did my husband and I - never bothered to use the indoor one. It seems really hard to find resorts in Samoa that take under 3s (if you go over to Savai'i try Savai'i Lagoon Resort - quite different to Saletoga but also good and very practical for kids).

I had a foot and neck and shoulder massage at the spa - both were lovely (and the foot massage was complimentary).

Snorkelling was pretty good - the fish were very pretty and you didn't have to go out far to see lots. The coral is till regenerating from the tsunami a few years ago - if you want to see some great coral try heading down the coast to Sa Moana.

The staff were good - of particular note was the guy who picked us up from the airport - friendly and informative. Some of the wait staff are lacking a little confidence, but I'm sure this will come with time.

Only thing that we noticed that really needs attention is the temperature of the water in the bathrooms - it needs to be limited as it could be extremely hot and therefore dangerous for little kids.

The resort had a lovely relaxed feel to it - not too many bungalows, so it didn't feel mass produced. Fantastic spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaNZ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa, thanks for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - yes, the massages from the Saletoga Spa are bliss! Thanks also for the feedback regarding the shower temperatures - we have now amended them. We hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We recently had our wedding at the resort and WOW! What a place! We can not say enough about it. The staff exceed any expectations. From Owners/Management through to housekeeping nothing was a problem for anyone. Everyday we were greeted by our first names from the friendly staff around the resort. The rooms and facilities were very tastefully furnished , extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The restaurant was great with new specials every day so if you stay for an extended time it never gets boring. The food was awesome, they even cooked a fish we caught for us to our liking. You can either sit around the relaxing pool bar all day or jump on a daily tour to many of the local attractions guided by the friendly and knowledgeable staff at the resort.
Our wedding was at late notice to the resort, though you would not have known as they gave us the most beautiful wedding day we could ever have imagined on their jetty at sunset which was superbly decorated in a gorgeous array of tropical flowers and ferns. Everyone of our guests commented on the layout of the wedding, the resort, location, staff and food and were really impressed by the value. Everything for the wedding was organised in-house by the coordinator and nothing was a problem she went above and beyond that of any other coordinator I have heard of and I strongly recommend her for your wedding day. Even when our guests were picked up from the airport in the middle of the night by the resort there was food waiting for them on arrival and a personalised introduction to the resort and their rooms mostly by the resort owners, which is unheard of these days and we found unbelievably impressive and welcoming.
We also booked a Fia Fia night which they personalised just for us and we were breathless, we absolutely loved it.
If you are going to Samoa weather it be for a wedding or a holiday, we can't see why you would stay elsewhere, we highly recommend the Saletoga Sands.

Room Tip: The beach front villas are amazing and so close to the water unlike other resorts which we visited w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa lava Callie, thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed and through description of your time with us. The details you have outlined are the experiences and services we try hard to give to guests. I have read your comments to the staff and they were all chuffed. Thanks for choosing Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa for your wedding day. It was a real joy for us to be part of making your wedding day as special as possible. We miss you all and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matatufu
8.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#6 of 31 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
10.1 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
18.3 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Seabreeze Resort
Seabreeze Resort
#1 of 38 in Upolu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
13.5 mi away
Coconuts Beach Club
Coconuts Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Maninoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa

Property: Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa
Address: Main South Coast Road | Apia Upolu, Matatufu, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Matatufu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matatufu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa combines luxury and comfort with the natural splendour of the beautiful island of Upolu, Samoa. A white, sandy beach and breathtaking, tranquil blue waters provide the perfect setting for this stunning boutique retreat surrounded by exotic tropical flowers and lush greenery. Nestled within a secluded sheltered bay just one hour’s drive from Faleolo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing