We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matatufu
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Talofa all

This was our first stay in a resort so didn't know what to expect. We got into Samoa late at night and greeted by 2 cheerful staff from from the resort. After an hours drive with cool coconut in hand we got to Saletoga close to midnight and were met by the owners Gavin and Lou. Gavin offered some sandwiches which was just what we needed and then showed us to the Matai fale which was absolutely beautiful and top class.

For the next 7 nights we thoroughly enjoyed the fale. The outside shower and bath was just simply awesome. Very romantic at night time. A beautiful beach and lagoon greeted us every morning when we stepped out onto the deck. The ocean was well used with free snorkelling and kayak gear. A huge stunning pool with swim up bar was a treat. The resort was full, but didn't feel over crowded at all.

The free continental brekkie in the open restaurant was just fine. Every meal we had, lunch or dinner was excellent. I would recommend the pork belly, just define, all washed down with a vailima pure or a well made cocktail.

We did a shopping tour and turtle feeding to Apia with Tina which was just cool (thanks Tina). Great sense of humour. Don't miss the FiaFia night, a must do.

The very best thing was the staff. So very kind, willingness to help, have a laugh with, big smiles. An absolute credit to Gavin and the team.

I could name so much more nifty little bits and pieces but well let you discover those yourselves.

A stunning location for a resort, which was perfectly managed. We miss you all and we'll be back 2015.

Fa'afetai

Room Tip: The Matai fale with absolute beachfront is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Havelocknites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa - What can I say except thank you so much for writing such a great review... oh and I agree with you on the pork belly being great, especially with a vailima pure - magic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    77
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
127
153
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Was fortunate enough to be invited by a resident to spend the day at this resort. We had lunch in the beautiful, breezy restaurant, which was light, fresh and beautifully presented. Nice NZ wine selection as well. A most beautiful location, the pool, with swim up bar was marvellous, as were the staff serving, friendly and fun. The villas have that most important tropical feature, an open air shower! Fantastic. The beach is beautiful and the lagoon water, perfect fro snorkeling. Has a fantastic day and can't wait to return stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Malo lava, thanks for your review. yes, please do return to enjoy our little piece of paradise for a bit longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at this beautiful resort. Staff were friendly and helpful though we were disappointed the gym wasn't available as it was being used as storage at the time. We would also have liked more transparency regarding cost of tours being organised from the resort as we were only told of the price if we asked, to avoid having a shock at seeing the final bill. Otherwise, a lovely stay and resort is family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa, thanks for your honest feedback. We are please to advise the gym is up and running. Our apologies it was unavailable during your stay. Sorry too for the confusion regarding tour costs - most of the Saletoga Tours cost WST$150 (approx. NZ$75). Saletoga Tours include at least three activities and range from 4-6 hours. The Tours Team likes to show you Samoan spots you may otherwise miss or fail to take full advantage of. We appreciate your comments and have now added the tours price in the room compendium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just recently returned from a 'girls' holiday at Saletoga Sands Resort in Samoa. Wouldn't have changed a thing. The resort is very well thought out and compared to some of the other well known resorts we peeked in on is a class above. The layout of the fales was spacious enough that you weren't on top of your neighbours, the pool (and pool bar) fantastic and sheltered from the prevailing winds and the staff very friendly and helpful. The fales themselves were nice and clean, the outdoor showers a treat. I loved this holiday, especially getting to know the local people. Would highly recommend this resort and would love to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Malo lava, thank you for your recent guest comment. It is wonderful that you had so many nice things to say about our resort and particularly the staff and our idyllic location. We look forward to welcoming you and the girls back to Saletoga Sands again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in Apia and hired a car to drive around the island. We stumbled across this new resort and stopped in for lunch. What a lovely atmosphere, the staff were friendly and the meal was lovely. We will look at staying here for a few days next time we are in Samoa

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JocelynMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa, thanks for your comments about our resort and particularly the food. We look forward to your stumbling our way again and hope you may stay awhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Saletoga Sands Resort is truly amazing!! Huge congratulations to Gavin and Lou for creating the quintessential perfect tropical paradise resort!

We are Australian residents and incredibly lucky to have been living in Samoa for nearly two years. We recently spent two fabulous nights at Saletoga Sands with our teenage daughter and adult son and his girlfriend. As we have travelled extensively within Samoa we are well informed on all the resorts. We rate the brand new Saletoga Sands as the absolute best!

Credit goes to the friendly hands on owners Gavin and Lou who go above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect and everyone at the resort is treated as 'special'. The locally trained staff are friendly, attentive and genuinely happy to be helping you. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone greets you with warm smiles. Our children commented on how truly amazing and happy all the staff were. We were made to feel welcome by each and every staff member at all times.

The resort had lots of options for activities, tours, transfers, kids clubs, car rentals, etc. Kelvin, who runs the tours, is extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the local highlights.

The resort itself although brand new is immaculate and perfectly finished. The villas all have ocean or pool views and are completely separate from each other creating a private feeling. We had a family villa and a pool view villa. Both were very spacious, quiet and beautifully furnished. The family villa had a separate twin bedroom. Every villa has it's own large private balcony and a sensational private outdoor hot water shower/courtyard. Although the beachfront villas had direct ocean views every villa was well positioned and will not disappoint with the views.

The food was fresh, delicious and well presented. An excellent continental breakfast was included and tasty, cooked to order, hot options can be ordered also if preferred.

The beach is postcard picture perfect with its own private jetty and Fale. The water was clear and calm and perfect for snorkelling. We enjoyed the large lagoon style pool with swim up bar. Lots of pool toys are provided. Beach volleyball was being enjoyed by some guests also with pool staff happily joining in. Small touches make all the difference and Saletoga Sands provide plenty of these.

Everything at the resort has been planned to perfection. The gardens are stunning and the little touches like signage and wood carvings make for wonderful photos! We have already recommended this resort to several friends planning on coming to Samoa and one couple who are looking for the perfect wedding location.

Congratulations Gavin and Lou! You have certainly created a truly fabulous resort which is both modern and traditionally Samoan.

Paradise - why stay anywhere else!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Talofa lava and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We very much appreciate the time you took. You have captured some of the essence of Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa. I have passed on your wonderful comments to our staff and we look forward to seeing you (and your friends) back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a fantastic time for six days,the management and staff are very caring,food was supplied on our arrival at the midnight hour which we really appreciated after a long flight.Each day we were greeted and cared for like we were old visitors,nothing was a problem no matter how busy they were.Our son and new daughter n law had the most fantastic wedding on the beach,memories they will hold like us for ever.The rooms were well serviced and if you wanted anything extra they would go out of there way to accomadate.We truly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back to the same resort as we were so well cared for,top marks to management and staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 318carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gav-saletoga, Manager at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Carol, thanks for your comments. We were pleased to be part of making the wedding day and holiday as wonderful as possible. The wedding was picture perfect and you all looked fantastic at the beach party with champagne, canapes & colorful leis. The wedding ceremony on the fale o'o (sunset fale over the water) was special and intimate, and the bride looked picture perfect during her walk down the jetty aisle that was decorated in woven leaves, flowers and flaming torches. It really was a beautiful wedding filled with beautiful people and still makes me smile when I think of it :-) We hope to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matatufu
8.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
10.1 mi away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
18.3 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Seabreeze Resort
Seabreeze Resort
#1 of 38 in Upolu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
13.5 mi away
Coconuts Beach Club
Coconuts Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Maninoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saletoga Sands Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saletoga Sands Resorts

Property: Saletoga Sands Resorts
Address: Main South Coast Road, Apia | Apia Upolu, Matatufu, Upolu, Samoa (Formerly Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Matatufu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matatufu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saletoga Sands Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa combines luxury and comfort with the natural splendour of the beautiful island of Upolu, Samoa. A white, sandy beach and breathtaking, tranquil blue waters provide the perfect setting for this stunning boutique retreat surrounded by exotic tropical flowers and lush greenery. Nestled within a secluded sheltered bay just one hour’s drive from Faleolo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Saletoga Sands Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing