We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special and fun place for food and wine”

Packing House Wine Merchants
Ranked #20 of 135 Restaurants in Claremont
Cuisines: Wine Bar, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wine Shop, Bar and lounge.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special and fun place for food and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Took a large extended family group here for a college graduation dinner, and everyone raved about the quality of the food, and the atmosphere. (And this was a group of foodies and wine enthusiasts with high standards!) We sat outside on the deck, and shared lots of small plates, along with several bottles of wine that we'd purchased inside beforehand. It made for a special, fun, memorable and all-around enjoyable evening. The service was great, and the owner was really attentive and clearly very knowledgable about various wines. To those who have griped about the corkage fee: hey, it's still a great value, and they need to mark up from retail, ok?? Their selection is excellent and fairly priced, and it's fun to wander around their store and pull a few bottles to enjoy with dinner. It was a great group activity before we dined....;-) (Plus, if you're getting several bottles and are friendly about it, they'll probably discount that fee....) Food was fabulous: we especially liked the poke tostadas, crab cake, roasted artichokes, humboldt fog and plum jam cheese plate, seared ahi, other specialty cheese plates, mac and cheese, and desserts. Really good freshly brewed decaf was a bonus.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maranat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stumbled upon this wine bar by accident after years of visiting our son in Claremont. Almost as if by design this gem is a bit tucked away. They explained that they like to take time to talk with their customers, all wait staff know wines inside and out, and the service was personal. Food outstanding and varied from tapas sized to full meals. Saturday night music was pleasant. We will return again and again. No reservations but they do take call ahead table requests.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sebagolizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Twice in one night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Don't know why it took us so long to find this gem. Making many trips to Claremont due to our child's college activities, we felt a gaping hole, needing a sophisticated location to have a nice glass of wine and small plates. Now we visit both before and after the sports events. The wine is unusual, varied and excellent, the beer choice is good as well, the people are friendly and helpful, and we can have virtually anything we want to eat from the small and large plate menu. Some of the food items, like the poke tacos, are excellent. It is very reasonably priced as well. And they even had an awesome guitar duo on Saturday night. It's our most important hangout in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wine Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Wine selection is fantastic. Nice quiet cozy place. Found my favorite wine here. Cheese platter and your favorite wine, now theres the combo.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shamamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoxabc
Level Contributor
207 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best place any night of the week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Relaxing, comfortable wine bar with many wonderful selections. They recently updated their food menu to include dinners. They also have many delicious appetizers. It is easy to spend many hours enjoying the calm environment with friends inside or out. One of our favorite places to relax.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Havenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Packing House Wine Merchants also viewed

 
Claremont, CA
 

Been to Packing House Wine Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing