We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went for Tour of California” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Diablo State Park

Mount Diablo State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers vast views from its summit.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Went for Tour of California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hiking was steep and few descents, but can be done for amateurs if they are paced to their level of experience. The area looked like a Thomas Hart Benton painting. You could drive it as well. There are posters to explain the topography as you hike trails. You could view the Bay from there on a good day, There is camping and picnic lots also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fjorthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    44
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Have you been to a Star Party???”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Mt. Diablo has them them. It is amazing to spend time up there gazing thru telecopes at the Stars! You can go on line to find out more about this. Tons of places to hike. Fun day trip...and did I mention the view from the top of the world!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“View half of California on a clear day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

View the Bay Area from on top of the mountain. Take a lovely drive up to the summit where there is educational info.on the geological making of the mountain, local flora and fauna. Check out the summit tower where you can see ancient sea creatures embedded in stone. Many places for a stop and picnic on the way up. There is also over night camping which can be an amazing place to view the stars.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Visit to the top of Mt. Diablo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is one of the highest spots available by car in the Bay Area - reaching over 3800ft. We drove up via Walnut Creek - the North Gate Rd. Cost is $10 per car. Lots of picnic areas available. The view from the top, on a clear day, is spectacular. On the top of the mountain is a 1930's WPA small rock constructed visitors center and helpful employees who can answer your questions. Soft drinks and a restroom are available. Lots of bicycles and a number of hikers. Roads are for the most part well maintained but lots of twists and turns so take your time and enjoy. We took the South Gate Rd down into the beautiful San Ramon Valley. It is the better of the two roads into and out of the park. Great day trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Vast Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Actually, I haven't been to Mt. Diablo State Park for a while, yet my experiences there stay in my mind. There are lovely natural sights while driving that semi-winding road on the mountain. I usually drive to the summit, get out, and take in the 360 degree view of the SF Bay Area. I'm lucky it's always been sunny. I take advantage of the telescopes there. I go through the museum. It's a wonderful place. I recommend you visit Mt. Diablo State Park when you're in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank declectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Diablo State Park also viewed

 

Been to Mount Diablo State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing