We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearlake is going down hill!”
Review of Clear Lake

Clear Lake
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Clearlake
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Clear Lake is the largest natural freshwater lake entirely within California, with 68 square miles of surface area. The expansive, warm water of Clear Lake makes it ideal for recreation, including swimming, water skiing, sailing, and boating. Its scenic beauty and abundant wildlife - combined with the clearnest air in California - make Clear lake an excellent place to slow down, enjoy nature, and just plain relax.Quality grapes, visionary winemakers, and high elevation terroir make Lake County one of California's premier viticultural regions. With 35-plus wineries and almost 9,000 acres planted in winegrapes, the area is reclaiming its pre-Prohibition reputation.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clearlake is going down hill!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We drove through Clearlake and Lucerne to get to the town of Nice where we stayed this past weekend to visit family. Don't bother fishing in the Lake because it is green and is filled with algae. There are a few casinos nearby that has really great deals on their buffets (all you can eat seafood for $19.95).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank itsallaboutme70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    10
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sad & polluted”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Clearlake was a great destination but an algae a few years ago has made the lake green, scummy and you sure don't go in it. Sad.


Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank milwaukee1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake, but the area is Tweekerville”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We drove up here to look at it as a possible retirement home area, NOT!!!! I am sure there are some very beautiful places on the lake but, the communities of Clearlake, Clearlake Oaks, Lucerne, and Nice are full of what appears to be derelicts and druggies, total tweekerville. We will not be considering this area at all. It looks like most of the building happened prior to any building codes being in place, I am surprised that so many people have so little pride in their homes. We are not nose in the air snobs but we do want a safe, clean community that we would be proud to have someone come to visit. This place is a total FAIL!!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
18 Thank ohmamalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No-so-clear lake!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The lake is beautiful. Great views from where we were staying but the actual lake it gross... So much algae!! Very disappointed that we could not swim! And there are lots of weird people!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank ars629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great vacation!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at a rental house just north of Lakeporr and had a wonderful stay! ! We enjoyed fishing and many types of water sports. The wine tasting is not to be missed! ! A wonderful vacation close to home!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank highnotemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clear Lake also viewed

Pine Grove, Lake County
Kelseyville, Lake County
 

Been to Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing