We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I guess it's OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Eureka, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I guess it's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Dark rooms and dark interior to this hotel giving this place a bit of an oppressive feel. Rooms were clean, bed pretty comfy, bathroom small, tv HD. Kind of an indifferent staff, not rude or anything, just not what I would call the most helpful. One complaint I have is that the hotel directs smokers to stand just outside the entrances so every time I entered or left I would have to walk through a cloud smoke. I noted this the front desk person and was told, "you will need to bring this up to the manager". Not exactly what I was expecting to hear. All said, not great, not bad, just OK. Considering the other hotel choices though I would still say this is your best bet at this location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    49
    37
    22
    19
See reviews for
51
40
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Small but comfortable rooms. My pillows did smell like smoke, in a non smoking room. Good food and a great full bar. Staff friendly and attentive. This is located in lake county which is appropriately named. Clearlake is huge and has everything a tourist or vacationer would want.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA ROSA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed at this Hotel this last Friday (12-14-12) for a funeral. I was greeted at the front desk by Tenneal. She was very friendly & professional the whole time. The room was very clean & plush for the area. I am glad I went with this Hotel & WOULDN'T stay anywhere else in that town!!! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotts Valley, California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We have stayed at the El Grande a number of times and have always enjoyed our stay. The service is good. It is clean and it's comfortable. I don't like writing reviews so settle for4 what I first wrote.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MARY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Little improvemen over last stay, not sure why this happened but it made me feel uncomfortable. I went to the wrong room and my key opened that door. I was embarrassed to see someone else's luggage and then noticed it was the wrong room. Didn't make me feel save. I'm glad someone wasn't in the room. OMG

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearlake
1.7 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
1.2 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
5.5 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Lakeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn
Address: 15135 Lakeshore Dr, Clearlake, CA 95422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Grande Hotel Clearlake
Best Western Clearlake
Clearlake Best Western
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn Clearlake, CA - Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing