We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good but service not so great.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Garden Reataurant & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Happy Garden Reataurant & Bar
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Williams, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good but service not so great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

The food is good. The atmosphere is okay if it isn't tooooo busy. Some times the service is not so great. We have eaten there at least 5 times now, and thinking of going tonight, but sometimes they forget about you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What was I thinking? Thai in this area???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

OK, I'll admit it. I should have known better. It was Sunday and a lot of other places were closed. This one was open... obviously because of a bar that is in the same building connected with an open door. I wanted Thai food, but noticed that there were no pictures of the King of Thailand (a sure sign its NOT Thai owned), and all the decorations were Chinese. OK.. my bad. I ordered Green Bean and Pork (Pad Prik King, thai food). It was just ok.. salty and oily but I was hungry and it was edible. The white rice was DRY as a bone. The service was sparse, the wait staff preferring to eat their own food and play with their cell phones. In the middle of dinner, a near fight broke out in the bar with tons of 4 letter words, and a confrontation. I could not believe it.. .or maybe I could. I am sure the bar sales is the only reason this place is in business. It seemed clean enough but no way would I ever go back. I think in this case one of the local burger joints would have been preferred.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank usndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Ca.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Papaya salad" and drunks.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Yes, I made the mistake of eating here. Got a Papaya Salad. You couldn't taste the Papaya as it wasn't sweet at all. The waitress told me that Papaya was a vegetable and wasn't meant to be sweet. Drunks leaving the bar were obnoxious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lcpmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearlake, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“yummmmmmmmmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

this is by far the only place in lake county to eat chinese food fast friendly great prices you just cant go wrong love it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reikiprncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food in unlikely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just moved here, tried this Chinese restaurant and really liked it. Hubster had sweet & sour pork and really liked it. Happy Garden has an extensive menu of both Thai & Chinese, restaurant is modern looking and clean. I'd recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Garden Reataurant & Bar also viewed

Clearlake Oaks, Lake County
 
Clearlake Oaks, Lake County
Clearlake Oaks, Lake County
 
Clearlake Oaks, Lake County

Been to Happy Garden Reataurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing