We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing rustic about these lovely "cabins"”
Review of Lodge at Whitehawk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodge at Whitehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Clio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nothing rustic about these lovely "cabins"”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early August while exploring the Lakes Basin area north of Truckee. We usually go to Tahoe and thought that it would instead be fun to see what this area had to offer. We were looking for hiking, fly fishing and swimming in lakes. Great area on all of those fronts and not crowded in the least compared to to the Tahoe Basin.

I had been a bit concerned about the location of our particular cabin, as we booked late and got a cabin -- it's really a king-bedded great room with adjacent bathroom -- across the lodge road and slightly elevated from the main lodge. Things are more spread out than they appear on the lodge map, so I don't believe that there is any bad cabin. I really enjoyed the view from both the front deck as well as from the bed itself even though the main lodge and small parking lot were visible low in the view field. The cabin itself was quite large and very comfortable, with a cathedral ceiling, wood floors, AC and ceiling fan, a sitting area, small fridge and adjoining full bathroom. Whitehawk is quite different than most of the "lodges" that we saw while in area; the others I would fairly characterize as old and rustic. Most require a minimum one week stay, and all of them, including Whitehawk, close for the winter. While the other lodges have their charm, it's mostly in terms of their proximity to a water feature or hiking trail, not the accommodations or amenities. Whitehawk was very nice to come back to after a long day of hiking, fly fishing and swimming. And the bed/mattress were great!

There is a good size pool with hot tub on the property. We didn't use either of those or the tennis courts. If you golf, there is a golf course on the property. It looks well-maintained and has plenty of carts.

Breakfast comes with the room, and on that front I would prefer to order off of a menu, even a very limited one, than get the one item that is offered per day. However, it did seem that if you asked for something else that scrambled eggs were available, and coupled with the side dishes (e.g., fruit, sausage) to the featured entree that option would work out well for most breakfast eaters. We also had dinner there our first night, which was convenient given that we could just walk over, as opposed to having to drive at least several miles to get anywhere else. The food was good, but a bit heavy for our tastes. I wouldn't come to this area specifically for the food, though several of the lodges in the area are apparently known for their food. We dined at Packer Lake Lodge the second night and liked the rustic ambience and small size of the place. The food was a bit more to our liking, perhaps because less effort was made to make it seem like more than it was. But it too is a place where the food is really enhanced by the location. After dinner there we did a little fly fishing on Packer Lake.

If you want a more upscale lodging option in the Graeagle/Lakes Basin area, this is the place. If you want something more rustic, perhaps lake/creek front, and can get a reservation, then you may want to try Gray Eagle Lodge, Sardine Lake Lodge, Packer Lake Lodge, and Elwell Lakes Lodge. All of them have better out-the-door hiking, but are very different in terms of their accommodations and amenities. We'd definitely return to Whitehawk Lodge and found the short drive to the trailheads or fishing areas a worthwhile trade-off for a very comfortable night's sleep in a clean, well-appointed "cabin."

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Out-of-SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
67
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I made a reservation for our wedding anniversary based on the menu and the setting posted on their website. When we arrived we were told that this was their barbeque night and dogs were welcome on the porch! The BBQ would be served buffet style. Not quite what we had in mind for an anniversary dinner. I have no problem with the Lodge staging special events for their cabin guests but they should disclose it to non guests who bother to make reservations in advance.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butte Valley, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

In October of 2010, my husband and I were married at the Lodge at Whitehawk. I couldn’t have asked for a more special day. Our families booked up all of the beautiful cabins and we made an entire weekend of it. The food was fabulous and Jerry, Mary Ann and the staff went above and beyond to make it wonderful experience. We now visit for our anniversary or anytime we can get away. (It’s beautiful in every season!) My husband and I have two large dogs (Boxers) and it’s relieving knowing we can bring them along if we need to. I love that the cabins are always so clean and the view is just breathtaking. It’s a perfect location for hikers, fishers, bikers, golfers and anyone who enjoys sitting on the deck of their own little cabin with a cocktail in hand. We recommend the Lodge at Whitehawk above all other Graeagle accommodations!

Room Tip: You just can't go wrong with any of the cabins! We have stayed in "On the Pond," &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Wow, were we lucky to find this place! Everything was so nice and well turned out. We stayed in the lovely "Buckskin" cabin and loved almost everything about it. I am not sure if our favorite thing was how nice it was not to share a wall with others or the pleasure of sitting on our porch while we listened to the birds sing. We can't wait to go back!

The breakfasts were delicious and the staff was quite attentive but a small complaint is that it would have been nice if the main breakfast dish was prepared so that the meat would come separately as I believe it would have been fairly easy to do with the hash brown casserole. Please don't make the vegetarians feel like second class citizens.

Also, the refrigerator in the unit is fairly noisy. It was remiss of me not to mention this when I checked out. Oh, and the windows are a little difficult to open and close.

All in all, I can't wait to come back to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepsake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have stayed at The Lodge at Whitehawk many times. The surroundings are beautiful. It is peaceful and relaxing but there is lots to do in the area. There is a golf course on the property, tennis courts, a swimming pool and even a dog pond. Our dogs love it here. The cabins are clean and well maintained and the staff is accommodating. A fresh, home cooked breakfast is prepared daily during your stay. The restaurant serves dinner nightly and the food is great (also a full bar). Mary Ann and Jerry are take great pride in their business. We are looking forward to returning next month!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are immaculate, beautifully decorated and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Lodge at Whitehawk was a pleasant surprise. This was my first time to the Graeagle area, and I really enjoyed it. We brought up our road bikes for the long weekend and had some of the best cycling, right from our cabin. We did a few loops - the first day up around Gold Lake and down the other side, and the next day a shorter loop through Portola. Absolutly stunning views and nice, long, gradual climbs - about 5-6% average grade throughout with minimal car traffic.

The Lodge was great - we initially planned on dinner one night here, but ended up having most of our meals here. The staff is helpful and charming and the food is great.

Room Tip: We staying in Thoroughbred and it was great - comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We usually stay at bed and breakfasts but didn't find one close to the Lakes Basin hiking we wanted. We decided to try the Lodge at Whitehawk, and were so happy we did. There is a golf course and restaurant, and cabins to rent. Cabin might sound rustic...but there is nothing rustic about the Whitehawk cabins! We got the two bedroom two bath Frisien cabin, as we were meeting another couple. The cabin was spotless, modern and tastefully decorated. One bedroom had a king or queen bed with an attached bathroom with a tub. We had the twin bedded room with an attached bathroom with shower only. Both rooms were very comfortable. The living area was large and had a flat screen TV if you wanted it. There was a coffee maker as well. We brought our own coffee (they also provided some) and had coffee each morning on the large porch facing a beautiful meadow with horses and mountains in the background. I loved this part of the stay. We walked to dinner at the Whitehawk restaurant and had nice meals each time. The scallops with lavender cream were particularly wonderful. Breakfast was included in the price of the cabin...and it was fantastic. Each time there was a scrumptious breakfast casserole with bacon or sausage and a cup of fruit or muffin on the side, plus juice and coffee. What a way to start the day. I had expected a hotel buffet type of breakfast, so this was a pleasant surprise. The hosts Jerry and Mary Ann were friendly and helpful, and great to chat with. The location is near the little town of Graeagle, but it's not in town. It's absolutely quiet and peaceful...and near a number of incredible hikes. Jerry helped us plan our hiking, which we really appreciated, All in all a wonderful three days, which I would love to repeat. You won't go wrong staying here...it has everything unless you want a lively night scene (but then why would you be staying in this rural area??).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clio
5.5 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.7 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitehawk

Property: Lodge at Whitehawk
Address: 985 Whitehawk Drive, P.O. Box 175, Clio, Graeagle, CA 96106
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle > Clio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hour from Tahoe or Reno. Enjoy golfing, hiking, biking, kayaking or fishing; relax in your own private cabin, each with a deck overlooking spectacular mountain surroundings. Adjacent to award-winning Whitehawk Golf Course with charming Graeagle nearby. Unwind in our main lodge with sprawling decks, bar and dining. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, pond & tennis courts to enjoy. Pets welcome (we even have a swimming pond for dogs). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing