We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge on the Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 5 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed 19 December 2007

After a few stops along the wine road, we made our way to The Shelord House in Cloverdale. Upon check-in, Anna offered beverages and made us feel like we were at an old friends house. We gota brief tour and were amazed when we opened the door to the most beautiful room. The doors off the back balcony opened to a panoramic view of Alexander Valley where we enjoyed an amazing bottle of local Zinfandel. the mext morning Anna served us homemeade blueberry stuffed french toast and for dessert, rum cake. I was in Heaven. Not only were Stan and Anna gracious hosts, but they also sent us to the best restaurants and wineries while we stayed in Cloverdale. We WILL be back next year for our Anniversary and would be sure to recommend friends.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ZINLOVER034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    59
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
323
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

This was the 2nd stop (after San Francisco) on our 30th anniversary trip to California on our way down the Pacific Coast Highway. What a wonderful choice we made! The Shelford House lived up to its top notch reputation on Trip Advisor! It was so beautiful and serene, out in the country surrounded by vineyards! We stayed in the Vera room which was very spacious. The bed was luxuriously comfortable and the ceiling fan helped to circulate that wonderful clean fresh air. It is upstairs in the carriage house, which is a short walk from the main house. There is a common area with snacks, drinks, coffee, etc. and sofas, chairs and a TV. No other guests were staying in the other rooms while we were there so we had it to ourselves.

Anna and Stan were wonderful hosts and innkeepers. They are both so friendly, interesting, and fun to talk to. Anna's treats (coconut butter cookies and rum cake) and breakfasts were absolutely delicious!! My personal favorite was the almond croissant french toast and the melt in your mouth scones. Yummy!!!
There was only one other couple staying there so it was nice to get to know them. They were from Pittsburgh where they own a bakery and were asking Anna for her recipes...so you know she's a great cook!!

Honestly, we're not big wine drinkers at all but enjoyed the wine tasting more than we thought we would. The vineyards are so magnificent to see and many of the wineries are so beautiful that it was really a wonderful time.

We ate the first night at Piacere in Cloverdale and the next night (on our anniversary) at Willi's Seafood in Healdsburg. Anna and Stan recommended both and they were both excellent and very reasonable. If you go to Willi's, make sure you ask Anna for detailed directions, as it's difficult to find.

It was a perfect anniversary!
Thank you Anna and Stan...
Marjorie and Mark, Alpharetta, GA

  • Liked — beautiful location, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — a little far from more restaurants
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marzoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2007

The Shelford House is a fantastic place and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. Anna has the right balance: friendly and a wonderful source of local information (restaurants; wineries; etc.), yet she allows you the appropriate personal time and space. The breakfasts were the best that we have ever had at a B&B. They were truly gourmet, both in taste and presentation (not to mention quantity!). Our room was spacious and delightful, with great attention to detail. And the setting for The Shelford House is perfect. To sit on the porch in the morning or the evening overlooking the vineyards is absolutely stunning--and peaceful!! And to top it off--Anna went above and beyond the call of duty when we left two pairs of dress shoes behind. We called her, she took them to a local "Mail-It," and ensured that we received them in time!! We would definitely (and will!!) stay here again. Oh, and don't forget to say hello to "Bob" when you are there; he will purr his way into your heart. --- Ralph & Sue

  • Liked — Location and breakfasts
  • Disliked — Steep stairs to second floor
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaineTravelers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2007

...until we arrived. The Shelford House is a perfectly charming B&B in a quaint California town. It was really nice seeing the vineyards directly adjacent to the grounds. The innkeepers were knowledgable and all too happy to make recommendations. We stayed in the Sarah Room which was comfortable and clean as well as the common area with coffee maker, games, and tv. I don't understand why anyone would come here to watch television, but to each his own. The breakfast was delicious and on time. All in all, this a great B&B for the price and location. We look forward to a repeat visit.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Great place, very charming. Warm cookies greeting you in the PM. Owners really enjoy what they do and it shows. Only minus - one a road with a fair amt of traffic. if you were in the city you wouldn't notice it, but since it's so quiet otherwise, you can hear the cars go by if you have the windows open. If you get a room more on the back of the house, maybe you wouldn't hear it. loved the place overall though.

  • Liked — the sweet owners, views of the vineyards
  • Disliked — some traffic noise in an otherwise quiet town
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We chose a trip to Sonoma as part of our honeymoon road trip having been deterred by reports that Napa has become 'touristy', and against that backdrop we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay than the Shelford Inn.

it is located surprisingly conveniently for highway 101, yet it seems like it's in a different world. Surrounded by vineyards but within extended walking distance of the small town of Cloverdale (which has a couple of really good restaurants), we felt like we were staying with friends such was the welcome and attention to detail that innkeepers Anna and Stan paid.

The room was beautiful, the homemade breakfasts were amazing and the tips for which vineyards to visit were absolutely spot-on.

We will be back and we are lobbying friends and relatives to visit too. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — The innkeepers were excellent and knew how to make the most out of our stay
  • Disliked — Didn't stay long enough!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ignaceus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Hosts Stan and Anna were very friendly and provided a great breakfast and good sightseeing advice. We were there in the midst of a heat wave, but the air-conditioning in our room was sufficient, though the bathroom was like a sauna. The room was very comfortable. If I were to visit the area again, I would probably try to find something closer to Healdsburg, even if it were a hotel (as opposed to a B&B) in the cute town. The town of Cloverdale itself isn't even worth stepping into. There are some wineries here, but most are about 15-20 minutes south, in and around Healdsburg. Same with restaurants. And we had a great few hours one afternoon at the local indian casino (though it is admittedly an eyesore, during the day and particularly at night!) On the other hand, a stay at the Shelford is like a home away from home, cute, nice views of vineyards. One guest was using it as a base for bike rides around the area, which was an ideal idea.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MonthlyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
14.6 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
8.2 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cloverdale Wine Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.3 mi away
Vineyard Valley Inn
Vineyard Valley Inn
#2 of 4 in Cloverdale
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kelley & Young Wine Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge on the Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge on the Vineyard

Property: Auberge on the Vineyard
Address: 29955 River Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425-3510 (Formerly The Shelford House)
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge on the Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge on the Vineyard enjoys unsurpassed views of Alexander Valley Vineyards. Situated at the confluence of Dry Creek, Alexander and Anderson Valleys, there are hundreds of artisan wineries to visit in the area! Our guests receive a wine tasting and discount pass, accepted at more than 100 area wineries and good for free tastings. Also included is our "almost famous" three course French inspired breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Auberge on the Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge On The Vineyard Hotel Cloverdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing