We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made a Return Trip ... Still a Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge on the Vineyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge on the Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 5 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Made a Return Trip ... Still a Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We made a return trip to Auberge on the Vineyard in February and it was still a fantastic experience. The place was nice before, but we noticed even more upgrades in the Montrachet Suite and on the property, including new signage, flat screen TV, enhanced landscaping and more. I appreciate the fact the property owners are continuing to do improvements and are not resting on their laurels of past success.

The breakfast continues to be fabulous. You'll be fortified all morning and into the afternoon for wine tasting. All around still a fabulous place to stay in northern Sonoma County that has luxurious touches without being stuffy. We'll be making this an annual tradition!

Room Tip: Chose the Montrachet Suite if you are traveling with a pet.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CailTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    59
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
321
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

If you are searching for a quiet, blissful, well-kept bed and breakfast near Sonoma and endless wineries and vineyards nearby this is the place to go. I won't even touch on the breakfast since its raved about in every review (rightfully so) so ill just focus on the location. This is NOT Napa, it is country wine and dine at its finest. Although Cloverdale is a "sleepy town" it's perfect for a few minutes drive to vineyards and enjoying the scenery. Bobdog Wines is a must must must winery and vineyard perched upon the hills of Cloverdale and run by a wonderful couple who know their stuff! A must visit when staying at Auberge. Nothing but great things to say about our stay.... Again Bobdog wines and vineyard go now !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

From the attentiveness of the staff prior to our arrival to their delightful demeanor during our stay, we couldn't have been happier at this quaint B&B. We scored their 2-night stay from a travel deal site. Guests in our party stayed in the Vouvray (with its breathtaking view) and Sancerre rooms, both were well appointed, comfortable and the beds were heavenly. Our late arrival was not a problem for them and that was important as traveling from the east coast can really have its hiccups. We loved that morning fare was not your standard ham and eggs but well thought out dishes that included pear smoothies, a unique egg souffle and a killer apple and pineapple sausage. Morning chatter was lively and guests were inquisitive and respectful. We didn't want to leave but Tahoe beckoned. We'd recommend Auberge to our most discerning friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Wife and I celebrated our 20 year anniversary by spending a few days in the Sonoma wine country. I found Auberge through Trip Advisor and glad that I did. At first blush, you would think it was a little too far north in Sonoma to be a good base for visiting the wineries, but Auberge is actually within 15-30 minutes of the majority of the wineries that we had on the list to visit. Price was a consideration as most of the B&B's further south were out of our budget range. We originally booked at a very good rate, but Roxanne later offered an even better package and switched us over to it. Saved several dollars in the process.

The property was very quaint and historic. We stayed mid-week when it was a little slow, so we had the main house to ourselves for 2 of the 3 days. The rooms were very clean, very quiet, and the beds slept comfortably. Not to mention that the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Stay in the downstairs guest room of the main house if you have any bone and joint issues. The stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomSIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

So happy to have found this great B&B. Thanks to my generous parents for giving my husband & I a wonderful 2 night stay as an early birthday gift! Being I work at a B&B in Lake Tahoe, Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages on the West Shore of Lake Tahoe, I can truly recommend this great find. Rebecca was so friendly & accommodating with our early check-in. The room we stayed in was very spacious & comfortable. The 3-course breakfast was absolutely delicious & especially the coffee! It was a perfect relaxing get-a-way, thanks to the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Auberge doesn't need my recommendation; see all the wonderful previous reviews. If you stay here you will be spoiled for b&b experiences in future. They just have all the details right. We had the Sancerre room in the Carriage House. Even if you don't stay in the Carriage House, go sit in the common room upstairs and marvel at your panoramic view of the serene vineyards and rolling hills beyond. Our room had a tv glitch and they gave us a bottle of wine for recompense; no need to do so, but they are just that gracious. Good value for the money; you can get deals if you look. Cloverdale is sleepy town, but so much to do in the area. Grounds are just lovely. They have it going on. Just book it and thank me later.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Auberge on the Vineyard a couple of weeks ago and had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and the bathroom was huge. Roxanne's breakfast was to die for. A three course gourmet breakfast every morning plus great coffee! We followed all the tips Roxanne gave us and had a fantastic time even though it rained one whole day and cloudy the rest of the time. Roxanne was absolutely understanding when we had to change our reservation and even upgraded our room when we arrived. We felt like we had made a friend and definitely will be back very soon.
Don't miss Tuesday night dinner at the Coppola Winery. Food was good and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyholzhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
14.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
8.2 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
14.9 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Old Crocker Inn
Old Crocker Inn
#3 of 5 in Cloverdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Highlands Estate
The Highlands Estate
#2 of 5 in Cloverdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kelley & Young Wine Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge on the Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge on the Vineyard

Property: Auberge on the Vineyard
Address: 29955 River Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425-3510 (Formerly The Shelford House)
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge on the Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge on the Vineyard enjoys unsurpassed views of Alexander Valley Vineyards. Situated at the confluence of Dry Creek, Alexander and Anderson Valleys, there are hundreds of artisan wineries to visit in the area! Our guests receive a wine tasting and discount pass, accepted at more than 100 area wineries and good for free tastings. Also included is our "almost famous" three course French inspired breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Auberge on the Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge On The Vineyard Hotel Cloverdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing