We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge on the Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 4 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Auberge on the Vineyard last week for our 15th wedding anniversary. The 3 course breakfasts were amazing! The ladies who took care of us were so pleasant and you could tell they enjoyed their jobs. It was a nice escape from the busy day to day we are used to. We enjoyed visiting wineries in both Napa and Sonoma from this location. Only negative was the street traffic of the harvest vehicles early in the morning. We enjoyed walking the vineyard and area around the property before breakfast each morning. Would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BaseballFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Everything about our recent stay was a pleasant surprise! From the moment we spotted the Inn at the top of a knoll overlooking the vineyards of Alexander Valley, we knew we were in for a treat. We had our doubts about Cloverdale at first but could not find anything with our price point that we liked in Healdsburg. This town was just minutes from all of the wineries and restaurants and felt like we had gone deep into the country for our overnight. We actually had a delicious and relaxed dinner in town at Piacere and were back in our spacious room in less than 5 minutes. The touches of a Keurig maker in the room and complimentary soda and water in the kitchenette were a nice surprise when we realized we had forgotten to stop at the store. But the best part was breakfast. We are usually not big eaters in the morning but could not help ourselves. We oohed and aahed with the other guests through all three courses and did not eat again until dinner that day. What a treat! We'll be back. Maybe even to steal away another cozy night this winter.

Room Tip: Suites with a view are worth the extra coin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanneatAuberge, Owner at Auberge on the Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

High praise from these guests, who live in Napa, and are both food and wine connoisseurs. Hubby is the Food and Beverage manager for a private club, too! Whenever a chef stays here, I always worry about the food a little bit more than usual..... I do not have professional culinary training, but I have been in the kitchen whipping up yummy stuff since I was 5 years old. No kidding--I was 5 when mommy set a stool by the counter for me to stand on and she taught me how to cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were unexpectedly in Sonoma. While I wanted to stay near Healdsburg, every place I called was full. Knowing Cloverdale was close by, I called Auberge on the Vineyard. The owner was very helpful in recommending a room. What we loved: the people staying there, the peace and quiet, the views for the porch, dessert for breakfast, the warmth of the staff. What we did not: room backed on to a fairly busy road considering it was out in the country, staff not too informed about the area. The owner was not there. I think they are working very hard to give people a laid back experience in the wine country.

Room Tip: Ask if the room is close to the back road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This charming place was mostly as we hoped and as advertised. A lovely old Victorian house (with additions rooms in a separate carriage house), it provided a wonderful "base camp" for an extended weekend in wine country. Every evening we would sit on the deck with a bottle of whatever we liked best that day and that day's cookies de jour and watch the sun set over the eponymous vineyard.

The three-course breakfasts were outstanding, if more abundant than some of our party was used to! Bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and well apportioned, with amenities including robes, hair dryers, ironing boards, and toiletries. A small park with a multi-use trail along the nearby Russian River was a welcome find, giving us an opportunity to run a few miles to work off some of the calories we consumed.

The only things keeping us from a five star rating were a couple of unexpected disappointments. The first was that the inn, despite its spectacular views in one direction, is located on a corner of a merging of two highly traveled roads that until late in the evening were rather noisy. Our room in particular (Lorraine) was right on top of this corner. This made for a less than restful afternoon nap considering that we were off the trail and out of the towns. We found no other mention of this in any other reviews. But we were not the only guests to notice this, it was a topic at breakfast.
A second disappointment was that the innkeeper informed us upon our arrival that she was to be gone for the duration of our stay. Now we certainly understand the proprietor cannot be on site 24-7 but in other stays at B&Bs if a host was to be unavailable there would always be a point of contact in their place. We were not introduced to any staff that might be of assistance for local information, touring advice or emergency. The wonderful ladies who prepared breakfast were lovely and hospitable but did not seem to substitute as host in the way one would hope to have at a B&B of this quality.
Lastly, and this may not be a deal breaker for most travelers attempting to get away from it all, the four members of our party struggled to get reliable internet service.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank JRivera127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanneatAuberge, Owner at Auberge on the Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

I'm happy that this reviewer enjoyed their stay at Auberge on the Vineyard, but sorry to hear that the visit was a bit marred by my absence. I'm not sure this reviewer considered the challenges of owning and operate a small business such as this. We are open 365 days a year, and we have only 7 rooms. As such, we can certainly not afford to hire a concierge to take over my duties during those rare moments when I am able to get off property.

Thankfully we have a fabulous staff (albeit small) here, and things typically run very smoothly when I am away. We have plenty of resources available to guests who would like some ideas about places to visit in the area. In addition to our website which offers an "Attractions" page with hundreds of links to wineries, restaurants, and such in the area, we also include information on our local favorites at check-in, together with our tasting pass and area map. This is precisely the same information that I provide to guests when queried about area restaurants and attractions.

Sadly, our internet service has been a bit problematic of late, due to the fact that, once again, a guest has absonded with our expander. And, once again, I've had to hire a computer consultant to come back out to the inn to replace the stolen equipment. Had the expander been in place, the internet service would have functioned much better. And, while the "buck stops here" so to speak, and the two issues of mentioned in this review are ultimately my responsibility, I WILL be taking vacations from time to time and someone WILL probably come along and rip off another expander. I can live with that and I hope you, the reader, can too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights to celebrate a big wedding anniversary. It could not have been better. Food was incredible! The staff is very attentive and helpful. There are more wineries in the area than you could possibly visit in a month, the town of Cloverdale is adorable. It is also close enough to the coast to have a great day trip to the pacific coast. The owner, Roxanne is absolutely wonderful. We stayed in the Hermitage room which is a large room with a very large attached bathroom. The room has a large set of windows that run almost the length of the room so when the weather is nice you can have the fresh air circulate through the room. We would stay there again and will highly recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This magnificent B&B is truly located in the midst of the Alexander Valley vineyards. The owner, Roxanne, was absolutely lovely. The entire staff was very helpful, polite and truly concerned about the guests comfort. The breakfasts were an absolute treat, and they go out of their way to concern themselves with dietary restrictions of each guest. As quiet and peaceful as the vineyard setting is, it is still close enough to enjoy several tastings/vineyard visits each day. Also spent one day driving over the mountain to the breathtaking pacific coast line (A great daytrip to break up all of the wine tasting!!). Highly recommend this property!!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, chose to stay toward the back of the house or the carriage house, the He...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid-September. The location is a wonderful blend of "out of the way" and "easy access to everything". We initially feared we would be too far north for convenient travels but discovered this was the ideal location to explore the Sonoma area. We stayed in the Hermitage room and found it to be larger than we expected. The attached bathroom was quite roomy as well. Very comfortable room all around. The breakfasts were AMAZING. Each was unique yet equally delicious. We had to leave earlier than normal breakfast time on the day of our departure and Roxanne was kind enough to fix us something early so we could eat before our flight home. She made us feel like family and we will definitely stay with her again on future trips to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
8.2 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cloverdale Wine Country Inn & Suites
9.9 mi away
Vineyard Valley Inn
Vineyard Valley Inn
#2 of 4 in Cloverdale
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Kelley & Young Wine Garden Inn
7.5 mi away
The Highlands Estate
The Highlands Estate
#3 of 4 in Cloverdale
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge on the Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge on the Vineyard

Address: 29955 River Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425-3510 (Formerly The Shelford House)
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range: £132 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge on the Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge on the Vineyard enjoys unsurpassed views of Alexander Valley Vineyards. Situated at the confluence of Dry Creek, Alexander and Anderson Valleys, there are hundreds of artisan wineries to visit in the area! Our guests receive a wine tasting and discount pass, accepted at more than 100 area wineries and good for free tastings. Also included is our "almost famous" three course French inspired breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge on the Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge On The Vineyard Hotel Cloverdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing