We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The experience you want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge on the Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 4 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The experience you want”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed for an evening and were very impressed. Very friendly, upbeat, helpful, nice, clean....I could go on with the the compliments, but you get the point. Our stay was awesome. This is the experience you want from a B&B. Quiet, friendly, comfortable. We stayed another night at a more expensive place in Cloverdale that gets great reviews and we much preferred Auberge. Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SethT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Auberge on the Vineyard, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Thanks for the outstanding kudos, and we had a great time with this couple! I even think we shared some of our picnic lunch with them as we were taking a group of people out wine tasting, and had planned a luncheon at Hanna Winery. This guest gave us a call after they had stayed another night at a different bed and breakfast. It was located in Healdsburg though, not Cloverdale, and I just wanted to make sure that our fellow b&b's in Cloverdale were not inadvertantly slighted. There's just a few of us, and we have to take care of each other!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    60
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
326
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Beautiful B&B. Located in the middle of a vineyard and close to many attractions. Emily was a wonderful hostess, the breakfasts were fabulous, and the rooms were very clean and charming. There was road noise but I wore ear plugs to help the situation. There was no air conditioning in the Sarah room so it might be a little warm in the middle of summer.

Emily helped suggest places to eat and had wine tasting cards available for use. She did an excellent job of advising us which wineries to visit.

The only thing I was disappointed in was there was a three day special for Memorial Day and in negotiating prices we were not offered the special.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenecaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Auberge on the Vineyard, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
We're so sorry that we hadn't had the opportunity to install the new air conditioner we purchased for this guest room. Our nights are quite cool (great for the vineyards), and our country air is wonderful but one can hear the occasional car that goes by when the windows of this particular guest room are open. Our sincerest apologies to this guest!

As for the discount on rooms that this guest did not receive, we do discount our available rooms if we are not sold out by the weekend, which is a standard practice in the travel industry. Holiday weekends are usually completely sold out though, and it would be a shame to miss out on our vineyard views!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2010

If you are looking for a quick getaway and want to enjoy a great B & B, stay at Auberge on the Vineyard. The location is fantastic and off the beaten track, just a few minutes from Geyserville and surrounded by the absolutely best boutique wineries in Alexander Valley. The staff is attentive and sweet and will arrange a day of wine tasting for you or any other activity your heart desires. They had mapped out wonderful wineries for us to visit and everywhere we went tastings were comped, the back roads were incredible and wines were even better. The property is well maintained, with a cozy feel and a great breakfast to start you day off in their newly renovated dining room. The grounds are pristine with wonderful views of Alexander Valley vineyards from your room. The rooms range from a one bedroom queen size bed to a fabulous suite for a larger group with wonderful pieces of antique furniture which can be purchased! We highly recommend Auberge on the Vineyard if your looking for a relaxing, clean, cozy place to lay your head and enjoy the "Million Dollar View" and fabulous staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sramirezkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, MA
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We were pleased with the large, newly redecorated room, and the beautiful views across the expansive vineyards (where wild turkeys strolled under our balcony). Our hostess gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner in town. After a solid night's rest, we were treated to one of the best breakfasts I can remember. OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goneshrooming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Upon arrival we felt more as if we were staying at a kind relative's house, rather than a stranger's. We were welcomed and made to feel right at home--like we'd know Anna for years. She gave us fantastic advise on which wineries, restaurants, and local attractions to visit, complete with maps and coupons! The breakfast and dessert Anna made was simply delicious. The house was clean and charming. The only negative, was that the mattress wasn't super comfortable, and the traffic at the corner was a bit noisy. The house doesn't have air conditioning, so we were a bit hot at night, but she said it was unusually hot that particular weekend. All in all it was a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stanna, Owner at Auberge on the Vineyard, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Great review...except for the comment about no air conditioning. All rooms and common areas have AC, it was 106 the days they were here, and with all the guests coming and going, I am sure some of the rooms were a little warm. The best part of the hot season is the evenings, when the temperature drops 30-40 degress!! That makes the hot days worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

When we booked the Shelford House, it was like throwing the dice. We had never been to the Napa/Sonoma region. We had a few recommendations from friends, but most of the recommendations were quite pricey. We stumbled on the Shelford House while searching the internet and based on the reviews decided to give it a chance. We were not disappointed. It is charming and not pretentious. Our hosts, Anna and Stan, were helpful, cheerful, and accomodating. They gave tremendous recommendations on local wineries and eateries (places to visit, as well as places to avoid) . . . they were unerringly accurate . . . and ultimately the money we saved by staying at the Shelford House, helped offset our wine purchases :).

And, before I forget the most important part, let me just say that the food was simply amazing. We have stayed at many B&B's across the country and have NEVER had food this good. Anna definitely knows her way around the kitchen. You won't be served basic sausage and eggs at the Shelford House. Every meal was exceptional; however, if you're lucky enough to visit on a day when Anna is serving her Blueberry Stuffed French Toast, you may never be happy with sausage and eggs again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazzled1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bay, CA
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2009

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary and had a great time. It's for those who like the secluded countryside setting but enough nearby for a nice getaway. There are restaurants and wineries around the area and that kept us busy for the weekend! A very relaxing, cozy place with hospitable innkeepers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILikeSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
14.6 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
8.2 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cloverdale Wine Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Vineyard Valley Inn
Vineyard Valley Inn
#2 of 4 in Cloverdale
33 reviews
14.9 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
24.5 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge on the Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge on the Vineyard

Property: Auberge on the Vineyard
Address: 29955 River Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425-3510 (Formerly The Shelford House)
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge on the Vineyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge on the Vineyard enjoys unsurpassed views of Alexander Valley Vineyards. Situated at the confluence of Dry Creek, Alexander and Anderson Valleys, there are hundreds of artisan wineries to visit in the area! Our guests receive a wine tasting and discount pass, accepted at more than 100 area wineries and good for free tastings. Also included is our "almost famous" three course French inspired breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge on the Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge On The Vineyard Hotel Cloverdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing