We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping with beautiful views and nature sounds..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cloverdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloverdale KOA Camping Resort
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We came here to celebrate the end of school/beginning of summer break with 2 families. We were tent camping and had a spacious site with plenty of room for our 2 cars and dog. Beautiful, large oak trees provided plenty of shade. The children in our group ranged in age from 14-4 and everyone had fun all weekend long. The older kids loved the game room, the younger loved the playground and outdoor movies. We all enjoyed the pool and hot tub. They provided paddle boat races on Saturday with free sno-cones afterwards which was a big hit! Bathrooms are clean and showers are free; they also have laundry facilities. This is a fun camping destination especially for families with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tropigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We wanted to camp in Sonoma wine country Memorial Weekend, and were lucky to get a site in this KOA for $45. per night. Pamela at the front desk was very friendly checking us in. When we got to our site, we realized there was no picnic table; I called Pamela, and one was brought to us within 5 minutes by two more friendly guys that work there. The tent sites vary; some have beautiful views, others just campground views, but it's a great place to walk around. Restrooms were clean, with hot showers and plenty of hooks to hang towels etc. The mini golf course was closed, and I don't know if the cafe ever opened. People took advantage of the catch and release pond, and I saw a few paddle boats there.

The place was packed, mostly with families and tons of kids with bikes. And, lots of dogs. Everyone was happy and having a good time. The campground noise generally died down between 9 and 10PM, and where we were, everyone was friendly and respectful of each other. The only thing that bothered me was a rooster on an adjacent property; that darn thing started crowing about 5 every morning! That aside, we would return.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank eos_domestic_goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We just returned from a two day stay here over the new year. I have to say the staff were extremely helpful and polite, the cabin excellent, and the prices reasonable.

The drive to the site can be quite fun, especially at night, but as long as you trust Google Maps you will find it with no trouble at all.

I'm hoping to go back there again soon.

Room Tip: The woodpecker cabin has a fantastic view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul-s-hemmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We did one of the deluxe lodges. For the price, it was way overpriced. Compared to the Petaluma KOA, they didn't provide linens, no cook top in the lodge. No one came by to clean up the fire pit. Very limited activies for the kids. The paddle boats could have been cleaned up. The billiard tables, ping pong tables were closed. The Miniature golf course could use a good cleaning, and looked very run down. The Wi-Fi is only free for the 1st hour....otherwise you have to pay. Don't get me wrong, if you don't mind camping in a tent, no activies for the kids, and no one working the camp ground this is the place for you... Petaluma is a much better KOA...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlmfrog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary, and decided to tent camp here. The camp ground is set pretty far back from the freeway, which is nice since it's quite. The down side I found to this campsite, were the tent spaces. The spot I stayed at, which was immediately to the left as you enter, are right on top of each other. The site measured about 15ft x 40ft, and were right next to each other, with no privacy. We unfortunately had some really loud neighbors, which really ruined this stay, seeing as they we so close. I can't speak for the RV sites, and the amenities were quite good. I don't think I would tent camp here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank shadymilkman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

we took a last minute trip up the road to the KOA for 4th of July weekend- the place was clean, and even though it was full, did not feel crowded. The kids loved everything and we felt safe letting them explore on their own. Loved the store and the people couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed at this KOA location on a weekday in October and virtually had the place to ourselves. It was easy to find from the 101 and the drive in was pretty, with vineyards dotting the road. The actual campground where the cabins were located had a small pond with a few ducks, very noisy birds and small trees throughout the grounds. The area that contained the much more expensive "Lodges" (slightly larger than the cabins and with a bathroom) did have a great view of the valley and was much more quiet and peaceful. After seeing the section of the grounds with the lodges and realizing that the entire campgrounds was empty, we asked about upgrading to a lodge, but unfortunately there was no off-season discount offered so we stayed put.

This was our first stay at a KOA campground and were excited to read the list of activities on the website. The price for a 1 room "kabin" was fairly steep at $86, this included one double bed and a bunk bed all with plastic coated matresses, no linens, bathroom or amenities. The bathroom was a short walk down a gravel road. We thought the $86 would be worth it for the list of activities that were available for kids such as ping pong, paddle boats, mini golf, a pool table and more. What the website did not tell us was that the pool table was out of order, the ping pong table was missing paddles and balls, the mini golf course was covered in too much debris to be able to actually use it and the paddle boats were not available. We did see on the website that the pool would be closed for the season so that was not a surprise. To the manager/owner's credit, she was very pleasant and did not charge us for playing mini golf, it is normally $5 per person.

The biggest disappointment for me was that the website advertised that the campgrounds had a cafe with waffles, hot chocolate, lattes etc. for the morning. We planned on enjoying all of this for breakfast only to discover that the cafe was only open on Sat. and Sun. Really wish the website had mentioned this, as we didn't pack breakfast. Yes, we should have called to double check, but we were still disappointed. We ended up leaving immediately in the morning so we could get breakfast for our daughter.

All in all, I feel like the nightly rate should be reduced in the off season since many of the activities/amenities were unavailable. We will stick to staying in state parks and private campgrounds from now on where prices are a bit more affordable, the surroundings are less man-made and we won't get our hearts set on activities that not available. Not a bad experience, just not for us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank junebug237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cloverdale hotels
8 mi away
Vineyard Valley Inn
Vineyard Valley Inn
#2 of 4 in Cloverdale
36 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Cloverdale
Super 8 Cloverdale
#1 of 4 in Cloverdale
194 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cloverdale Wine Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kelley & Young Wine Garden Inn
0.3 mi away
Old Crocker Inn
Old Crocker Inn
#2 of 3 in Cloverdale
328 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Highlands Estate
The Highlands Estate
#3 of 3 in Cloverdale
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloverdale KOA Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloverdale KOA Camping Resort

Address: 1166 Asti Ridge Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425-7001
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cloverdale
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Cloverdale Koa Camping Hotel Cloverdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing