We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, homey, comfy B&B”

The Baker House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coalinga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Baker House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Coalinga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed there during my daughters interview at Coalinga State Hospital and so glad we found it instead of having to stay at the other low end hotels in the area. Breakfast was great. It felt like almost being at home. Price is great as well. Would defiantly stay there again, if in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mscscala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you want a wonderful night's sleep and an amazing breakfast - this is the right stop! Comfortable, clean and affordable. Be sure to ask how the house got to its current location - an amazing story. Absolutely worth getting off the interstate. If you are just passing through or visiting family or friends be sure to take the time to visit the Baker Museum.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacque D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were crossing over to the 101 from the 5 to head north on our road trip and saw this little B&B listed on TripAdvisor. The only other options were aweful looking motor lodges charging fairly high rates for such a dodgey location. We called The Baker House at 10pm and they welcomed us over. Kim greeted us at the door and was extremely kind and accommodating. The old house has SO much charm and couldn't be more cozy. We slept well in the comfortable bed. The space is very well kept and full of antiques - which created an "experience" for the evening rather than simply finding a bed to sleep in. Breakfast was plentiful and Kim graciously answered all our questions and explained the history of the home. The Baker House is truly a gem and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anandasayanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This B&B does not have to advertise. It's a beautiful California bungalow built by R.C. Baker. The location is just perfect for any trip you might make to this part of the valley. You will be welcomed by Susie and treated like family. She will make the breakfast of your dreams, help you with information, and do everything to make you comfortable.
You will be within walking distance of West Valley Community College, restaurants, and parks.
Our stay there was a delight.

Room Tip: This B&B has a shared bathroom for second floor rooms. Get to know the other guests and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KateMoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We were lucky to find this b&b. Great place to stay! Very hard to find on the Internet.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patmyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a fabulous find in Coalinga. The house is very well appointed, and the ambience is wonderfully warm and welcoming. From the moment i stepped in, I felt as though I had come back to my childhood home. It felt oddly familiar, but what a terrific feeling when one is tired from traveling!

The room was a good size, bed was comfortable and the small touches of home, such as an eclectic assortment of books and trinkets, was comforting and surprising. Others in the house made interesting dinner companions, and nobody imposed on another's space or time. It just felt like a remarkably comfortable and familiar home ... which, after all, is the ideal when one is traveling, yes? Looking for that "home away from home" feel.

The staff were helpful and accommodating without being overwhelming. The owner's son even helped me wash my car.

As a woman who often travels solo, feeling safe is particularly important to me. That was certainly the case at the Baker House.

The meals served there were first rate: real home-style cooking, and very well done. To top everything off, the cost per night was very reasonable.

The Baker House is an outstanding place to stay. I will return should my business take me back through central California.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Stopped here overnight to break up the drive to NoCAL from Pasadena. The B&B was nice and clean. The lady running was very nice and helpful. Dinner is also available since regular guests are Drs and nurses who come and work and the nearby prison and mental hospital. It's more like an old style rooming house. Not exactly a destination resort. The place is not to far from the 5 freeway (10 minutes?) but it can be tough to find and night. The breakfast was not gourmet but was edible and their was plenty of food. There is not much else around and so i would recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harrison71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalinga
10.4 mi away
Harris Ranch Inn
Harris Ranch Inn
#1 of 7 in Coalinga
484 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Big Country Inn
25.0 mi away
Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Laura Lodge
Laura Lodge
#4 of 7 in Coalinga
13 reviews
10.1 mi away
Motel 6 Coalinga East
Motel 6 Coalinga East
#3 of 7 in Coalinga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baker House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baker House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 190 Mountain View Pl, Coalinga, CA 93210-1477
Region: United States > California > Coalinga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Coalinga
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Baker House Bed And Breakfast
The Baker House Hotel Coalinga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing