We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but with a few small issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice but with a few small issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

A nice property on a hill with nice views. There is nothing else "next door" so stop at Oakhurst or at the Valero gas station if you need a six pack or cigs. We arrived a little before check in, there was a line already but there were four people working so it moved quickly.
We were in the newer Picayune Tower. You do not have to trek through the casino to get to this tower. There is a nice little seating area with big windows near the elevator for this tower and a small arcade. It's a straight shot from here down to the pool. We did not go in the pool but it looked pretty nice, though smaller than it appears in the photos. The indoor and outdoor pool are connected and there is a bar by the outside pool.
Our room on the sixth floor was nice, with a flat screen TV, fridge, internet access and a small safe. The bed was soft but the pillows were thin.
Small things that annoy me: the nasty looking brown spot on the wall behind the bathroom door which looked a lot like mildew, only one hand towel, a bathmat with a rusty brown look to it, and no hook on the back of the bathroom door.
More than a little negative: typical wimpy shower pressure and a sad little list of available TV channels. We did rent a movie ($ 15.99-ouch!) but it was a less than satisfactory experience due to the variable connection. We experienced a blurry line and annoying sound from time to time. I mentioned this at checkout and the response was "well, we are on a hill"
We were also told that this experience is pretty common if lot of people are watching movies at the same time.
Some positives: the heavy duty curtains that allow you to sleep in, the little shelf with outlet for charging your phone and other necessities, outlets by each bed (great for CPAP users) and the lack of noise from the adjoining rooms and hallway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SitkaRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    112
    70
    26
    32
See reviews for
113
138
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have been to hotels all around the U.S.A. and never heard of such a pool policy.When you go to the pool you will be greeted by The pool guard who will not let you pass her untill you go take a shower.What? Do I stink? Usually people shower after to get the CL2 off .Most people like to sun for a while before getting in the cool water.We like to swim at casinos for a while, to save some money from gambling .It was a nice casino and room ,the new tower..But the pool policy ruined it.We shall not return .But if you do not like to swim it was a nice hotel between Fresno and Yosemite.

Room Tip: The new tower was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harleybonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed here a couple nights while visiting Yosemite. It was high season so all the hotels closer in were booked up, and the drive to Fresno just seemed too long. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms (we were in the new tower which was a little extra). There was plenty of room for a family with 2 kids (we had two beds). The bathroom was a nice size and the room had a small fridge as well.

As mentioned by others, great, large pool with both an indoor and outdoor section plus hot tubs in both areas. Perfect after a day of hiking! We liked that there was a person on duty keeping it neat. Also has an attached spa which we didn't use and a good sized exercise room thats open 24/7. We didn't eat in any of the restaurants on site. Oakhurst is on the way back from the park and has many dining options. Took us about 30-40 to get to the south gate of the park, but getting to the valley took another hour from the south gate.

The only negative I should mention is the walk through the casino to get to the elevators. The stale smoke is perhaps not the most family friendly atmosphere (nor is the sight of people at the slot machines at 7am). But, we had no problems in the room and it was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jumesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I will review though I truly can't give a very thorough review since it was a quick one night stay on our way in to Yosemite. The staff was friendly - particularly the valet. We were in the newer tower at the property - it was clean and the beds were comfy. We went into the casino for a bit but I don't typically gamble and hate cigarette smoke so I didn't stay long. For a casino it seemed clean however and again the staff friendly. If I had more time I would have tried a few of the restaurants as they do have a wide variety and also would have liked to check out the spa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I have stayed here many times and usually find it to be a fun and enjoyable experience. There are some issues that should be addressed by the resort. One of the most irritating things is that they have sheets that do not fit the bed. Often the sheets are pulled out and end up in a ball in the middle of the bed and you are on the mattress. Gross! The service in the casino is the worst. I was playing a slot machine and the lady next to me asked the slot attendant to call for cocktails because no one had been by in quite sometime. She waited at least 20 minutes and still no one came so she asked again and again no one ever came. After waiting for over a 1/2 hour she gave up and went and got her own drink at the bar. this often happens. If you need change forget it you could die at your machine before you get any help ( and maybe not even then).
The food is only OK in most of the restaurants. the exception being the steak house. It is outstanding. It is expensive but if you can afford it be sure to go. It is fantastic.
Now to give you the good comments. the rooms are an average size. If you can be sure to stay in the new tower the rooms are nicer there. They have flat screened TVs and a better layout. The pool is small but nice and there is a workout room that is fairly well equipped. the spa is nice and the prices are not bad. the casino is small but fun and be sure to become a club member and you will get all kinds of freebees. We go often and we are not what I call highrollers but our rooms are comped and many of our meals are comped or covered by the points we earn on our club cards.
All in all it is a nice place to stay and a great location. Just 45 minutes from Yosemite. there are also great wineries in the area and a ton of thing to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mombmw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
370 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Just returned from Chukchansi. I go here every couple of months because I get comped rooms with casino play. The hotel is very nice, with premium finishes everywhere. Refrigerators, safes, and coffee makers are included. I prefer the Chukchansi Tower to the newer Picayune Tower because the beds are softer. The hotel includes an indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool spas, free cabanas, a day spa, etc. There are also several restaurants and bars. We ate two meals at Goldfields Restaurant which was offering a $7.77 Prime Rib Special. This morning we had the buffet for an early lunch. Very nice! We bring our own alcohol...just be discreet!
I didn't have any luck in the casino. but two out of four of us came out ahead. Our second day was spent at Bass Lake which is about 20 minutes away. We swam, had a picnic lunch and enjoyed the natural beauty. (Also a number of bikini beauties)!
At the casino, we talked to several Europeans who said that this is the recommended place for them to stay while visiting Yosemite. (The gates are about 30 minutes away).
I highly recommend this hotel. Be sure to sign up for a player's club card!

Room Tip: Ask for a valley or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

This was my first time here. I don't gamble but we were on our way to Yosemite and decided to stay here instead of in Fresno. My parents could go to the casino and it makes the drive to Yosemite a little shorter especially with young kids in the car. The room was a nice size and very quiet. We went swimming and the pool was very large with an indoor connected to an outdoor section. There is also a small jacuzzi next to the indoor pool. Even though it had been raining the day before, the water was still very warm and there was only one other family swimming. For breakfast, we went to the buffet. Since it was Sunday, there was Champagne brunch offered. There was a wide variety of food - pizza/pasta, made to order omelets, chinese food, fresh fruits, baked goods, tri-tip, breakfast items like bacon, sausage, and desserts. Everyone found something to eat and was sat by the large windows with a great view of the mountains. This is definitely a good alternative if you don't want to stay in Fresno when planning on going further north and want both adult and kid entertainment at one location.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room in the new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coarsegold
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
9.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
18.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
10.8 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino

Property: Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
Address: 711 Lucky Ln, Coarsegold, CA 93614-8206
Region: United States > California > Coarsegold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chukchansi Gold Hotel Coarsegold
Chukchansi Gold Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing