We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colfax Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colfax
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colfax Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

I chose this motel for a quick overnight stay on my way to Reno. I was going to arrive fairly late and called ahead. I was glad I did, because by the time I arrived (around 8pm on a Thursday night) all of the rooms were sold out.

The parking lot is tight, but there were enough spaces for all of the rooms. There may have been more parking behind the hotel, but since I didn't have our cargo trailer on this trip I didn't ask.

The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The rooms back up to the highway, but I was not bothered by the occasional noise of the traffic. I was traveling alone and made sure to be aware of my surroundings, but I found the area to be quiet and safe.

Although I didn't eat in Colfax, there were several restaurant options nearby including a McDonalds Restaurant across the street from the motel.

I would highly recommend the property as a great option when traveling to or through the Colfax area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CAHeadHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

This 18-room motel sits right next to the freeway, so it's easy to find, but there is (of course) some traffic noise. The (new) windows block most of it, and when we ran the air conditioner, we hardly heard the traffic at all. Beyond that, the rooms are spotless and well maintained, the staff nice, the grounds cute, and the location is great. Right across the street is Colfax Max, with great burgers and shakes, as well as a grocery store, and there is a local coffee place (Buzz Through Joe's) and a Starbuck's within a block. What more could one want? (Actually, I would have wished for a ceiling fan in addition to the A/C, but we were there in August and it was hot.)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InRenoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I've stayed in the Colfax Motor Lodge on many occasions. The motel has been remodeled in recent years. The rooms are modest and clean. Because the motel is right next to the freeway the truck noise could bother some people. When I stay there I run the air conditioner and it doesn't bother me. If you are on your way up to the Sierras and have passed Auburn this is the only place to stay until you reach Truckee which is a one hour drive. The grounds around the motel are very well maintained (flowers, grass, tables). There is a restaurant next door and a grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a night at the Colfax Motor Lodge a few months after the new folks took over. When we found that the TV remote for our room was dead, they replaced the battery instantly. Room was nice, if a little old-fashioned (sink outside the bathroom next to the front door). The lodge is a few blocks from the business district, with several local and chain restaurants within a block.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hotel is totally worth it for the price. Clean was room. Restroom was clean. Couldn't ask more for so less

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kappsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colfax, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This motel is one of the best I have ever been to. The manager and staff are small town friendly with a big heart. Their kindness knows no limit. The environmentally friendly owners have had solar panels installed on a large portion of the roof, providing electricity to the motel. The rooms are very clean. The maids are friendly and helpful. The porch and parking lot are warmly light and there is additional parking in the rear that could fit four to five R.V.'s or tractor trailers. Yes it's close to the highway and the vehicles can be heard sometimes but there are double pane windows that keep most of the noise out and very comfortable beds that are firm but feel like your sleeping on a clould. The two things I had a hard time with at first were that there are no phones or microwave ovens in the room. There is a fridgerator and coffeemaker, television/dvd combo. This has come to be a joy.The resturaunt is only a hundred feet away and the supermarket is twice that in the mall across the street. Along with a Taco bell and a pizza pace and also a burger joint. There's a Starbucks and a drive thur breakfest and coffee place. All within two hundred feet, you can't beat that. Unless you want to stay at the six, like this other reviewer did( lildorkfish1) and get bed bugs(lice) and pay twenty dollars less and drive twenty miles more. And most of those motels, like most motels are next to the highway and you can hear the traffic. The rates seem flexable depending on the time of the year and occupency.

Room Tip: Only stayed in room 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gold101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I'm there all the time i love the place what's not to love

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmkehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfax
12.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
13.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sierra Sun Cloud Inn
Sierra Sun Cloud Inn
#1 of 1 in Colfax
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colfax Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colfax Motor Lodge

Property: Colfax Motor Lodge
Address: 550 S Auburn St, Colfax, CA 95713-9038
Region: United States > California > Colfax
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, friendly, clean establishment. Recently renovated rooms, each one unique. Restaurants, fast food, coffee shops and grocery store within steps. Historic rail town, antique shops, ski resorts, Rollins Lake, boating, fishing, hiking and biking trails, golf, river rafting and more within minutes. In-room refrigerator, coffee pot, TV/DVD. Free cable and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colfax Motor Hotel Colfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing