We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Osyth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MUST READ”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just returned (a day early) after a weeks stay here. I have never been so disappointed with a holiday in my life!

I was apprehensive at first as the saying goes "you get what you pay for!"

Site and Caravan:

Our caravan was basic/small it wasn't clean at all (there was a dirty nappy under the caravan when we arrived). We had to go buy cleaning materials as soon as we arrived as all the plates etc were dirty. We were only provided with one pedal bin bag to last the week that would have been fine if we could empty the bins but the outside bins were over flowing with fresh produce on the floor. A window was broken in the caravan which we reported but wasn't fixed. Every where you went there was dog mess on the floor (even by the children's play area). The park was small but the children enjoyed it. The pool was nice for the children as it was only 1.2m deep so we didn't have to worry about them so much however there was a slide there that only people able to swim could go on as they do not allow you to have your child on your lap or to catch them at the end which is a bit hard to explain to a young child that has been on many water slides with parents previously. There is an outdoor football/basketball court which we did not use but it is by the children's park. On more than one occasion there was a fight/offensive language coming from that direction which could be clearly seen/heard and nothing was done about it.

Dining:

We booked the flexi dining which for the price I would say was good value (you have to pay extra for certain items i.e. steak,ribs and drinks are not included). However the plates etc were not as clean as you would like them to be. Sometimes the amount of time you would have to wait for food would be long which is not great when you have young children and one morning there was only one member of staff taking orders, serving, cleaning doing it all!

Entertainment:

WHAT A JOKE!

To start of with the booklet had all the wrong times for entertainment.
If you like bingo you're fine there's plenty bingo to send you bingo mad!
The children's entertainment was short and in the words of my daughter "BORING". They would bring the mascot out for a short time either for a quick game or photo op and then you would be left with the presenter who couldn't pretend any harder that she likes kids (I think she in the wrong job!) one day they played a game that when the kids went out they had to sit with there parents until the next round. My daughter went out 10th and then sat for 15 minutes for the next round to be told that the first game went on to long and they weren't going to do another game. This was followed by 30 minutes of just music while the presenters focused on selling Bingo tickets instead of entertaining as their job description would suggest. The entertainment is so poor that when you go into the club house its like you've entered a ghost town.

Days out:

We had the most fun when we went off site. We enjoyed days out to Colchester zoo, Clacton beach and pier, Colchester castle and gardens and East Anglian Railway Museum. Its best if you can drive as there is nothing directly by the site all activities are at least a 10 minute drive away.

Overview:

I would never go back here and am dreading the "HOW WAS YOUR HOLIDAY" question from all the other mums back at school who of course had the times of there life.

DON'T GO HERE YOU DO NOT GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR TRUST ME!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinkOps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent holiday. If you had made reception aware you weren't happy with your accommodation on arrival, we would have been more than to have rectified the situation for you. Just to clarify the other issues mentioned, the swimming pool rules are set under Company Policy and follow safety guidelines. Our entertainment schedule has recently changed,
I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused and assure you that your comments regarding the content will be passed onto those concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    69
    46
    33
    55
See reviews for
206
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for four nights as a much needed break. We were a little apprehensive as had read a couple of not very complementary reviews. What a surprise! When we were greeted with welcoming friendly staff that all worked so hard to make our stay enjoyable. And what a bigger surprise when we decided to chance the evening entertainment. Being mid week, we were expecting the usual holiday park in-house rep show, but instead we're truly entertained by Ben & Emily, both of whom their talents are wasted if they only work the parks as both their singing voices & entertainment skills are superb. We'll done! Thoroughly enjoyable. The restaurant was clean although food & drink a little over priced and the caravan was clean and we'll stocked. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the park and I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and entertainment, which are greatly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a lovely first few days with my 4 children until the next door caravan guests arrived which were an absolute nightmare!! They ruined our holiday! Kept us up until 4am for the remainder days of our holiday, shouting and being very violent with no care for any of the other guests or residents that live there. Staff we're told about about this on a number of occasions yet nothing really was done apart from a security officer asking them to keep the noise down which they totally ignored. It's a massive shame because allowing people to stay that act like that give the resort a bad name, would of been a fab holiday if it hadn't been spoilt and more done by staff. Me and my children was petrified of what they might do. So be warned that if you choose to stay here you may get bad neighbours and not a lot will be done about it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelzy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear of the problems you experienced during your stay, but unfortunately we cannot be held responsible for some of our guests behaviour. We do consider the comfort and safety of all our guests as paramount and Security do their best to control the situation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A lovely small site positioned in a lovely area with plenty to do nearby and the walk along the sea front to Clacton manageable for most including those on a mobility scooter like myself. Van was great nice and clean. Shame the entertainment and restaurant did not live up to the 'park resorts' standards that we have previously experienced. Shambolic, poor, lukewarm and leaving you wanting more and not in a good way.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank taj58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear you were pleased with the location, access and accommodation provided, I can only apologise that you were disappointed with the entertainment provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in a two bedded caravan which was lovely and clean, excellently stocked and extremely comfortable. The site was quiet despite being full of families with plenty of children around but they appeared to have plenty to keep them occupied. We only ate in the restaurant once, which could have been better but the staff in the clubhouse made up for it, being friendly and polite. Not being one for evening entertainment, we decided to try risk it the first night and what a surprise we got. Fantastic young male vocalist, Ben Deaville was keeping everyone entertained with a superb cabaret....certainly not the standard that we expected to see and wasted on a holiday park! The second evening was a show and both Ben and a young lady called Emily were again on form and it was lovely to see the children sitting right up to the stage totally enthralled. Between the two of them, they kept the children entertained every evening and Ben showed a real comedy nature that the kids loved. The two of them never stopped working, chatting to all the guests and keeping everyone happy all night. Will definately return to this park and can thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at St Osyth Beach and would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the entertainment. These will be passed on accordingly.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The caravan was nice, but apart from that everything else was pretty poor. Pool times were 9-5, and they shut an hour for lunch!!!! Even the outdoor pool shut at 5, even thought we went on the hottest week of the year, temp reaching 35C! Everything was open 9-5, corner shop, reception, felt like I was back at home, if you went out for the day, you couldn't really do anything at the site in the evening, apart from sit in an un-air conditioned bar, even thought there were units, they went turned on. Poor for the price and what you can get at other sites. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your recent stay at the park. Your comments regarding opening times have been noted. We are currently addressing the situation regarding the heat in the clubhouse.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Had a rough start to the holiday due to the extremely bad wind but got there in the end. As we went by train we were very delayed so contacted the park who were very understating and allowed another family member to collect our keys. We arrived very late so didn't really check the caravan over. In the first day we had a maintenance man come round who was adding additional chains under all the caravans as a precaution due to the high winds. We checked round the caravan and had all items stated including a cloths horse, broom and ironing board. Heating was through out the caravan which was good and certainly needed at night. The cooker wasn't very clean so went to reception who couldn't be more apologetic and sent a cleaner round straight away and replaced the grill pan and also supplied us with a new can opener. Staff very nice and extremely helpful. Due to being October half term park wasn't completely full but daily activities for kids were put on on the club house as well as evening entertainment, bingo and disco. Club house quite small but cosy had a good size bar and food available in the evening with a small arcade next door. Has an indoor pool but was very cold but good size. Not enough changing facilities. With pass can access additional park which is about 10 minutes walk. Much bigger and more to do. Short walk to the beach and also arcades and parade of shops. We went for 4 nights and was enjoyable. Cheap and cheerful so you get what you pay for. Would go again but more inclined to go in the summer. Couldn't fault the staff and they did hold fun Halloween activities for the kids.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BirdMarg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay last year and found in good value for money. I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Osyth
2.6 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cabana Guest House
Cabana Guest House
#5 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Beach Road, St Osyth, Clacton-on-Sea CO16 8SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea > St Osyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in St Osyth
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Osyth Beach Holiday park near Clacton-on-Sea is just that little bit different. The large indoor heated swimming pool comes complete with a flume and a shallow area for younger children but never seems to be overcrowded. The entertainment venue has a real family feel to it and you're never far away from the stage for the live shows which feature at weekends and during the peak season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Osyth Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing