We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay but a few things need to be...”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning open plan lounge, dinning room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning open plan lounge, dinning room
Sofas to die for. You just dont want to leave Full size snooker table & games room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Stunning open plan lounge, dinning room
Sofas to die for. You just dont want to leave
Full size snooker table & games room
Christmas & New year with the family a real treat
Surrounded by beautiful countryside
Six foot king size bed with top of the range matteress. Beautiful vaulted ceiling
Full size Aga, dishwasher & all the appliances you could need. Denby table wear
Enough room for all the family. The true heart of the home
The bright and beautiful entrance hall
Bedroom hallway with door to courtyard & Hot Tub
Cosy family bathroom
Green room with twin beds
Blue room with view of garden & twin beds
Five foot bed in the comfortable purple room
Ensuite bathroom with victorian his & her sinks & roll top bath & power shower
View from garden patio
Front garden with patio seating
Drive way up to very private setting, Courtyard barn
Sunset from kitchen window
Miggy and Pilchard enjoying Holkham beach, remember you can bring your dogs too
Enjoying a drive in the beautiful countryside. Horses can be accomadated by special request
Jake & Vicky enjoying a local weekend event. Lots of Country shows on around & about
Barn Entrance.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Briston, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mollsterd...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay but a few things need to be done”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the Courtyard Barn for a hen weekend, all 10 of us. There was plenty of space for everyone, sofas were massive and there were loads of games there we could play. It was a novelty to cook on the aga which heated the kitchen lovely, a great centrepiece for the room. The bedding was clean, loads of hot running water and the bath in the en suite was the biggest bath I had ever seen! A very nice character barn conversion. There were a few things that we had a problem with, firstly no other toilet paper was supplied except for 1 extra roll so we had 4 rolls for 10 of us over a 3 night/4 day stay which wasn't enough. We were told they don't supply anymore rolls which I have never come across before and I have stayed at many holiday cottages but we weren't advised to bring any with us. I would rather pay £2 extra for the barn and get another 4 rolls! Another major problem was the amount of flies we had in there, we have never seen so many. We had planned to have a buffet one evening but we couldn't due to the amount of flies landing everywhere, they even crawled on you when you were sleeping. One of the party killed 18 flies which were in just the bathroom! One evening in the kitchen we killed 60 flies but within a few hours there were loads back again. In the sitting room on our last night we killed over 80 flies which we kept in a pile so the owners know we are telling the truth. We didn't have windows/doors open so they were not coming in that way, it is more than likely they were hatching inside the barn somewhere. I live in the country but I do not get invasions like this. It needed a thorough clean everywhere, we noticed part of a game under the sofa which we didn't get out and there were bits of food down the side of the aga and down the side of the fridge there was dried milk. Some of the external doors are locked with no key to open it like the one in the master bedroom. The door to the grass area outside is unlocked but with no key to lock it and the front door does not lock from the inside or the outside so if you go out you can't lock the door! We had to wedge the chair against the door at night to feel more at ease even though the owner said (when he was asked about the door not locking) we would be fine he has never known a break in but that isn't the point. Also if you go into the hot tub, which did smell like old fish tank water then do not shut that door behind you as you won't be able to get back in the house. We were appreciative of the 2 baskets of logs the owner gave us and it was nice to see how they renovated the barn, lots of pictures near utility room. Overall we all enjoyed ourselves and if the few issues above were sorted out it would be 10/10. We would certainly recommend the chef coming to cook and the pamper session.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, location and wood burner
Liked least: The lack of toilet rolls, flies and door locks
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Hi thank you for your comments which are being acted upon we have a lock smith booked to change the system to one key as so many of the keys have been taken ! So hope fully that will help , sorry about loo roll as a holiday cottage we have always supplied one roll per loo as most people bring there own sorry you where caught short I always have some spares if need but moment gone. The flies we had an issue with farmer muck spreading on field and not ploughing in straight away and with a very wet summer this causes a problem but that's living in country ! We are always looking to improve so thanks again glad you had a lovely stay Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Edmund...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family weekend fun”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

10 of us visited for a family holiday, grandparents wedding anniversary.

The house is really big and the 10 of us had loads of space. The house was cosy and warm even though it was big.

The location is very quite and with a hut tub, snooker room, etc there was plenty to keep us all occupied.

Not far from the beaches of North Norfolk. The owners let us take our pet dog which was nice.

Would highly recommend.

As for suggestions I would say take some extra bottled water. The water is from a borehole and safe but the taste is not for everyone, the owners do supply bottled water but it might not be something that you would otherwise have packed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
Thank you for your rewiew so glad you had a lovely weekend .north norfolk is a beautiful place to come and visit . Yes we do have a bore hole for water which does taste very different to city water but is very healthy for you and we do try to keep fridges stocked up with water for our guests just in case ,so thank you for that tip lovely to meet you all and hope you come again victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbie V
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend away!”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Courtyard barn is a wonderful place to stay for any occasion. We had a great weekend for my sisters hen party. Owners were very welcoming and helpful. It was the perfect place to spend the weekend. Excellent facilities. A beautiful house. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Thank you so much we are glad you had such a lovely time in a beautiful property ! Good luck with the wedding hope you all have a brilliant day .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwennethM...
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant venue for large group”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

10 friends went away for a long weekend. We found Courtyard Barn an ideal place to stay, clean, tidy and very cosy. On suite shower to die for. Would go back and wished we had stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you so much we are really glad you enjoyed your stay thank you for being such lovely guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
349richar...
Eaton Socon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Birthday/Easter Weekend”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We all had a brilliant stay in the barn, If your looking for peace and relaxation this is the place. Well equipped kitchen with aga, hot tub, full sized pool table and huge comfy sofas to snuggle into under a duvet after a few too many birthday drinks!!

Be prepared to go without your phone whilst here as there is no mobile signal and little WiFi coverage, not such a bad thing quite nice to just chill.

Holt is about 20mins away where you can catch an old steam train into Sheringham and Norwich was about 50mins for a good night out and lots of nice restaurants.

The owners Victoria and Richard were very nice and helpful, we would defiantly stay again.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size, Location and Hot Tub
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
after8
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A superb base to explore Norfolk”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is the perfect place to stay, relax and discover the lovely North Norfolk Coast . Courtyard Barn is easy to find by sat nav but is quite remote so don't go there expecting a stroll down to a village pub or a nip down to the shop. But that remoteness was for us a plus point.The barn is decorated,furnished and has facilities of the highest specifications and has plenty of room, there were 8 of us all adults and we were never under each other's feet. My wife and I had the master bedroom which was lovely. The bed was very comfortable , loads of wardrobe space and a huge en suite with a very powerful shower. There are no other en suite rooms but there are 2 other showers and all the rooms are large and very comfortable.
The kitchen is huge and has everything you need , the only draw back for us was an Aga in the kitchen which only had 2 rings which made cooking breakfast for 8 a long process as there is not grill, also getting use to the Aga took some doing although there are plenty of cook books there to help you.
The living/ dining area has 3 huge sofas and a very big TV and is very comfortable.
The snooker room is brilliant and the table very good, there are also lots of games and DVD's on hand.
We also hired the hot Tub and I would strongly advise you to do that as it is superb and was very well used by us. The garden is lovely and the horses in the fields and a small wood are a bonus.
We were made to feel very welcome and left to our own devices with the owners only a few yards away if we did have any questions.
We really did relax at the Courtyard Barn and we used it as a base to explore visiting Wells,Burnham Market,Hunstanton and Cromer returning to the barn to eat too much,drink too much,laugh a lot and totally relax.
The visitors book is full of very happy guests and I would highly recommend the Courtyard Barn for family get togethers. The only downside was no phone signal and virtually no Wi-Fi but in hindsight that probably added to the relaxing nature of the break.
We loved it so much that we will definitely be going back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevC0l
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Eight of us (4 former class-mates and our wives) met up for a mini-school reunion at the Courtyard Barn. It was an ideal choice -- spacious accommodation,spotlessly clean, with all mod cons. We used everything, including the hot tub and the full-size snooker table. Plenty of places to visit and good restaurants and pubs close by. The owners and staff were most helpful and us heartily welcome. Cost was extremely reasonable. We all had a great time and would certainly like to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing