We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably better for families” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coloma Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coloma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coloma Resort
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Probably better for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We just returned from a weekend at the Coloma Resort. We were there with 3 families (without children) who have travel trailers. They all had spots right in a row overlooking the river. First off, the staff is very nice. We had booked a bunkhouse as it has AC and a bathroom with a shower. Its not really our idea of camping as we usually camp in state or national parks and this is more of a KOA type place. It's a great place if you're going to toss an inner tube or raft in the water and float down to the bridge that leads you to this resort, very gentle and nice. I guess I have an issue with charging $110 a night for the bunkhouse (ours actually had 6 bunks in it) for the first 2 people and then $10 a night for each additional person per night and $10 per car per night. If anyone in your party is over 6 ft tall, they'll be hanging off the edge of these beds. They're a bit narrow and the mattresses are covered in vinyl, for good reason, but good grief, make it a decent mattress, We had 2 family members staying with us and we absorbed the cost for them as we had invited them. For that kind of money, we could have stayed at a Hilton for goodness sakes. They have a pool, a playground, activities for the kids in the evening and ice cream for a buck a scoop. The way they lined up it was like these people had never had it before. I doubt we'll be back, but if you have an RV or trailer, get a spot overlooking the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We visit every year with 5-8 Families in the high August summer month so we get to see this facility at full capacity. The staff seems to have grown this year and was very attentive during this very busy time. They seem to have all the camping and RV spots you might need plus some pretty plush mini cabins also if tenting/RVing is not your thing.

The resort is located on a prime stretch of the South Fork of the American River just below "Troublemaker - Class 4 rapids" and the Damn. The Damn regulates the flow of the water daily so you have some good currents early in the day and a much more peaceful and calm river in the evenings. This makes for a fabulous and safe spot to launch rafts from the North end of the resort. You can then float leisurely to reach some nice swimming holes and exit points which are just a short walk back to the resort. This was great fun for all ages and the kids loved it and almost made this a perpetual loop each day. Highly recommend this for all - River is cold of course but nothing like it in the hot sun and maybe a cold beer in your inner-tube cup-holder.

As for the RV set up, we were able to get a number of spots together and have our 4-5 RVs build a little compound or U shape area. This allowed us to build an awesome center compound for all the families to gather for food and nightly gathering at the firepits and tables that the resort supplied. The resort was quite accommodating to allow our group to do our thing. They also of course had ample power and water at each spot for all of our RVs to get their own hook-ups . It was great that staff came by each day and collected garbage. You will see racoons and skunks most likely so good to keep the camp clear. One reviewer mentioned no sewer at each site which is true but there is a central sewer at the front so you can do a clean-out on departure or during your stay.

There are also many other possible activities like biking, hiking, fishing and sight seeing at Sutter's Mill. The Sutter Mill state park is pretty well done and great history. We were able to catch a few nice size trout and even some "squawfish" now called northern pikeminnow which are essentially carp/minnow like non-indigenous fish. They prey on salmon and steelhead elsewhere so are considered a nuisance and even have a bounty to reduce their numbers elsewhere. Suggested you not feel guilty to terminate any caught. The resort store had minimal fishing and rafting supplies. They couldn't do fishing licenses and ran out of worms which was a bummer. The resort also has a pretty good pool that hit the spot each day especially with the summer heat. They also held some events on the weekend like the ice cream social and Karaoke night. Good time for the kids!

All in all, great spot, great river and pretty well run resort. The only downside for me personally is a felt the bathroom facilities by our site (which was the poolside restrooms) were pretty shoddy. There was only one toilet and one shower in this spot and they were motor home like construction. Even though this was rough at best, it seemed to work good enough even in this high season. However, most of our stories centered around our trips to this bathroom. I think there may be another nicer more permanent set of shower/toilet facilities but ours was pretty poor and outdated. Also just need to be ready for all sorts of characters when the resort is at full season or capacity. Had a few bad apples at one point but the resort and staff acted on complaints and handled situation quickly so all was good. I would definitely recommend this spot for a future camping, river and outdoor truly CA experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have been here several times and always have a great time. They use the common sense approach to running this place and are not stuck in a set of rules. The owner comes around and greets you, trash is emptied at your site daily and there are many options to spread out and have fun. We camp here with a large group for spring break every year and will keep coming back. Our favorite time here is the early spring and late fall. It is very close to apple hill for the fall or to go cut your Christmas tree down if you can get in for Thanksgiving weekend.

Rafting trips come to the resort, wine tasting, live music in the summer. The biggest negative is during the summer it can be very hot and the pool stays pretty cool and so does the river. Not a big deal and the place is well run.
Bathrooms are very clean as well, I have no problem showering in them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megafisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Hi all,

We took our new 32' Winnebago Vista to the Coloma resort. Making the reservation with the staff was friendly and easy. We reserved a spot overlooking the river. The river spot does not have dump facilities but they have water and electric. Other spots off of the water have full hook ups. Beware, you do have to drive across a one lane bridge built in 1915 (upgraded a few times) to get to the resort. Check-in was easy and staff guided us to our campsite.

The site was nice and level. One problem was that we asked for 50 amp hookups. Our site did not have 50, only 30amp. The site next to ours was empty and had a 50amp. The staff told us we could move but we would have neighbors. They were trying to keep one empty site between campers. We decided to stay in our site. Since this was April, we really did not need to run both air conditioners and we ended up having plenty of power.

The restroom were clean and had clean showers. I took a shower in afternoon. The water started out hot but suddenly got freezing cold...then back to hot. It did this several times. That was my chief complaint. The office has a small store but is not heavily stocked.

The bathrooms were clean and they had clean showers. One problem I had was when i took a shower in the afternoon. The water was nice and hot but then turned ice cold. I adjusted the temp but after a minute it turned back to scalding hot. This happened several times during the shower.

The park was very clean and dog friendly. The park is just a few minutes from the Gold rush musuem areas...Sutters mill, gold panning, rifter rafting, etc. We went on a few hikes and the area was beautiful. We also found a few geocaches in the area. There are quite a few.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and the park was clean. The park was appeared to be less than 1/3 full. I don't know how the park is when it is really busy in the summer.

the resort also rents out cabins, interspaced through out the park. The cabins look nice and clean.

Room Tip: If you can go without the dump hookups, take a spot by the river. Very scenic and relaxing listreni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MakimotoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coloma
6.9 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
7.5 mi away
Gold Country Inn
Gold Country Inn
#4 of 5 in Placerville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Florentina
Villa Florentina
#1 of 3 in Coloma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
4.3 mi away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 9 in Placerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coloma Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coloma Resort

Property: Coloma Resort
Address: 6921 Mt. Murphy Road, Coloma, CA 95613
Region: United States > California > Coloma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Coloma
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Coloma Resort California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing