We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashioned Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack Douglass Saloon

Jack Douglass Saloon
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I can't comment on the food since we didn't eat here but we did we spend an evening enjoying a great americana band (Thick Soup) and super friendly locals made us feel right at home. I suppose during high season this spot is rightly over-run with tourists but judging by their interactions the crowd was obviously familiar with each other and there to support the boys in the band who grew up locally. Good times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hindsight_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Tuolumne, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pastrami & Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Best pastrami sandwich in town. A glass of cold beer and a pickle makes the meal. Great old west atmosphere and love Roger's piano magic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlackBart49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jack Douglas Saloon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The food here is good and served in an old time bar atmosphere. There is sasperilla and a pool table. The floor is sawdust and there are much interesting memorbialla on the walls.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAURIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great bang for the buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Inexpensive food and drinks. Though it serves beer and wine, you can enjoy the sandwiches and sarsaparilla with the kids in a very informal atmosphere. They had a guitar player/singer there when we were there and he was fun to listen to. Not too noisy so you can carry on conversations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milocat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
2 reviews
“Stop by for a beer and kick back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I just had to stop by for a beer and pretzel. I think anybody can play the piano because the guy on it was no professional but fun to listen to. There were tourists and locals hanging out in there and it was just fun to kick back for a while.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BenC880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Douglass Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Jack Douglass Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing