We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Columbia Gem is a gem!!”
Review of Columbia Gem Motel

Columbia Gem Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbia Gem Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed 4 June 2007

My family stayed at this delightful property during one of the busiest weekend at Columbia State Park, the annual Diggins. We booked well in advance.

If you're looking for a cookie cutter motel chain, this isn't it. It's way better. Most of the units are small cabins with front porches that have chairs and a table. Ours was a larger unit because of the five people in our family. We liked having the small refrigerator, coffeemaker, and microwave in the room, and we were quite comfortable (the beds were a little hard but not bad). Having a rollaway bed rather than the usual miserably uncomfortable sofabed at most hotels was a great thing and our kids squabbled over who was going to get that bed.

The unit was immaculately clean and tidy. I especially liked the hominess of not having all the linens and towels basic motel white; our towels were green, and went well with the country motif decor. The sheets on the rollaway bed were blue. It made us feel as if we were visiting friends rather than staying at a motel.

And friendly!! I can't say enough about how very friendly the folks who run the place are. From the moment we checked in and at every interaction, they were genuinely nice.

The location is great for going to Columbia State Park, and there are other fun things to do in the area. We had a great time, and just two nights away made us feel as if we had a wonderful little vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mkraemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 19 of 19 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Danville, CA
15
Reviewed 28 November 2005

My father-in-law lives in Columbia so we came to visit for Thanksgiving. My husband and I and our 2 kids stayed at the Columbia Gem for one night. It's a group of cabins right on the main road into Columbia. We stayed in cabin #1 which is a "suite" so we'd have a little room to spread out. We were glad we got the bigger cabin because when we got there we saw the regular cabins - you'd be lucky to get 2 people into them. The kids loved the trundle bed and the fact that there was a TV. We were very surprised there was NO telephone! My husband and I slept on a very firm, noisy bed. There was no light or table on one side of the bed. There were no water glasses, only plastic coffee cups with paper inserts. The noise from the road wasn't too bad until the trucks started going by in the morning. Next time we come we'll see what the other motels in the area are rated.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Woodland, CA
112
Reviewed 22 September 2005

We have just returned from a trip to Columbia, California. We were there to visit the local national and state parks. We thought the parks would be the highlight of our trip but we soon realized that as fabulous as Yosemite National Park is, it wouldn't be the same without the personal, caring service we experienced here at the Columbia Gem Motel and Cabins.

We stayed in the suite and it was marvelous and an almost unbelievable value. One night the Owner, Rene and Louise had an impromptu BBQ and invited us to join. This is the kind of people they are, very inclusive. We DID join and such a delight it was. I hope you are treated with Rene's cooking while you're there.

Even if you're not. You'll get to go see Yosemite, Railtown 1987, Columbia State Park, Big Trees state park. The list is amazing and the comfort of this place will make it all come together.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous étions au bord de la route fréquentée mais calme la nuit, nous avons tous très bien dormi. Lite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabNav2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
415 reviews
3.2 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
170 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Sonora
Rodeway Inn Sonora
#6 of 8 in Sonora
57 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gem Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gem Motel

Address: 22131 Parrotts Ferry Road, Columbia, CA 95310
Region: United States > California > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: £61 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 139
Also Known As:
Columbia Gem Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing