We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel ruined by the casino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed in an executive room on the 8th Floor and the room and breakfast were very good.

The rooms were comfortable, the reception staff were helpful and the decor around the foyer was very nice.

However, this hotel is situated as part of a casino complex and whilst we expected some gambling there were tables everywhere thatthey could fit them.

The no smoking policy makes the stressed out gamblng clients go outside and this meant there wass little room to get past on the pavement (sidewalks) without strolling through the fog.

The Car park for guests wishing to self park is HUGE but very busy during the evenings so unless you use Valet parking (or are disabled) you will park about 1/4 miles away.

All round if your a gambler then I imagine it's very good, if your a traveller / sightseer then keep looking. - Holiday Inn Buena park isn't too far and much more touristy !

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2008

The hotel looked nice, but the service was horrible. You could not find a Valet anywhere. It would have been a miracle to find a housekeeper who spoke (or understood) English. The front desk staff clearly did not know how to handle basic elements of their job, and their manager Alejandra's lack of customer service skills left a lot to be desired. Go to Motel 6 and save your money! Certainly not up to Crowne Plaza standards.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Anahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

My bf is a good poker player and I always make sure that there's a casino in our travel adventure. Anyways, we arrived in Santa Ana and decided to drive to LA to check the casino. The casino is no Vegas nor AC. However, it's pretty good if you're a serious player. You can order food and eat it by the table. We stayed at this hotel and got a poker room rate. The room is quite big,is clean, have a microwave and over-price mini bar (just like all hotels). They have a sleep kit which consist of an eye mask, ear plugs, sleep cd and lavender mist ( a unique amenity from most of the hotel I stayed). Dont bother by the view because there was none. Free internet, Maxwell house coffee and the bed is soft yet firm. The staff is helpful and the housekeeping is fast in their service. Small lobby. There is a spa on the 5th floor. The price is not that bad. Will do a separate review. I like hotels who take their time to look for good brand toiletries. They have a brand. Will stay here again if my bf will just play poker.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank herleiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Crowne Plaza Brand has very good rooms and this is not the exception. I really liked so much this room.

But to the honest there are some comments on thinks that I don't like on this hotel

1.- If you are not renting a car, this place is in the middle of nothing and you won't have many things to do around, but getting bored if you don't like to play in Casinos. So you will have to pay many to the taxi drivers if you want to go somewhere else.

2.- It is located to a walking distance to an Outlet Mall, but if you have been into very big Outlets, this Outlet in Commerce won't impress you much and in 40 minutes you'll be done.

3.- But let's talk about the service of the hotel, the room service people is extremelly efficient and friendly, they cook nice dishes.

4.- But more bad news, when my shuttle left me in the entrance of the hotel, NOBODY was available to help me with my lugagge. I was coming back from a trip from China, and I had many pieces with me, I had to carry by myself 5 pieces to the lobby.

5.- The personal on the lobby was friendly but totally lost. They first told me "Sorry no reservation under your name" and after a long search, they finally found me. The day after I asked them to ask a Taxi for me, so I can go to Downtown, I waited for 45 minutes untill finally my taxi arrived.

There are many hotels in Los Angeles, I only recomend you to stay here if it is a must for you to stay in this neighbourhood or you will stay in the Casino the whole day. Otherwise forget about this hotel.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank tecouag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

This stay was about what I expected. I was impressed with the grounds and fountains as I pulled up and valeted my car. I checked in at 9:30 pm, but they said a room wouldn't be ready until 10:00PM! The staff was courteous and apologetic and gave me access to the club floor for free breakfast, but I'm not too sure why rooms were not available at that time of night. The breakfast was horrible, with little selection and despite the staff presence, I had to dig around the communal mini fridge for the uncovered milk from the day before. The canned fruit and pastries were straight from the Food-4-Less. DO NOT PAY EXTRA FOR THE CLUB ROOMS, as the breakfast is the only "benefit."
The lobby was well decorated and relatively clean, considering the proximity to the "culturally diverse mecca" of Los Angeles (5 miles). The room was small, but comfortable. The windows are soundproof, being less than 500 ft. from I-5. Signs in the room stated "If you smoke, you pay a $200 cleaning fee!" and "If you touch anything in the mini-bar, you buy it!" Quite accusatory!
Also, remember, this is a CA casino, not NV. There are cards only and with a ridiculous rake, its not even worth playing for amateurs.
Pros: Pool/jacuzzi, mostly polite staff
Cons: Food, checkin, checkout, surrounding area, clientele, ambiance

The $139 rate was reasonable, but I will not stay here again.
I can only reccommend this place for professional poker players and the budget-savy business travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank boi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2007

Gambling in LA was a let down after Vegas. We went here to try out accomodation and the casino.

The room was small and the view outside un-inspiring unless you are an industrialist who loves the look of american factories and warehouses.

The food was terrible.

The casino was poor. The atmosphere was non-existant and had the pizazz of a highly lit bus shelter. THe patrons looked like they were waiting for a bus too...the game selctions were below average and there are no pokies. Big plus though for the non-smoking venue!

Go there if you are a salesman on a small budget and need something "non-LA" otherwise choose a bus shelter.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SteveAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

We checked into this hotel there was nowhere to self park, supposedly there was valet parking but there was no valets to be found, and the desk was almost impossible to find. There were casino gamblers everywhere and the hotel section was almost impossible to find. We went to use a pay phone to make a reservation at a nearby hotel and then were harrassed by not one, not two, but about six different security officers because we were dressed in shorts and t-shirts (it is the middle of summer and we were only there to stay in the hotel). I wouldn't recommend this property to my worst enemy! Find somewhere else to stay, don't waste your time or money.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ticketshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Commerce
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
The Bicycle Hotel & Casino
#1 of 3 in Bell Gardens
22 reviews
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#54 of 354 in Los Angeles
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino

Address: 6121 Telegraph Rd, Commerce, CA 90040-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Commerce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Price Range: £134 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Los Angeles Commerce Casino. Whether you're traveling to Los Angeles for business or pleasure stay close to all the exciting action you'd expect from Las Vegas! This upscale tower of hospitality resembles a Babylonian theme with lush gardens, water fountains and a grand entry that will impress even the most discerning traveler. The Crowne Plaza Hotel at Commerce Casino, is 'The Place to Meet'; is located adjacent to the World's Largest Card Gaming Casino, the Commerce Casino. The hotel is also in close proximity to all of Southern California major attractions, STAPLES arena and Convention Center, Downtown Los Angeles, Hollywood, Disneyland. May we book your reservation? We look forward to welcoming you to our fabulous hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Hotel Commerce
Crowne Plaza Commerce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing