We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ribs, skip the brisket”
Review of Bludso's BBQ - CLOSED

Bludso's BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good ribs, skip the brisket”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The (pork) ribs were smoky and quite delicious. Plenty of meat on them and the sauce is fantastic. The brisket was disappointing. Really really fatty and had that leftover beef taste. The coleslaw was creamy and had a kick to it. Baked beans were good, not great, but the Sweet potato pie was one of the best I've had.Fairly fast service if the line us not too long. To-Go only, no seating, so take it home or to the park.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank email4saundra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic southern food”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Drove out specially to compton to try this. Heard some things about compton that made me slightly wary to come here, in the daytime its pretty safe and the ppl are friendly. Theres no seating area so you come and take it away. As for us, we just out at the front where our car was parked. The bbq sauce had a kick to it and indeed very tasty. We had the 3 meat sampler between two of us, and even that was too much food. Recommend the ribs, and been brisket. Def a place to try at least once.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compton, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hole in the wall”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Love this place! For take out only. Nowhere to sit. But the best Texas style BBQ anywhere! Try the Texas Sampler. Best Brisket I've ever had!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AuntPatchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heard from the Hoodie Award”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

It was too small of a place to do business for the amount of people that come for the food. But the meat is out of this world.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DjEjWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I live 20 miles away and this is where I get my barbeque! Funny story... one day I went there for lunch and trying to find a park, I noticed the firemen and emergency crew taking up all the spaces. I wondered what had happened and being nosy, I parked across the street and went over there. LOL, they were there picking up their lunches too! So everyone who knows barbeque knows Bludsoe's is the best. When I am finished there is nothing left on my plate, the sauce is sopped, the food eaten and the bones drier than any bones left in the desert. That's the truth! The place is tiny and there is no room to hang out. It barely holds three or four people at a time so the line is usually out the door. That is how I happened to see all the emergency crew that day...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pearlyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bludso's BBQ also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing