We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great adventure for great BBQ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bludso's BBQ

Bludso's BBQ
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Compton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great adventure for great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

It was worth the drive for this meal. There is plenty of street parking. Everyone standing around on the sidewalk waiting for their order were friendly. The patrons were a diverse mix of locals, business people, marines, and tourists. The delicious smells drifting on the wind from the cookers in the back parking lot helped with the wait. The downside is there is no seating. We drove back to a park closer to home and had a picnic. The portions are large and of course the food is tasty. The pulled pork sandwich was huge and wonderfully messy smothered in sauce. The links have an intrinsic spiciness to them. The sauces can be mild, medium, and spicy. One person in our group wanted cheese and there is none to be had. The bread is basic and there is no garlic or cheese toast that is often available at BBQ joints. The brisket was very tasty with an intense smoky flavor but exceptionally fatty. The food is packed to go with bread, a small fork, and not enough napkins. A plastic knife would be useful and wet wipes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

From the east coast, and a friend brought us it. It. Was. So. Good!!!! Great food, love how it's set up. Reasonable prices and friendly staff. A must try!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sounds good! Order ahead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

After seeing a report on TV we tried twice to eat at Bludso's. The first time, they had already closed shop as they were sold out of just about everything. They waited outside the restaurant to let any guests know, that they had closed the restaurant early. They kindly offered us to have some ribs and sides on the parking lot, but we wanted to sit down and eat. We tried again the following day but again they were all out. One of the guests waiting for his order, told us that one can call ahead to order food. That is the reason for this review - call ahead because their ribs seem to be really amazing!!!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ducktrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
528 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Terrific barbecue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The food is nearly as good as Arthur Bryant's in Kansa City. If seating was offered i might give it a higher score. But the barbecue is excellent and worth the drive. it is difficult not to open up the rib tip package and enjoy them on the drive home. I hear they have a restaurant in west Los Angeles. Now onto the food, the brisket was good but the pulled pork was excellent. The barbecue sauce was good enough to eat with a spoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pass LaBrea and Go to Compton Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I tried the LaBrea WeHo location over the weekend. While it was pretty inside and the staff was friendly....It is very polished for a BBQ joint. I ordered the rib tips and brisket to go. They were good. I prefer the brisket. The rub was bit on the salty side. Loved the BBQ sauce. My next trip will be to Compton to the original location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DianainAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bludso's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Bludso's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing