We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tactically understated, visionary and discerning BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bludso's BBQ

Bludso's BBQ
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Compton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Irvine
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tactically understated, visionary and discerning BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a plan...get in and out of before noon.

Situated at the intersection of check your attitude outside the city limits, and don't make eye contact, therein lies Bludso's BBQ - a beacon of BBQ eminence.

We tore asunder the pork ribs, sausage, and brisket. The spicy sauce harnessed a subtle heat that lingered and perforated the interstices with lustrous body, seductive dimension and distinguishing character and panache.

Confined and unable to escape, the ribs and brisket acceded with dignity and reclined voluntarily, as if cognizant of predetermined events.

Paired with macaroni and cheese and collard greens, we reached the summit of bbq peak.

Mr. Bludso, may we please have one in OC, pretty please?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dachonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great adventure for great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

It was worth the drive for this meal. There is plenty of street parking. Everyone standing around on the sidewalk waiting for their order were friendly. The patrons were a diverse mix of locals, business people, marines, and tourists. The delicious smells drifting on the wind from the cookers in the back parking lot helped with the wait. The downside is there is no seating. We drove back to a park closer to home and had a picnic. The portions are large and of course the food is tasty. The pulled pork sandwich was huge and wonderfully messy smothered in sauce. The links have an intrinsic spiciness to them. The sauces can be mild, medium, and spicy. One person in our group wanted cheese and there is none to be had. The bread is basic and there is no garlic or cheese toast that is often available at BBQ joints. The brisket was very tasty with an intense smoky flavor but exceptionally fatty. The food is packed to go with bread, a small fork, and not enough napkins. A plastic knife would be useful and wet wipes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

From the east coast, and a friend brought us it. It. Was. So. Good!!!! Great food, love how it's set up. Reasonable prices and friendly staff. A must try!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sounds good! Order ahead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

After seeing a report on TV we tried twice to eat at Bludso's. The first time, they had already closed shop as they were sold out of just about everything. They waited outside the restaurant to let any guests know, that they had closed the restaurant early. They kindly offered us to have some ribs and sides on the parking lot, but we wanted to sit down and eat. We tried again the following day but again they were all out. One of the guests waiting for his order, told us that one can call ahead to order food. That is the reason for this review - call ahead because their ribs seem to be really amazing!!!!!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ducktrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
529 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Terrific barbecue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The food is nearly as good as Arthur Bryant's in Kansa City. If seating was offered i might give it a higher score. But the barbecue is excellent and worth the drive. it is difficult not to open up the rib tip package and enjoy them on the drive home. I hear they have a restaurant in west Los Angeles. Now onto the food, the brisket was good but the pulled pork was excellent. The barbecue sauce was good enough to eat with a spoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bludso's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Bludso's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing