We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meat is great, staff not so.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinder's Custom Meats Incorporated

Kinder's Custom Meats Incorporated
Ranked #128 of 305 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Meat is great, staff not so.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hi gang,
This is actually for the Kinder's in Hercules, Ca. Been there many times with satisfaction. The Mrs. asked a ball tip sammie (always a fav) and I opted for a combo plate. Counter person wrote down our order and proceeded to fill our request. The meat choices are ribs, ball tip and chicken. They were out if chicken (???) so I doubled up on the ribs. The Mrs. asked for a plain sammie, no lettuce, tomatoes or otherwise preferring instead to use the house BBQ sauce (very good). When we got home lip-smacking and looking forward to our dinner, the Mrs. Noticed her sammie was loaded with everything much to her dismay and it totally disappointed her. My order was fine. It was a 5 mi drive to Kinder's so not worth the gas to drive 10 mi to make it right. The ball tip is always fresh and tasty and the ribs are second to none with a very good rub applied. We love the food but it's frustrating to have to wait and even AFTER writing down our order, they still got it wrong.
Best advice is to make sure they get it right and check before you leave especially if you have a long drive home.
The food is highly recommended at any of Kinder's locations.
Rich

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nothreeputts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No bang for your buck”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The last 2 times I visited they skimped on the meat that went in my sandwich. I'd rather go to Dickie's which is just right around the corner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 925matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The tri tip sandwich I had was not very flavorful and the meat was kind of chewy. I tried to use the barbecue saucy to give it some flavor but the sauce tasted like it came out of a bottle. Nothing really special at all.

Helpful?
Thank PuterC0nsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Point, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kind of addictive BBQ Beef Sandwhich and Tequila Fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Actually it is the Ball tip sandwich that I order and I add the BBQ sauce from the squeeze bottle sitting on the tables. It's more of a take out joint or deli with tables. But I love the tequila fries with their special dipping sauce. Kinda tastes like mayonaise with BBQ sauce added but better. Also I cannot finish the sandwhich it is so big or the fries. So there is enough leftover for a 2nd meal. Hafta go maybe once a month. Just writing about it makes me want to go back. There is something really addictive about the fresh Hoaggie rolls, good meat, BBQ sauce and fries. Good place to stop for lunch after checking out the TJ Maxx up the road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank takeme2vallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch,Ca.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great sandwichs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Fast, friendly service and there sandwichs are real good. They use a indoor smoker on there meats. I always stop when I find one in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elco66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinder's Custom Meats Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Kinder's Custom Meats Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing