We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Fare”
Review of El Faro

El Faro
Ranked #122 of 317 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Fare”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

A casual neighborhood place with excellent food and friendly staff.

Carnitas are fabulous, as are the chile rellenos and taquitos.

Burritos are big and tasty.

Good selection of Mexican beers.

Highly recommended---great food and low prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garagestudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Mouth-watering Mexican food served in an informal dining setting. You order at the counter where you might have a hard time deciding what you want - it all looks and smells so good. The super burritos are the best around. Our to-go order included complimentary chips and salsa. I first ran into El Faro in San Francisco where it had a great following. I was glad to see them open a restaurant locally in Concord. Try it, you'll like it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Burritos and other dishes too”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is one of my favorite Mexican restaurants. They call themselves a Mexican Fast Food Restaurant, I call them a great place for food and value.

I love their bean & cheese burrito and on Friday their shrimp burrito. All their food that I have tried has been very good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food great price”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We were looking for an authentic place to have Mexican food. We were in the neighborhood so we decided to try El Faro. The food was good. The prices were great and the atmosphere was authentic Mexican. The guacamole was very good. Definitely worth a try. We have added it to our favorite restaurant list.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marzullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Burritos, perhaps THE BEST IN CONTRA COSTA COUNTY! Love the shrimp burritos on Fridays!”
Reviewed 28 January 2008

EXCELLENT Burritos, perhaps THE BEST IN CONTRA COSTA COUNTY! Love the shrimp burritos on Fridays!

Helpful?
Thank jbsebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing