We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Concord
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My daughter and i checked in Friday July 29th at 8:00 pm and checked out 1 1/2 hours later after we found Bed Bugs! When i told the clerk at the front desk that we saw Bed Bugs, he wasn't even surprised! We were offered "another room"!! As If we would want to stay in a hotel that has Bed Bugs! The gentleman that checked me out was very nice, but i have requested to speak with the hotel manager several times, and my calls have still not been returned.
We ordered room service, didn't get to finish it because we found the Bugs and they had the nerve to charge my credit card for the half eaten food! Oh, and the guy who delivered the food was texting while in our room and stood there until he finished!
I ended up going to the Marriott Walnut Creek that night and they were very nice and NO BUGS!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hermosadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larryross, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

I want to start with a sincere apology for not getting back to you over the weekend, however I do want to assure you immediate action was taken.
The global resurgence of bed bugs over the last five years is a widely- recognized problem. This problem has affected not only the hotel industry, but hospitals, college dormitories and private multiple dwellings as well. It is suspected that this resurgence is a direct result of increased international travel, since bed bugs are easily transported in luggage, purses and clothing among others things.
To address this growing problem, Intercontinental Hotels mandates an agressive pest control policy, which includes regularly scheduled professional inspections and if necessary, elimination protocals. We have also implemented a thorough training program for our housekeeping and maintenance personnel to assist in early recognition. These standard procedures require that a room in which any guest who reports a potential concern be quarantined; it shall remain quarantined until a thorough inspection by a licensed and recognized professional eliminatin specialist can be conducted. I want to assure you we have fully implemented the policy and protocals at the Crowne Plaza Concord. It is our expressed commitment to make every guest experience an enjoyable one.
The comfort, satisfaction and trust of our guests is very important to our entire team. I do appreciate your time spent with us on the phone as we contacted you and appreciate the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit.
Sincerely
L. Allyn Ross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Concord
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

Clean room, close to restaurants and shopping. Would stay here again if another business trip comes along. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbeanlover2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltrade1, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We strive to make every guest experience a positive one. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We loved this hotel! The staff were very friendly and informative. Our room was on the 3rd floor, very clean and modern. The bed was incredibly comfortable with soft, fresh sheets and bedding. The restaurant was fantastic! We went to the Happy Hour and there were so many choices on the menu. We had the most mouth-watering burger and steak fries for $7.00. The steamed artichoke for $4.00 was incredible! Drinks were reasonably priced as well and the lava cake for dessert was decadent. The Atrium is beautiful and took away any stress we may have had. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Dear valued guest;

We appreciate your recent review on Trip Advisor. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Concord Hotel. Thank you for recommending our hotel to others. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back.

Justin Saylor / Director of Rooms / Crowne Plaza Concord

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We chose this hotel based on a 3 1/2 star rating... It was a 2 star to 2 1/2 star at best. What really prevailed was a stunning staff of evident talent.

Our room (#115) had a old style glass tube TV, a bathrrom with no real refurbishment, table tops on side tables and the dresser that were all worn down/scratched.

We were told the hotel has been a Sheraton, Crowne Plaza and others. I'd estimate the property at 30-40 years in age, motel style drive-up, free parking.

It's not terrible. It's just not 3 1/2 stars.

It has a onsite restaurant and bar and while I did not dine there, it looked inviting and cozy.

There is a Starbucks across the street, a Taco Bell across the street a Trader Joe's across the street and the hotel sits on the runway of a smaller regional airport.

The rooms aren't inviting or comfortable. You won't want to spend too much time here. Channel selection is limited to BASIC CABLE. KUDOS FOR FREE WI-FI in the room!

The pool sits inside the property with no exposure to the beautiful California weather.

The wonderful staff again exceeded expectations. Now spend some $$$ fixing and investing in this property.









































W

Room Tip: Inside courtyrard to avoid aircraft noise.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IFLYMAUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Thank you for your recent review on the Crowne Plaza Concord Hotel. Gaining valuable feedback on our property from our guests helps us ensure we are meeting your needs. I apologize for any inconvenience due to the lapses in service you described. We have brought this to the attention of our staff and management to ensure a similar poor experience is not repeated. Thank you for your business and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Justin Saylor / Director of Rooms / Crowne Plaza Concord

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Awful hotel. Paper thin walls, abundant noise, missed wake up calls, marginally functional internet, generally low quality everything.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LSG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larryross, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

I appreciate your comments regarding your most recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Concord. I assure you we take our guest comments serious.

Although we have worked very hard to achieve it and we are very proud of our number 1 ranking with guests popularity in our market, we do not take it for granted.

A good nights sleep is one of our key brand hallmark standards and I am very sorry to hear we failed to provide it.

However I think we have the perfect solution for your next visit.
Another of our Hallmark Brand Standards are our quiet zone floors which we set aside by request for guests needing more than just a room for the night.

We recognize it takes a lot of people to fill a hotel, with different schedules and arrival, departure times in which proximiity can sometimes spoil anothers stay.
You can now request quiet zone accomodations on your next visit or contact the hotel directly and we would be happy to put this request on your Priority club guests history.
I would enjoy speaking to you further on your last visit and meeting you personally on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We heard about the new restaurant in the hotel and decided to turn a date night into an overnight treat and a treat it was! All of the staff were very friendly and greeted us throughout the hotel. Our room was great corner suite with plenty of space and comfortable furniture with nice modern decor.
For dinner we went down to the restaurant and chop house and had a fantastic meal! A great selection of seafood, scallops and king crab were delicious! The appetizers alone were a difficult enough decision, there were so many great choices! We enjoyed our dinner so much, we returned for breakfast, crab cake benedict!
Our date night turned out to be a great little getaway so close to home! I would recommend it to anyone who needs a special trip away without going to far!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22lott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltrade1, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

We are so glad you gave us a try and had a positive staycation experience! come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

As a frequent guest of this hotel, I'm not surprised that they're alway's busy.As a manager I travel alot,along with many of our employee's, and this hotel is the only one we stay at when in Concord and the Bay area. All the hotel staff are great,the front desk staff are always ready for us and very reponsive to our needs. The resturant staff is also great and house keeping does a good job. All this in the capable hands of Alvin the manager. Thank you Alvin and a BIG thank you to the whole staff. I kwow I've been there for more than 45 day's this year already, but I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJRankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Customer feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Concord Hotel. Thank you for recommending our hotel to others. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back.
Justin Saylor / Director of Rooms / Crowne Plaza Concord

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
0.7 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
962 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
782 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Concord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Concord

Address: 45 John Glenn Dr, Concord, CA 94520-5604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Price Range: £85 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Concord 3.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Crowne Plaza Concord hotel is a full service property with 324 spacious guest rooms, offering all the amenities you expect including complimentary high-speed Internet access, complimentary parking and shuttle service. We are located conveniently in the San Francisco - East Bay area, right off highway 680, 25 minutes away from Oakland Airport and only 35 minutes east of downtown San Francisco. Our meeting and banquet facility offers over 33,000 square feet of flexible function space, including our California Ballroom, Sequoia Amphitheater and our beautiful indoor Atrium with lush gardens and koi ponds, a perfect setting for weddings and special events. The Crowne Plaza Concord has an appealing array of features and services that are sure to please. While you are here, you will appreciate the business center and you are sure to enjoy the indoor pool and whirlpool and NEW Vineyards Chop House - BAR on-sit. Concord is home to a multitude of corporate businesses, restaurants, shopping centers and department stores. Business travelers, families and visitors can enjoy Buchanan Fields Golf Course right next to the hotel, Concord's Waterworld California, nearby Mount Diablo, Blackhawk Automotive Museum, and Napa Valley Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Concord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Concord Hotel Concord
Concord Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing