We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for skiweekend”
Review of Myrkdalen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Myrkdalen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vossestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights at the myrkdalen hotel. Great room, great service. Ski room maybe a bit small. The breakfast buffer is very good and divers. Nice afterski at the hotel bar. And offcourse a great view at the piste. Enough space at the carpark.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jeroen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knut K, Daglig leder at Myrkdalen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear jeroenvan,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sendeing Myrkdalen Hotel your kind review. We are delighted to note, that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you back with us soon.

Kind regards
Knut Kettermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Just off the E16 from Voss to Flam the Myrkfdalan Hotel is modern and shows fresh Norwegian design. We picked it to get a bit closer to the mountains than the choices on Voss.
Rooms are a treat. We thought that we would be alone but shared the hotel with three large tour groups who must use it as overflow for flam hotels.
Not much in the way of amenities during the summer but a short pleasant stay.
Do not join the mobs at the buffet. The a la carte has some god selections including the lamb soup and the Flam burger.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank mof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knut K, Daglig leder at Myrkdalen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear mof1,

Thank you very much for taking the time in sendeing Myrkdalen Hotel your kind review. We are delighted to note, that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you back with us soon.

Kind regards
Knut Kettermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Had a studio below the roof ,which was taking half of the space.

Location is great, but rest ....

1. You should take your own bed linen, or rent one from the hotel for 100 NOK per person, which is not that cheap, not to mention that this information was not provided prior to booking the room.
2. You either clean your room yourself or pay between 500 and 1000 NOK for cleaning, depending on the room/apartment size. This information was not provided either prior to booking.
3. There is no elevator, so we had to carry suitcases on the 3rd floor.
4. Restaurant was nice and staff friendly, but food was not great
5. Kitchenette was pretty cozy.

Room Tip: Avoid renting studios and high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank skvisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

On our family trip on the western part of Norway we needed a hotel nearby Voss. When we drove passed this hotel nothing showed it was open. But it was. It looked very quiet, but actually it was almost full. The other guests hadn't arrived yet, but 4 buses of tourist would come later. It was a good experience even if I would like to pay less in the summer season for a winter hotel. Good standard, nice rooms, serviceminded personell, and ok quality of food in the evening and breakfast. At this place you cant go wrong. Opened 12.12. 2012. No minibar in the room, not even a fridge. I understand that the hotel wants the guest to buy things in the bar. Shop to by beer or anything else at moderate rates are only 10 minutes away by car. If the rate is good, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ske443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had lunch here on the way from Voss to Oslo. Brand new hotel with spectacular views through it's grand panoramic windows. We had the Norwegian salmon with asparagus and the taste was amazing. The bread and salted butter that came with the food was also very tasty. We were glad to have stopped and want to return again for the winter season!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights during a weekend in the holiday. Had a family room with extra bed and sleeping sofa (3 adults, 2 kids). Room was spacious and nicely decorated. Good standard. In addition the room included a large "hallway area" with good possibilities to dry wet skiing clothes.

The location of the hotel is very good, ski in/out possibilities. Hotel has two restaurants. Dinner buffet was perfect for the family and included different many different dishes. All three kids were happy! There is also several bars, and possibility for a more "party vacation".

The only thing that could have been better was activities for kids. What about a pool or a bigger playroom? The playroom was not very large, and very little plays available.

All in all I would recommend the hotel, and will definitely come back next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the valley in order to avoid any noise from after ski.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erlend B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Situated literally on the slopes this hotel is perfect for a winter vacation. Had a room with balcony and nice views of the snow-covered valley and mountains surrounding Myrkdalen. The hotel is brand new and it shows. Very nicely decorated rooms and the lobby area with bar is really cool. Myrkdalen has a lot of snow and is perfect for those who love to venture of the slopes doing some powder runs.
Getting to Myrkdalen you can drive or you can take the train to Voss and have the hotel pick you up there. Either way you are looking at approx. two hours of traveling.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vossestrand
11.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
247 reviews
6.6 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
372 reviews
21.1 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
855 reviews
24.6 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
69 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fleischer's Hotel
Fleischer's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Voss Municipality
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrkdalen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrkdalen Hotel

Address: Vossestrand 5713, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Vossestrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vossestrand
Price Range: £112 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Myrkdalen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Myrkdalen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing