We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
81
85
25
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
85
25
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski resort lobby bar main restaurant fixtures and fittings rooms are large ski season sitting area each morning hotel restaurant pleasant stay comfortable hotel coffee and tea two nights bergen airport double bed ski lockers fondue
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Very clean and nice hotell. We slept well and had good breakfast. If you use an electric car like us you can charge over night. There are 4 schuko and 2 tesla chargers that we saw. The kids had fun here, there was children room, trampolin, climb wall etc. You can also use the cable transportation in the summer that is used for down sloap skiers normally during winter time to get to the top of the mountain, which is cool.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank oranjeboom2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knut K, Daglig leder at Myrkdalen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Oranjeboo M

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Knut Kettermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

The Myrkdalen Hotel is located near a skiing resort in a valley close to route 13 and easy to find. For travellers with own vehicle it has enough parking spaces, free of charge.

The way to the reception is short and easy to find. The hotel interior is modern in a northern style. The check-in was proceeded very friendly and quickly.

Room 601 is a suite close to the elevator but not noisy. The room is very spacious with a high roof. The interior is modern in a nice way, not over-ambitious. Bed and sitting area are comfortable, even for longer relxation. The spacious desk has a good light and two power plugs, so working or desk activity is possible. WiFi was working immediately and was fast.

The staff was very quick and helpful when I was asking for another chair. They were bringing it within minutes.

The bathroom has enough space even for make-up artists' equipment and a very good and strong shower. The waterfall picture in the shower is a nice decorative element without being too romantic.

The inside shutters are effective against sunlight but the darkness against midnight light in summer can be improved. In total I had a very good and relaxing night and slept well.

What I really liked is that there were separated breakfast rooms for travel groups and regular guests. The breakfast had a very good variety of good quality food in a room with a very nice view. I really enjoyed this. Also here the staff was also very friendly and helpful.Special thanks to the lady who saved me from the travel groups' breakfast war into the solo traveller's paradise.

Check-out was very fast, friendly and without problems.

In total the Myrkdalen Hotel was the best hotel during my over three weeks lasting car round trip from the south of Norway up to North Cape with over 15 hotel stays because the three basics of a hotel they do in a very good way: bed & sleep, bath & shower and breakfast. I was very satisfied with all this.

In my eyes this hotel is also very good located: a good central base to stay for a few days to do one-day car trips, e.g. to Hardangerfjord, Sognefjord (Balestrand) and Gaularfjell, Flam and Naeroyfjord with Aurlandsfjell and so on.

Tip: Early birds can see some nice impressions of and from a fjell by driving up the route 13 a few kilometers. At a sunny morning a must-have for photographers, the evenings are also recommended ;-)

Room tip: Junior Suites are very comfortable
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank infojunky_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knut K, Daglig leder at Myrkdalen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear infojunky_de

Thank you very much for your review after you recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you have had a pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards
Knut Kettermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Stayed here two nights with a 20 person tour hiking in the fjord region. We were super lucky to get a corner suite which had a double bed, a single bed, coffee and tea area, and large sitting area. This hotel had the best storage for suitcases, hiking stuff, clothing and gear of any hotel we stayed at; tall shelf cubby like things. We had breakfasts included, paid to pack a lunch, and ate dinner as a group that was served to us. We enjoyed having smoked fish, beets, and beans for breakfast:) All were excellent and the staff was amazingly nice and eager to please. Beer is expensive, but it is everywhere in Norway. I would like to come back during ski season. Thank you Myrkdalen for a lovely stay!

Room tip: corner suites are the best
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kansaskayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knut K, Daglig leder at Myrkdalen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear kansaskayaker

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay with us in Myrkdalen. We are delighted to note that you have had a pleasant stay.

Best regards
Knut Kettermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Known as a winter resort, we stayed 2 nights in Myrkdalen Hotel which was near to Flam during the summer in a tour group. It was still a good place to stay for a night. The bed was reasonably comfortable and shower excellent. The room has cable tv and a sitting area as well.
The breakfast was mediocre, however I do like the bread in the morning which was freshly baked. In general the breakfast lacked variety.
We also had buffet dinner for two night. The dinner was bad. The fish was tasteless and the other dishes nothing to shout about.
Overall hotel rooms was reasonably good but food a disaster.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank josepho53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knut K, Daglig leder at Myrkdalen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Joseph O

Thank you very much for your honest and constructive review. Your comments help us to make sure that that our products are matching the expectations of our guests.
Best regards
Knut Kettermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Pros: We booked the hotel because it was the nearest one to Bergen with cross country facilities still in May. Great service, both reception and restaurant, and very quiet at this time of year.

Cons: No refrigerator or kettle in the room. In house massage therapist was promoted, but not available at our stay.

A swimming pool would make the hotel complete for a relaxing resort.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocDividend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knut K, Daglig leder at Myrkdalen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear DocDividend

thank you very much for your kind review after your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay in Myrkdalen.

Best regards
Knut Kettermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews