We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Star Inn Steeple
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nine Jars Hotel(Haverhill)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Bell(Clare)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan(Thaxted)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saffron Hotel(Saffron Walden)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bull Hotel(Halstead)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Long Melford)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
37
10
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
10
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely pubgreat sunday lunchfood was served quicklygreat accommodationroast dinnerat short noticest lawrencelocal pubfish and chipselvis impersonatorstarterscaravan
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We used this site approx 27years ago. Its at the back of the pub.

Boy has it changed,. The owners are great. The food is good and reasonable. We stayed 4 nights. The only small thing that lets it down is ther is only 1ladies wc and 2 men's wc's. but did not hinder us. The site takes approx 20 caravans. If this site had shower facilities a a couple mor wc's thi site would be fantastic. We used it last week as our daughter lives there and as we live in Suffolk it was good to be near her. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mercedes270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This accommodation is in purpose built en-suite rooms just off the pub.
The building is new and so everything in the rooms is new, clean and fresh.
The bedroom and bathroom are both a good size and the bed was comfy.
The hotel is set in a lovely location in the heart of the Essex countryside but only a couple of minutes / miles from the estuary / coast. The whole area is lovely and peaceful.
Steve the landlord was very helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure I had a good stay.
I was on business and travelling alone and the pub has a friendly atmosphere.
I had my meal in the pub and have no complaints.
If you like Real Ale, there is a good local choice and the beer comes straight from the cask which I prefer.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are likely to be similar.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redandy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Had a meal on 10th June 2013,excellent friendly service and very good food at a reasonably price.
There is plenty of space for children to play and the parking is good.
Camping and caravanning is available too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This pub provides excellent food that is typical of the best pub food in the UK. It does not try to be everything to everybody. The range is limited, but what it does is VERY good. Well presented by friendly staff and good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Good classic pub food . Good service excellent ambience and not over priced. Need to have a fire going on the colder nights as the pub is cold. Would come back again as this Is value for money. Friendly staff and a good all round pub family friendly

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller10101101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews