We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of The Olive Pit

The Olive Pit
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1967 the Olive Pit gourmet retail store features over 120 different kinds of olives, many Balsamic vinegars, wine, craft beer, gifts, nuts, candy and so much more. We also have a Café that features burgers and sandwiches where you can pile on the toppings to suit your taste. We offer free tasting of over 150 products and also offer a wine and craft beer tasting room, current tasting room fee 5 tastes for $5.
Eagle Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Fun little shop. Enjoyed trying olives with lots of different stuffings an tried several olive oil flavors. Other goodies available in shop including wines and lots of fun olive serving excessaries. Staff knowledgeable and friendly. Parking in back for rv's and small pet area. As you walk side of the building be sure and notice the different kinds of olive trees growing in the pots.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at The Olive Pit, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for stopping by on your recent trip! We appreciate the review and we're glad you noticed our olive trees - they always serve as inspiration for our next olive creation!
Hope you had an amazing vacation & we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Cheers!
The Olive Pit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    45
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rainier, Oregon
Level Contributor
813 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Longer than 1967”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The owner's description mentions that the Olive Pit has been open since 1967, but I can remember the old Olive Pit, along now-defunct US 99W, when I was traveling south to college in the late 1950's. Was good then, is good now. We were fortunate to stop by after the olive harvest this month, and purchase some olio nuevo from this year's harvest. A rare treat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at The Olive Pit, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks for the great review and being a fan for so long! You're right, we were out there on 99 as just a small burger stand in the beginning & have been lucky enough to grow and expand our selection throughout the years.
Thanks for visiting & enjoying The Olive Pit!
Happy Travels!
The Olive Pit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Olive Pit is definitely worth stopping in if you happen to be in/passing through Corning. They have so many different olives and they are all delicious. I love that they let you sample them before you buy so you know you won't waste money on something that you end up hating. The olive oils they have are great too (try the chocolate - it's bizarre, but good!) and everything is reasonably priced.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at The Olive Pit, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We appreciate the wonderful feedback and are glad that you enjoy the tasting area. We agree, the chocolate balsamic vinegar is crazy but delicious! Use this exquisite vinegar drizzled over fresh cheese, strawberries, spinach salads, yogurt, waffles, game meats and ice cream. YUMMY!!!
Thanks so much for the great review. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
The Olive Pit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A road-trip requirement”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We love this place. Delicious olives. More flavors than you can imagine. And heaps of olive-related stuff and stuff olive-lovers might like and other good products. Love the smokehouse almonds, the garlic stuffed olives, the bottles of olive oil, the coconut-date-nut rolls. There seems to be far more choice at the store than online, but when you can't get to California, an online trip to the Olive Pit will certainly refill your pantry. If you're passing by on Interstate-5, though, you just have to stop here!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AgendaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at The Olive Pit, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks so much for the stellar review! We are so happy you enjoyed the samples...it's the very best way to find new favorites.
Hope you had an amazing trip and we hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
The Olive Pit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lots of Olives”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

There are lots of olives, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, spreads/dips, marinated stuff in front of the counter to taste. You can also ask to taste other oil or olives behind the counter. If you do not know olive oil, this place is where you can start, as you will find the wide variety of olive oil; but if you know olive oil, you will not think it is a great place. They have lots of other goodies such as nuts, candies, etc. For people who eat organic foods, Olive Pit has only 4 organic olive oil, 1 from Napa, the other 3 are from some sources. Olive trees are sprayed, so all their olive oil are from olives that have been sprayed, this the knowledgeable people from Olive Pit confirmed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank healthyeater2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Pit also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing