We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
91
44
22
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
44
22
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm cinnamon rolls front desk morning staff check in was quick and easy lobby area would highly recommend this hotel clean hotel a great place to stay bed was comfortable reps tess freeway california chico clerk plug rates
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This is a comfortable hotel that's convenient to Interstate 5. The property is a bit old, but it's reasonably well-appointed. My room had a slight cigarette smoke smell. The AC kept the room cool. The cable TV provided me with uninterrupted CNN. The wifi was fast enough to watch Netflix. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7,268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel..
Manish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We were thankful we found a room available as we found it was graduation weekend for the college in Chico. I had to come to Chico for a quick visit to see my dad. The prices in Chico were double to triple the normal price. We were able to get a comfortable king room for $50 less the first night & $100 less than the 2nd night than staying in Chico even though we had to drive about half an hour. It was well worth it. The room was clean & quiet. The front desk ladies were very friendly and even the ladies that I met in the breakfast area were very friendly. The continental breakfast had a good variety of food. We will keep Holiday Inn in Corning an option to stay in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Manish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express-Corning. The hotel is well located, just off of the interstate highway, easy to see and get to.

Our check in experience was alright, although the employee was busy attempting to send a fax, and not having much success, as we waited and waited for assistance. She did acknowledge our presence, but no one else was there to assist. Once she was with us, things went smoothly.

We enjoy staying at HIE because they are comfortable, clean and have very good breakfast. As soon as we got to,our room, I realized this time would be different!

Our room, a king bed suite, met our request for top floor, away from the elevator. However, the experience began falling short from there. Upon examining the room, I found the small light colored sofa in a filthy condition. There were stains and just general soiling on the cushions, arms and back. We even checked the underside of the cushions, hoping to find a clean spot, but it was just as bad on the underside. We made our concern known to the front desk. The head of housekeeping was contacted and we were assigned a new room. The housekeeping supervisor told us she was already aware of the dirty sofa, but could not give an explanation why she would allow the room to be marked as ready for occupancy. In fact as we were moving our things out of the room, she was tidying up and flushing the toilet, as if refreshing the room, getting it ready to be rented again as soon as we vacated.

The new room had a sofa which appeared in better condition, as it was a darker color, but we opted to not sit on it, just because of the condition of the previous one. This room appeared cleaner, but was still not in the best of condition. The sink drain plug did not function, requiring you to reach underneath the sink and manually move the drain plug. The walls were spot painted in a different color, which gave us the appearance of general poor room care.

This one unfortunate experience will not keep us from future HIE stays. We will just avoid this particular one. We have spent 6 nights in HIE rooms over the past three weeks and all, except this one, have been very good accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Prius909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking a time to review your stay with us. We would like to apologize for your recent experience and sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with your stay.Hope you will accept our sincerest apologies.We value our customers opinions and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Manish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express, while attending a graduation in Chico. It is located about a half hour from Chico, and was the only hotel available nearby, that we could find during the busy graduation time. We were very pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and quiet the hotel was, considering it was so close to the freeway. There were also a number of trucks parked next to the hotel - so perhaps it is a popular place to stop for those heading north or south on the main freeway. The bed in our room was comfortable and clean. The shower had very good water pressure. The breakfast, while continental, included scrambled eggs, bacon and turkey sausages, donuts, coffee, juice, and other options. There was a pool and gym, which sadly we didn't get a chance to use as we were only there briefly. Lastly the people at the front desk were very friendly and had no issues with a late check-in time, although we had called in advance to confirm we would be arriving late. Breakfast hours began at 6:30, so very convenient when checking out early.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor which was quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathermci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay and just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Manish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Traveled with mother to pay respects to my dads 1 year passing. Stayed at Holliday inn express for two days. Very nice staff very understanding and friendly Irene was very helpful as she was the front desk person when we arrived. Greeted us with a smile and made sure we was taken care of. Thank you. We will be back

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jet773927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger K, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Corning, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel.I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Manish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews