We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Rolling Hills
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(Corning)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
American Inn(Corning)
View Hotel
Orland Inn(Orland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
37
32
14
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
32
14
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrolling hills casinocasino buffetfree breakfast buffetcigarette smoke smellin room jacuzzimicrowave ovenplayers clubslot machinesgreat place to stayrv parkadjoining casinopool and hot tubnice staywould stay againfront desk stafflobbycalifornia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed at The Lodge one night on our way home from vacation. The room was close to the lobby as we had requested, which was great. The hotel staff was wonderful and attentive. We asked them for extra pillows and a ethernet cord (they do not have high speed internet) and they were brought to us right away.

The standard room is small. It has a king sized bed, and nice furnishings, but there is so much crammed into this room that it feels very very small. There is a fridge and microwave, and a good televison. There needs to be better channels on the tv though. The channels are limited. The air conditioning is outstanding. The decor is nice, and the bathroom is fine, but the door opens too close to the toliet. The tub/shower combo is fine, but the side of the tub is tall, very tall.

This place needs new pillows!!!!!! Have you ever had your head on a block of cement? That is what their pillows feel like. The mattresses need to be replaced also. It was like laying down into a marshmellow. The love seat also needs to be replaced. Sitting on the floor wouldn't have been much different than sitting on this sofa.

The breakfast buffet in the complimentary in the casino. That is a nice touch. Also, there is a breezeway between the buildings into the casino so you don't have to go out into the weather. The grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ima_Traveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Reading back through time, I found your review. Thank you for leaving such a detailed and informative review! Very helpful for other travelers. We are glad that our staff was able to meet your needs during your stay, that is always a high priority with us.
I thought you would like to know about some upgrades which have recently gone on at the hotel! We now have high-speed wifi connections, complimentary for guests. We have also upgraded the TVs to HD, and have some new channels, and we installed new mattresses! We aren't stopping there though, we have plans for new bedding and more.
We hope you will return soon to see all the new improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

This property does a great job. The rooms and public areas are clean, the staff is friendly and efficient. The rates are reasonable. As it is adjacent to the Casino and golf course, you have access to decent food and entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We hope you have or will return to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Very nice clean room. Friendly staff. Quiet. Large parking area. Voucher for free breakfast at attached casino's cafe or buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ejbOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello, I'm reading these reviews from away back, and I want to thank you for your contribution here. Your review mentions something that many people don't realize, and that is that the vouchers for a free breakfast can be used at any of the food service areas in the casino between 7 and 11am. There are even some earlier options for those who need to get on the road before the buffet opens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

We took a trip down to the San Francisco Bay Area and wanted to stop somewhere on the way. Corning seemed to be a good, inexpensive place to rest. The room we got was spacious, including the bathroom and just felt nice. There were slate tiles in the bathroom and the fixturings were definately a step up from most budget motels. There is an indoor swimming pool that we used. We also got vouchers for a free breakfast buffet on the other side of the casino. I would have given the hotel/motel an excellent review except for the fact that it is connected to a casino. Some people might see this as a good thing and in fact a lot of the patrons made use of the fact that they could have their fun at the casino and then sleep it off in the motel. I just didn't like the cigarette smoke smell (I couldn't smell it in the room just in the hallways and lobby) and I personally am not a casino person. The breakfast buffet was great but we had to walk through the casino, around the chain smokers attached to their slot machine handles at 8 in the morning. For some people, that might sound like a lot of fun but for our family, it looked a little sad. Anyway, the Vagabond is likely the best place to stay in Corning and probably better than any place you can stay along the I-5 corridor of Northern California. Reserve through the Vagabond website for the best pricing.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hello, just slipping back in time to thank you for your review! I wanted to let people know that there are two very nice hotels here by the casino. This one, the Vagabond Executive Inn Corning-The Lodge, is very convenient to the casino, with an inside passage to protect from heat and weather extremes. The other hotel, The Inn at Rolling Hills, is on the other side of the casino and not connected, so there is less smoke smell in the lobby. Different hotels, to hopefully cover everyone's needs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rancho Cordova, CA
11
Reviewed 27 June 2006

I really enjoyed my anniversary weekend at The Lodge, it is connected to the Rolling Hills Casino, and we didnt even have to go outside the whole time (it was 105 degrees out)
We had a free buffet with our room, and the gal atthe front desk, Ruby, was really sweet. I highly recommend this place, and cant wait to go again!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Rolling Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

You visited a long time before I was hired here, but it is nice to go back and read the first reviews, noting that our service and excellence has been consistent through the years! We hope you can celebrate with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews