We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid a room by the main drag”
Review of Coronado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coronado Inn
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Apparently this is a less costly property in price inflated Coronado, but it really isn't any great bargain. Our room was small, had noisy AV/heater combination unit that has limited usefulness. When I arose to sounds as if I were camping along I-5, I realized that the Coronado Inn is very close to the main road into the military base! like 4-5 lanes of cars whizzing by from 5AM on. (hadn't been apparent when we checked in as the directional traffic wasn't passing then).
It's OK-might stay there again to save money, but would prefer a quieter room. Location very handy, easy walk down to the bay . nice part of town--not hustle bustle as near the 'Del'.

Room Tip: beware the weekday nearby traffic din.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HARLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

I was fortunate to have an extended stay at this cozy, quiet, clean, and quaint hotel. The proximity to the NBC (Naval Base Coronado) was a primary concern choosing this property. Yet after staying here for three weeks the property turned into something much better than a close local to the base. Great and friendly service at the front desk (available 24hrs), free internet, complimentary breakfast, and beverage service with snacks all day.

The staff was as friendly as one could get and they strive to become on a first name basis with all guests. Conveniently located within walking distance of the ferry to San Diego, eating / drinking establishments, super markets, and a deli. All I can say is that next time in Coronado try this lovely family owned hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford the luxury, ask for a suite, has a full size kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lylecentola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

If you want to stay on Coronado Island and can't afford the Del, the Coronado Inn is not a bad choice. The staff is friendly, the rooms are really clean, but that being said, it's a place that needs a face lift. It's an old motel and if you want to spend time in your room in a jetted tub with fancy sheets and amorous amenities, don't stay here. But if you want a clean place to stay that's in walking distance of "The Little Club," you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms that don't back up to a main artery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akh2oguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a great place to stay on Coronado, Coronado is a very unique place to stay much better than San Diego, saying that to stay in a upscale hotel would be very expensive. This is a nice hotel maybe not the fanciest. But it's very clean and the staff (Martha and Erin) are super super nice and very very helpful in every way. We were there during the blackout and Martha was most attentive to us all in the hotel. If I go to California again I will definately stay at the Coronado inn,.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ncjosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

luckly we checked in before the electricity went off but even in the dark the inn was a nice place to stay the nice lady at the front desk handed out ice cold water bottles and fruit and snacks were out all night till 10, everyone was sitting outside at the tables and chairs that are set up thru out the property enjoying each others company and the lights were back on by midnight...the new continental breakfast great bagels and cream cheese and cereal is a nice addition. a stay we will never forget we made some friends for life.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crazycatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I grew up in Coronado and this was a good value. It can be quite expensive to stay on the Island. Small hotel with comfortable clean rooms. Really wonderful and helpful staff . Casual atmosphere. We rented bikes for the time we were there. Absolutely the best way to get around Coronado. The trolley was fun to spend the day. You can get off at various stops along the way and then get back on. Plan for a full day of sightseeing. We were there over the 4th of July so it was really busy with lots of people!!! I would stay at the Coronado Inn for sure again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahoeStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

If you're going to Coronado and on a budget this is the place to stay. It's clean, your room is private, clean, hot shower, within walking, biking distance to either the bay or the beach. Bicycle and traveler friendly, and the coffee was always hot. Add the friendly service and the brewery a block down the street and it was a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
717 reviews
0.9 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Address: 266 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1411
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range: £96 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing