We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint little hotel at a great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coronado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coronado Inn
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint little hotel at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed here 4 nights and had a wonderful time. We were a bit concerned when we checked in due to a foul odor but when we found that it was coming from an open dumpster and mentioned it at the desk it was quickly taken care of. The desk staff was always helpful and courteous and helped with restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. The maid service did a great job of cleaning and freshening the room each day.
Our room was a small bungalow type single king and was equipped a refrigerator and microwave as well as the regular TV, iron, blow dryer, etc. The furnishings and bed were acceptable although not "premium" quality and wireless internet was fast and reliable.
There was a light continental breakfast each morning and coffee, bottled water, and lemonaide available throughout the day.
This is not "luxury" hotel but was comfortable and while we were concerned at first this proved to be a very pleasant stay at the "cheapest hotel on Coronado".

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phantom0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    33
    30
    14
    18
See reviews for
55
37
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the hotel. The first time we had no problems (a few years ago). This time, I made the reservation online, clearly stated that we were 2 adults and 2 kids and a dog. I got a confirmation (generic). When we arrived, tired but happy to be on a long anticipated family vacation, we were given the key to a small room with one full sized bed! I returned to the office and the young man was nice--said oh no! This happened again? He said he had another room, with 2 beds but that he would have to call the manager to ask her if it was alright to release it to us. She apparently said no, but that she would agree to LET us pay for a rollaway bed! I explained that the 4 of us plus a dog would not fit into a full sized bed and 1 rollaway. He kept saying how sorry he was but had no way to help us. In the end, we had a room with a king bed, and a rollaway and one kid on the floor with the dog. Not the restful vacation we paid for and reserved well in advance. The manager said anyone who wants more than one bed has to make a special request in the note section. It's just illogical that you can tell them that you have a family of 4 and a dog and they would not know that you need more than one full sized bed. If this is their idea of logic, we will find another place to stay in the future. We love Coronado, but won't patronize someone who doesn't care to have our business. We are good customers, clean, tidy and quiet. SOmeone will appreciate us in this bad economy. We'll try the Loews Resort next time.

Room Tip: Never trust that you will get a room that will be appropriate for your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wheelpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. It's unfortunate that your concern was not handled promptly but rest assure that if and when you decide to give us another opportunity in the future, we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coronado hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Although this kind of property is not going to be right for every traveler to San Diego, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, spacious room with basic amenities (i.e., you don't mind a TV that is not flat screen), a gracious and helpful staff, and a great location in the heart of the island at a very reasonable price, you will enjoy this place. I rate it a solid 4 not because it's the fanciest or most convenient (no on-site restaurant, for instance), but because for its class and price range it scored very well in my book, and I travel a fair amount for both work and pleasure. The basic, complimentary continental breakfast had fresh fruit and good coffee. Parking is a bit restricted, so those with a rental car may have to street park at times. Desk staff was super friendly and helpful, especially when I got stranded across town and needed their help in getting a cab.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit set back from Orange Ave. if you want to be away from the busy street sounds. Unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jchip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We were visiting San Diego from Australia and really just wanted somewhere comfortable to stay away from the main tourist areas. The Coronado Inn fit the bill perfectly.

Yes, it is a little aged & yes it can be a little noisy on a weekday morning, but it makes up for it with Service, location and price. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the provided Continental Breakfast is fine to keep away any hunger pains until lunch time. The free, chilled, bottled water is also a great bonus which we used frequently during our stay.

The inn is within very easy walking distance of the Coronado - San Diego ferry and a number of restaurants, supermarket and fast food establishments.

The room that we had was a good size & was clean and comfortable.

Very happy with our stay here. If you want a 5 star hotel experience...you will need to pay for it and go somewhere else. If you are happy with a clean, comfortable room and good service at just over $100 a night then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road when booking. Don't wait until you arrive to do this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james_is_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORT COLLINS
Level Contributor
345 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Apparently this is a less costly property in price inflated Coronado, but it really isn't any great bargain. Our room was small, had noisy AV/heater combination unit that has limited usefulness. When I arose to sounds as if I were camping along I-5, I realized that the Coronado Inn is very close to the main road into the military base! like 4-5 lanes of cars whizzing by from 5AM on. (hadn't been apparent when we checked in as the directional traffic wasn't passing then).
It's OK-might stay there again to save money, but would prefer a quieter room. Location very handy, easy walk down to the bay . nice part of town--not hustle bustle as near the 'Del'.

Room Tip: beware the weekday nearby traffic din.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HARLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I was fortunate to have an extended stay at this cozy, quiet, clean, and quaint hotel. The proximity to the NBC (Naval Base Coronado) was a primary concern choosing this property. Yet after staying here for three weeks the property turned into something much better than a close local to the base. Great and friendly service at the front desk (available 24hrs), free internet, complimentary breakfast, and beverage service with snacks all day.

The staff was as friendly as one could get and they strive to become on a first name basis with all guests. Conveniently located within walking distance of the ferry to San Diego, eating / drinking establishments, super markets, and a deli. All I can say is that next time in Coronado try this lovely family owned hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford the luxury, ask for a suite, has a full size kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lylecentola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

If you want to stay on Coronado Island and can't afford the Del, the Coronado Inn is not a bad choice. The staff is friendly, the rooms are really clean, but that being said, it's a place that needs a face lift. It's an old motel and if you want to spend time in your room in a jetted tub with fancy sheets and amorous amenities, don't stay here. But if you want a clean place to stay that's in walking distance of "The Little Club," you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms that don't back up to a main artery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akh2oguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#12 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Property: Coronado Inn
Address: 266 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1411
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing