We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coronado's best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coronado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coronado Inn
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Coronado's best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I always stay here when we visit San Diego. The rates never change and are always the cheapest on the island. The property is old, but they keep it very clean and maintained. The staff is friendly. They have free breakfast every morning and a nice little pool. Great parking as well. Close to shops and the beach. It doesn't get better than this if you are on a budget.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank 116RyanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    33
    30
    14
    18
See reviews for
55
37
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I'll be honest, nothing great but it did it's job. Our room was located near the alley so we didn't hear much noise from traffic but the walls are pretty thin and you can hear your neighbors conversations. Bed was comfortable.
I liked the fact that the room had a small refrigerator and microwave, as well as a nice tv. Sucked that our tv only got local channels though. Shower only and make sure to place a towel on the ground since water makes it's way out and can become slippery.
Less than half a mile away there is a ferry that takes you to the convention center for $4.25 one way. I give this bit of info because their parking is very limited. There are more rooms than parking spots so if you find parking leave the car there and travel by ferry. The other option is to park on the street.
Like my title says, it was ok but nothing spectacular.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank bkalbitres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I came to Coronado for the 4th of July weekend and stayed at The Coronado Inn. As I do recommend requesting a room off the street otherwise this is a very cute, quaint, family owned hotel. The price was the most affordable option on the island. The staff was very helpful with our questions and requests. As I stated earlier I would request a room towards the back due to the traffic becoming loud early in the morning, but otherwise than that I was very pleased with my overall stay and would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget looking for nice place to stay in Coronado.

Room Tip: Request rooms towards the back due to traffic being loud in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Coronado Inn worked great for our 4th of July vacation. Within walking distance to the bay and located right on Orange Avenue, can't beat the location. Room was clean, cold A/C, maid service everyday, simple continental breakfast every morning. Wi-Fi was hit or miss and they didn't seem to care much about that or the fact our TV only had one channel that was clear. They did reduce our room rate for one night due to the TV situation. There is also road noise due to the incoming traffic from the Coronado Bridge. If your looking for a simple, clean room on Coronado, this is perfect. Don't expect much more. We will stay here again and enjoy the location and reasonable rates! Also kept our bikes in the room, very convenient!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for rooms that don't face 3rd Avenue, lots of road noise but it didn't bother us m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbombaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Mother and i stayed here in feb 2014. When my mum went to jump into her bed she noticed a strong distinct smell from the mattress and it wad Urine. Mum and I are both nurses... we know what urine smells like. They didn't seem to be sorry for it at all but changed us into another room at about 11pm which had dirty (not stained) but dirty towels, a broken toilet and from about 4 am constant traffic outside the window due to the hotel being situated on the intersection on the only way off the island. The next morning we insisted on a partial refund due to the discussing circumstances and made follow up phone calls. They assured us the manager would be in contact with us. We never heard from them. Don't stay here its not worth spending your hard earned money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mirfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoronadoInn266, Guest Relations Manager at Coronado Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our little hotel. We apologize for the not so stellar experience you had last time. We take every guests' concern seriously and try our best to address it at the best of our ability. The hotel is now under new management and we are taking care of issues and slowly improving everything to suit our guests' needs without taking away the vintage vibe that most people like about our little hotel. And that includes carpets, mattress and furniture. Should you give us another opportunity in the future, we will try our best to deliver a better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coronado hotels

Rancho Mirage, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is an affordable option for Coronado. Although it is an older property, it is well maintained and clean. I personally like parking in front of my room instead of valet or walking a long distance to a parking lot. I gave it 4 stars for the value, but the property is overall average.

We stayed in room #1 which is as close to both cross streets as you can get, and we didn't have a problem with the traffic noise, although there is some. However, much less during the night while sleeping. The room was large, the vanity area was spacious. The room was modern and there was a large 42 inch flat screen. tv. There is also a decent size refrigerator and microwave in the room. Plenty of counter space and dresser drawers.

The location is close to the bay side, 2 blocks from the ferry. There are a handful of restaurant options, but much less than the beach side of the island, near Hotel Del. If this is your first time to the island, you are going to want to experience the beach side. This is where most of the restaurants and establishments are. The walk there from this hotel is about a mile, but an easy and enjoyable one.

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the farther from the traffic noise. Although even #1 wasnt bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcrabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I booked on line and when we checked in we were allocated a room at the rear overlooking a back alley. We found it contained only one bed which seemed very small, so we returned to check in and they were able to allocate another room with two beds which was far superior in every way for an extra $10 per night
There wasn't a lot of choice of breakfast items, but we had sufficient to stave our hunger and the rate was very reasonable for Coronado.
We were woken early one morning as the hotel is on the main road, but is within walking distance of the waterfront shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
1.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#12 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Property: Coronado Inn
Address: 266 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1411
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coronado Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing