We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could have enjoyed the island longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wish I could have enjoyed the island longer!”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had wished to stay nearer to the convention center for Comic Con instead of being so far away. The drive wasn't long, but it was slightly complex and parking near the convention center is difficult. However, it wasn't long before I was grateful for the "getaway" that Coronado provided. It was so lovely to depart the extreme sensory overload of Comic Con and retire to such a serene and lovely hotel filled with kind hosts and quiet rooms. I would have loved to stay longer and enjoy the many services offered at the hotel and on the island.
The hotel is clean, quiet, and comfortable. My room was very spacious and even included a private patio. The service was polite, attentive and kind. They had serviceable wireless for my business needs. It's near many restaurants and the beach. The water taxi is conveniently available to go to San Diego (though I couldn't take advantage). I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    497
    148
    50
    25
See reviews for
437
392
33
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our room was clean, spacious, and very smartly furnished. The bathroom was a delight, with a separate shower and tub, and a well-sized sink area. We only ate at the hotel for breakfast, but we loved the abundant outdoor seating. It was wonderful to be able to start the day in the fresh air with a view of the city over the bay. All staff members we encountered, from the maids to the front desk personnel, were very friendly and helpful. Our waiter at breakfast even remembered our usual drink order each morning, which helped make our stay a little more special.

The hotel is located on the less busy side of Coronado, not directly on the beach. However, it is close to the ferry landing, the bike path, and several good restaurants. It's also far less crowded than the Hotel Del Coronado side, which can make it a bit more relaxing.

The only slight negative we had is that the air conditioning in the room seemed a bit weak. Fortunately, the weather wasn't too hot, so it wasn't a real problem for us, but I suppose it could be if temperatures are higher than normal.

All in all, though, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Room was little dated but views were great. Streams running through courtyard made this hotel kind of unique and gave it a different feel. Everything was a promised. Asked for a late check out which was granted. Staff had answers to every question and couldn't do enough for us. We like the idea of the water taxi which takes you to the Marriott Marina in 10 mins. right across the bay..

Room Tip: small closet furniture could use a change
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

San Diego was the last leg of our California vacation and we wanted to relax, and we found this wonderful Marriott on Coronado Island. Excellent room with a large patio, extremely clean, friendly staff, beautiful surroundings. A short walk up the boardwalk to nice restaurants and small shops. A great pool area where we did relax. A short water taxi or ferry ride to San Diego to explore. Went to the Hotel Del for lunch but I would much rather stay at the Marriott, hands down!!! As a Marriott rewards member we requested a late checkout and even though the hotel was full we were given an extra two hours to checkout. If I'm back in San Diego I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

LOCATION & FACILITIES:
4 ½ /5: Fantastic location on an “island” about an 8 minute ferry trip from the San Diego city centre. Great resort feel, with the city centre easily accessible – either by the hotel’s own water taxi, or the Coronado island ferry, just a 5 min. walk away. Beautifully kept grounds with a swimming pool, ponds with ducks and flamingos, tennis courts, spa etc.

SERVICE:
4/5: Reception, concierge, housekeeping, bar, pool and restaurant staff were all cheerful, pleasant and helpful.

ROOMS:
4 ½ /5: Well furnished, nicely decorated, spacious and clean, with AC, fridge, TV, well equipped bathroom with walk-in shower. We had a large patio with a great view across the grounds and over to the city!

RESTAURANT:
4/5: Breakfast was buffet style - a lovely choice of fresh fruit, cereals, breads, pastries, yoghurts, croissants, cheese, cold meats.
There were also hot servers with the usual cooked breakfast items, and little extras like croissants filled with scramble egg and bacon – yum! There was also a chef who would make your omelette to your taste.

4/5: Dinner – a good selection of favourites, well made. Crowd pleasers, and nothing pretentious.

THINGS TO DO IN THE LOCALE:
We hopped on the water taxi / ferry a couple of times and went to do some sight-seeing. We had booked a morning’s city tour, which was great to get a feel for the place – and we then went back to places of interest to us. We walked round the Seaport village and Gaslamp Quarter, took a bus up to San Diego zoo, & drove up to La Jolla to have a wander round and see the wildlife on the coast.
The hotel has a lovely pool area and we enjoyed relaxing in the sun one afternoon – wish we had more time to do so!
We also really liked the feel of Coronado itself – lovely to stroll round the residential streets, go shopping in the Ferry Landing shops, visit Hotel Del Coronado for a meal (though personally, I wouldn’t have stayed there – beautiful, but far too busy for my liking).

SUMMARY:
We stayed in 3 hotels in California and this was my favourite, without a doubt! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Positives:
All of the staff we encountered were friendly.
The room was clean and met expectations.
The bar has a nice happy hour with good food/drink specials.
The hotel is in a fairly nice location.

The Negatives:
$22/day for parking.
$13/day for internet (Apparently it is free in the hotel lobby, something we found out after our stay.)
Housekeeping and hotel services knocked on our door and tried to enter around 8:45 both mornings we stayed.

Overall our stay was fair, but for the money you spend on the room alone, we left feeling extremely agitated about the additional $35/day for the high end amenities of parking your car and checking email. However, if you don't need such services and can bring a makeshift do not disturb sign that fits the door handle, you should be in good shape.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKF3873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Resort was located direcly past the Coronado Bridge. VERY Friendly staff and the Valet was personable and welcoming. Desk staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were a little far to travel to and a bit of a search. Air conditioning did not seem to be working, but San Diego has perfect weather so it was no big deal. Beds were comfortable and rooms was big and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a Water View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osubarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing